Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, easy to use, a doddle to clean and very very good espressos...
Customer Video Review     Length:: 5:28 Mins
The 'AEG Favola Coffee Machine' is a small household espresso making coffee machine that allows the user to make a wide range of espressos in a matter of minutes, if not seconds, with very little fuss or hassle.

The coffee machine takes the small Lavazza pods which can be purchased in most UK supermarkets and/or via the internet,...
Published 13 months ago by Chris Hall

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate, small water tank, weak coffee
This is a very nicely built and finished piece of kitchen equipment, and is very stylish. The AEG name is a well known and trusted one, and I am sure that the machine will give good long service.
The water tank lifts off the back, and contains .9 litres. This is rather too small as far as I'm concerned, and it is also a bit of a faff to fill. The water tank lid is...
Published 13 months ago by Peter Coupe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, easy to use, a doddle to clean and very very good espressos..., 18 Mar 2013
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AEG A Modo Mio Favola Lavazza Espresso Coffee Machine, 0.9 Litre, 1300 Watt, Love Red/ Ice White (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 5:28 Mins

The 'AEG Favola Coffee Machine' is a small household espresso making coffee machine that allows the user to make a wide range of espressos in a matter of minutes, if not seconds, with very little fuss or hassle.

The coffee machine takes the small Lavazza pods which can be purchased in most UK supermarkets and/or via the internet, which you simply pop into the coffee machine and then let it work its magic.

Using the coffee machine is simplicity itself. It really is a case of filling the small plastic water tank at the rear of the machine with cold water (which is removable for ease of filling), inserting a Lavazza pod, switching it on and then letting it do its thing. You can even warm and froth up your milk using the steam/hot water pipe located at the side of the machine.

Everything about the espresso maker is designed to make it simple to use, with the nozzles and other parts all moveable and adjustable to take into account all different cup and mug sizes.

Like with the 'Nescafé Dolce Gusto Melody 3', the 'AEG Favola Coffee Machine' needs the user to be present whilst it's pouring the coffee; requiring you to stop the hot water at the right time (often according to taste). It's something that you'll quickly get the hang of gauging depending on how strong you like your coffee.

Once the coffee is poured, the machine is simply turned off and the steam nozzle wiped down and that's it. The spent pod falls into an internal compartment which can store up to twelve used pods before it needs emptying (which is again an absolute doddle to do). The hard-plastic drip tray is also removable and easily cleaned, making the whole cleaning & day-to-day upkeep side of using the coffee machine as hassle free as making a coffee with it is.

On the downside, the machine is noticeably louder than most household coffee machines, especially when using the steam/hot water pipe - which sounds like a coffee shop steamer crossed with a struggling locomotive. But for most this won't be any real hardship.

Also, the machine does (quite strangely) fill up the drip-tray / internal compartments with unused water quite quickly, which needs to be emptied more often than after making twelve espressos. However, once again this really isn't much of an issue, and just means that you will need to pop out the drip tray compartment and empty it into the sink every now and again.

Now then...on to the coffee itself. Well, I'm certainly no connoisseur of coffee, but I do appreciate a good espresso from time to time. And quite frankly, the machine delivers the goods. It comes with a very generous start pack of twenty-four Lavazza pods which allows you to sample the entire (at the time of writing) range of Lavazza Espressos on offer. And to be honest, they're fantastic. My wife and I have enjoyed each one of them now, and we can say with all honesty that these are some of the best 'home brewed' espressos we've had.

And so, all in all, we're absolutely delighted with the performance of the espresso maker. It's far exceeded our expectations, producing some truly delicious espressos with absolute simplicity and in less than a minute for each. Indeed, we like the machine so much so that instead of being a 'weekend treat' we've now taken to using it pretty much on a daily basis.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Competent mid-range machine., 17 April 2013
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I had a wonderful Gaggia 'Bean-to-cup' machine which was my favourite gadget in the world until it died, I then had a Dolce Gusto pod machine which I have become accustomed to, I was interested to see how this compared to the two.

The machine itself is of very good build quality, and it looks nice too which is important for something which will be always out and on display. It's simple to set up with a removable water tank on the back and lift up flap to then insert your coffee pod. Once your chosen pod is in place you just press the dispense button until the desired amount of water has been forced through the pod and into your cup and press the button again. This means you can simply press a button and walk off, but it's still a relatively quick process. The machine holds a dozen pods so you can have them readily available, and the drop tray shouldn't overflow as a light indicates when it needs emptying.

The coffee itself isn't all that strong, however - this seems to be the case with most pod machines. The Dolce Gusto machine was a disappointment at first until I realised that they sell extra intense pods on their website. For this AEG machine I tend to use 2 pods in a very large latte and it then has quite a bit of a kick. If I make a smaller latte or just have an espresso then the strength with 1 pod is fine, but only if I use the stronger pods (Intensamente A Modo Mio). The variety of pods for this machine is pretty meagre - the website currently lists only 9 different types of capsule, but as with all machines which restrict you to certain pods - alternative 'compatible' pods are available online. This does have a milk frother (woohoo!) which is something I missed on the Dolce Gusto machine, it works well too, I tend to heat/froth the milk while it's in the cup and then serve the espresso directly into it, less washing up that way and it just makes things easier!

In a nutshell: The only machine I've used to get a perfect cup of coffee is a bean-to-cup one as it offer the most choice, this machine however can still deliver a good coffee if you work within its limitations. Basically, espressos are good but if you want a long coffee - use two pods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate, small water tank, weak coffee, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Peter Coupe (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very nicely built and finished piece of kitchen equipment, and is very stylish. The AEG name is a well known and trusted one, and I am sure that the machine will give good long service.
The water tank lifts off the back, and contains .9 litres. This is rather too small as far as I'm concerned, and it is also a bit of a faff to fill. The water tank lid is removable - which means that it will - sooner or later - get lost or fall down the back of something else in the kitchen.
The pods that it uses are my least favourite, and don't compare in quality or flavour to the Dolce Gusto pods or the Senseo 'bags'.
The coffee is weak - even the strongest coffee in the range is weak compared to an average "proper" coffee from a Gaggia or similar machine. It also takes a very long time to fill even a small cup, and if you want a 'lungo' - a long coffee with milk - you will need two pods to get a coffee with a kick. For a quick 'espresso' it is fine, and if this is your coffee of choice you will be very happy with it.
The lever that is used to pierce the pods is a rather long affair - which I assume is so that the user can generate the required amount of force with a minimum effort - and you will need to allow clearance for this lever if you decide to site your machine under a kitchen cupboard. That said, I wouldn't recommend you do this because you will be forever pulling it in and out to refill the small water tank (see comments above).
The machine is a very tidy one, and deals with the used capsules in a very clever way - they fall down inside the body of the machine and you empty them by simply pulling the cup tray out and tipping the liquid waste into the sink, and the used capsules into the bin.
This is by far the best system I have come across, and wish that other manufacturers would adopt similar methods.
It is very noisy at start-up - until the water comes through the system and into the capsule - at which point is is much quieter.
Overall it is a compromise - but at the current price it is a rather expensive one. For an extra 40 or 50 pounds you can buy an entry level Gaggia machine, which will give you proper 15 bar coffee at a very competitive price (as you just need to buy the beans or ground coffee, and there is no investment in pods or capsules) which will just end up in landfill.
I will use mine for my quick morning espresso and be very happy with it for this. I will continue to use my Gaggia for all my daytime 'long' coffees. Overall it is a nice machine, but I think it's a bit pricey for what you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adorable and functions well, 13 May 2013
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AEG A Modo Mio Favola Lavazza Espresso Coffee Machine, 0.9 Litre, 1300 Watt, Love Red/ Ice White (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
OK, first things first: this machine is super-cute. It doesn't look terribly expensive and it's a little plasticky, but it's bright, cheerful, compact and chunky, and the worktop footprint isn't too large. It looks great in a modern kitchen and it adds a nice spot of colour.

The machine is fairly easy to use: add water and add a capsule, and that's it. I do think that the water reservoir being placed at the back of the machine is a bit awkward, as you're constantly reaching over the machine and it can be a bit tricky depending on where you place the machine. You also need to watch the machine as it dispenses the coffee, as it doesn't do different doses automatically, you need to manually stop the flow when your cup is full.

Cleaning the machine is simple too and doesn't need to be done too often. The used capsules don't need to be removed every time as they are stored inside the machine until the repsitory is full, at which point you can easily tip them out. The drip tray needs regular emptying but that's easy enough.

The coffee tastes good, and the Lavazza capsules have both light and heavy blends so everyone is catered to. A generous starting pack of 24 capsules is included with the machine, and in general the capsules are slightly cheaper to purchase than the Nespresso capsules, so that's something to keep in mind. They can be easily ordered online, or are available at some supermarkets.

There are a large amount of coffee machines available in this price range so it's definitely worth checking out different models, but if you're looking for something cute and cheerful that makes decent coffee from capsules then this will do the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good coffee machine, 5 Nov 2013
This review is from: AEG A Modo Mio Favola Lavazza Espresso Coffