Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, easy to use, a doddle to clean and very very good espressos...
Customer Video Review     Length:: 5:28 Mins
The 'AEG Favola Coffee Machine' is a small household espresso making coffee machine that allows the user to make a wide range of espressos in a matter of minutes, if not seconds, with very little fuss or hassle.

The coffee machine takes the small Lavazza pods which can be purchased in most UK supermarkets and/or via the internet,...
Published 16 months ago by Chris Hall

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate, small water tank, weak coffee
This is a very nicely built and finished piece of kitchen equipment, and is very stylish. The AEG name is a well known and trusted one, and I am sure that the machine will give good long service.
The water tank lifts off the back, and contains .9 litres. This is rather too small as far as I'm concerned, and it is also a bit of a faff to fill. The water tank lid is...
Published 17 months ago by Peter Coupe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Makes a great cup of coffee!, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AEG A Modo Mio Favola Lavazza Espresso Coffee Machine, 0.9 Litre, 1300 Watt, Love Red/ Ice White (Kitchen & Home)
This machine works really well, we're very pleased with it. The coffee is so good it's comparable with commercial machines. Obviously milk frothing takes a little longer, since the machine is smaller.

As for the manual operation, it's not a problem. I bought a shot glass so that I could get the right amount each time, and avoid using too much water. This one, in fact:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Barista-Supplies-Espresso-Shot-Glass/dp/B003ZYGI72/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

OK, the pods are expensive, but we knew that before we bought the machine, so can't really complain. Incidentally, the cheapest place I've found for the pods is Tesco Direct - order them online, and pick them up at your local Tesco with no delivery charge. It works out at 22p per pod. Most other places it's 25p per pod. And believe me that 3p difference adds up when you drink as much as we do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great coffee machine, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Melanie Pratt (Wales, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As owners of a rather ageing Nespresso Magimix 200 coffee maker, we were excited by the opportunity to test a different brand of pods, yet had some trepidation about this. Happily this proved unfounded, and we are thoroughly converted to Lavazza coffee.

The device comes with a really good sample selection of Lavazza pods, which gives you the chance to find out which coffee you like best. We were also pleased to note that the pods are less expensive than the Nespresso ones, and Lavazza provided a quick and efficient ordering service.

The machine looks great, it is a neat and compact unit, which is eminently suitable for a a kitchen with little surface space. It is easy to clean the AEG coffee maker when emptying the spent pods, and it comes with an auto energy saving switch in case it is inadvertently left on (which our old Nespresso machine did not). We have found useful the ability to dispense hot water as well as steam from the spout.

A few small negatives: The water tank is rather fiddly to get in and out and we have reverted to using a jug for filling it, also it does not hold very much water in comparison to other coffee makers. The machine vibrates a lot while making Lungo drinks and on initial start up on all the drink options, but soon calms down once the coffee is actually being dispensed. We have found that we are not able to remove the spout for cleaning due to a fear that it will break if we do as the instructions say - if anyone has a solution to this, please advise! The pod holder on this AEG coffee maker is smaller than on our Nespresso model, which results in more regular emptying and cleaning (this could be considered both a pro and a con!).

We are very happy with this coffee machine and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Coffee Machine!, 13 May 2013
By 
Lova - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This machine produces a great cup of coffee from the Lavazza pod range.
The water reservoir is located at the rear and can be filled by either removing the lid or the whole reservoir.The coffee pod loading mechanism is superb.Lifting the chrome lever on the top of the machine drops the last used pod into an easily removable collection chamber,then simply insert the new pod and close the lever.
The coffee spout is height adjustable and the steam spout can deliver either steam or hot water
The machine is quite noisy when operating but this just makes it sound like it means business!
I've been unable to locate the pods in any local supermarkets but buying direct from the Lavazza Store online was both economic and efficient,standard delivery took 2 days from placing the order.4 boxes is the minimum order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper than those big chains!, 24 April 2013
By 
Glezza (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AEG A Modo Mio Favola Lavazza Espresso Coffee Machine, 0.9 Litre, 1300 Watt, Love Red/ Ice White (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Brilliant little coffee machine, perfect coffee every time!

Pop a capsule into the top and press a button and a minute or so later a prefect coffee, and there is plenty to choose from!

I like mine strong and black, and this machine doesn't disappoint, full flavoured coffee or milder coffee is as easy as the press of a lever and a button.

There is a little maintenance but hardly anything compared to the machines that grids beans and make coffee, one of which I used to use, the old machine made nice coffee, but was a bit of a bind if I was in a rush, this is prefect!

Love it, in fact I fancy a coffee now, just talking about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly fantastic, 18 April 2013
By 
Mr. Philip Harkins "If in doubt, Smile! :-)" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Great looking machine, in an awesome colour that's quirky and very modern.
The operation is very simple, water in the back chamber (maybe a little awkward for some I guess) then press the button on the front to pre charge the water heater, pop a pod into the lift up lever chamber then when it's ready to go it produces the most creamy coffee.
The used pods drop into an internal chamber by lifting the lever on too to pop another pod in. Simplicity itself.
Another great feature is the coffee 'spout' which slides up to accommodate a mug, great for those of us who like big coffee!! An awful lot of machines only have space for a cup...good idea.
The steam wand for the hot frothed milk is easy to use too...a separate steam charging button on the side and a twist knob to operate. Also fantastic to use independently to heat milk for hot chocolate. Easy to clean too.
The integral drip tray is easy to clean too.
The pods aren't the cheapest, nor are generic pods easy to find, this will however hopefully change soon.
All in all... A very good machine, well priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars simple, but perhaps a bit too simple, 17 April 2013
This review is from: AEG A Modo Mio Favola Lavazza Espresso Coffee Machine, 0.9 Litre, 1300 Watt, Love Red/ Ice White (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a nice, compact, basic coffee machine. It uses Lavazza pods, rather than the more common Nespresso ones. The principle is exactly the same, but the Lavazza ones have the slight advantage that you can buy them in Tesco, and they're also a little bit cheaper. Coffee snobs will also appreciate the caché of the Lavazza name over Nestlé..

The machine itself is a rather garish red and white, so would look horribly out of place in anything other than a modern kitchen. If you're into the country look, this will look horrible. It's a bit plasticky, but it's quite small and discreet.

It's very easy to use, with pretty much only one button. Pop in a coffee pod, press the button, and there's your coffee. The coffee is great in small measures, but a bit thin if you want a decent size mug - I find myself using two pods for a decent cup, which could work out rather expensive. The milk frother does the job, but it doesn't overhang the drain so it can get a bit messy. The water tank is at the back, which makes it a bit awkward to get to if it's under a cupboard, and the used pod container is surprisingly large, holding about 10pods.

AEG have been generous with the coffee they send with this - Nespresso is very mean in comparison - and you can make a nice decent number of coffees straight out of the box. Also, as bigger supermarkets sell the pods, (unlike nespresso) it's not a total annoyance to run out of coffee. You can also buy them online very easily.

It's a nice little machine - coffee officiandos will turn there nose up at it, but this isn't intended for them. It's a cheap (relatively) and cheerful coffee machine for people who appreciate a decent cup of coffee, but can't be doing with any faffing about to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My Way, 10 April 2013
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although marketed as a marriage of German engineering and Italian taste this machine is actually made by Swedish giant Electrolux in China who now own the AEG brand. However, it is none the worse for that and it does produce a rather decent cup of coffee - although not as good as my De'Longhi or Gaggia machines. Its big advantage over my other Coffee makers is convenience - it makes coffee-making effortless and saves time when you need a quick break.

The Modo Mio capsules are not compatible with the Nespresso system so you have to commit to one system or the other and Nespresso seem to have the advantage of greater availability at present. I think some branches of Waitrose may stock the Modo Mio capsules but I've not seen them yet in any of the major supermarkets locally. I've placed a couple of orders with Lavazza online and the capsules arrived in about four working days - you can pay extra to have them the next day if you get desperate! Fortunately I am very fond of Lavazza coffee and the company does produce a good range of flavours as Modo Mio - however, you are limited to the company's own products at present and that may be a disadvantage for some.

The machine is noisy and slow in operation and produces a very fine crema compared to the results from more traditional espresso machines so is a different coffee experience from what you may be used to - but makes up for it with its simplicity and ease of use. If you are considering buying a Nespresso machine but prefer Lavazza coffee then the Modo Mio system could be for you. If you like a lot of variety in your coffee and don't mind a bit more work then buy a traditional Gaggia or De'Longhi - I use both types of machine so have the best of both worlds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funky machine for the modern kitchen, 5 April 2013
By 
Clare Mccann (Elgin, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For the last 4 years we have owned a Magimix Nespresso coffee machine second-hand from my parents who had had it for 3 years before then. Although very functional, it was a little lacking in kerbside appeal, not helped by the fact it spent most of its life with a smudgy chrome finish!

With a new contemporary kitchen, we were on the lookout for something that looked a little funkier on the worktop, and for me this machine was love at first sight.

My husband is the serious coffee drinker in the family and he initially swore blind that the AEG was slower at producing a cup than the Nespresso, but a side by side comparison revealed it was actually moderately quicker, it's just that none of these machines are exactly fast!

As another reviewer mentioned despite the adjustable nozzle there are still a couple of cups in our cupboard that don't fit under it. Husband is a latte lover and we have Delonghi Latte Macchiato Thermo Glasses, Pack of 2 that at 12cm tall are to tall for the machine, and have to be filled at a precarious angle - frustrating!

We're currently working our way through the sample pack and may need some time to adjust to Lavazza coffee after so long with Nespresso, so it's hard to judge on flavour yet.

Regarding the frother, one reviewer said they were frustrated at having to use their own jug, but we purchased a Aeroccino 3 (Milk frother) NESSPRESSO in red a while ago which now stands next to our AEG coffee maker and they make a great pair, both visually and practically!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple to use, beautifully made, nice but mild coffee., 27 Mar 2013
By 
S. Horrigan "Shaun" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The first thing to say about this coffee machine is that it is smaller than I expected. This of course is a good thing as it takes up less room in the kitchen.

It is also a rather good looking product and feels very well made - although you should not expect anything less from AEG!

It is also very simple to use. Fill the water container (either with a jug, or as it is so easy to remove from the machine, just take it off and fill it from the tap). Lift the handle. Insert a coffee pod. Press down the handle. Wait for the green "cup" light to go out and then press the button!

The pump isn't that powerful though and it does take a little while until the coffee is dispensed. It does smell delicious while it is being made though!

The steamer is also simple to use - press the steam button and when the light goes out turn the steam pressure valve on the side of the machine.

The coffee pods are stored internally once used and you can use about 10 pods before the holder and the drip tray underneath need to be emptied and cleaned. This is pretty easy to do though as everything is simple to remove.

I do though have a couple of issues.

The first is that I have not found anywhere locally that sells the Lavazza coffee pods. I have tried Asda, Morrison's, Sainsbury's and Tesco. This is rather annoying. They are easily available online though and I bought a pack of 64 here on Amazon. I would still prefer to be able to buy them with my weekly shopping.

The second issue is that the coffee really isn't that strong. For me that is not that much of a problem as I prefer a medium/milder coffee, but if you like a really strong coffee then this might not be the machine for you.

The last issue is that the coffee pods are rather expensive - certainly more expensive than those for my Senseo machine.

Overall - 4 stars Good looking, beautifully made, simple to use, but slightly expensive coffee pods and not the strongest coffee in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars User friendly espresso machine, 20 Mar 2013
By 
P. McCauley - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have used a few espresso and coffee machines in my time, and they are all very different to use, but similar in ways.

This espresso machine is fairly simple to operate and after 1 use you can ditch the instructions.

The machine looks quite slick, although a little bulky for an espresso machine, it will look well in a kitchen.

The basic operations for this is to fill the back container with water, and turn on. You insert one of the capsules (you get a starter pack of 24 in this) and press down the level on the top. You simply wait untill the little cup light stops flashing, and insert a cup under the nossle, pull nossle down to inside cup rim, and press button. The coffee will slowly drizzle out untill the level you are happy with and you press the button to stop.

There is also a nozzle for frothing milk on the side if you want to include that into your espresso drink.

Cleaning this is quite simple, and running the machine just with water through it will clean the insides, and a little grate under the cup can be lifted off and cleaned for drips.

Overall it is simple to operate, could have even been made more simplistic though, but works well. It's not the best quality coffee you will taste, but for someone who isnt too picky it is quite nice, and comes in a range of colours to suit your kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews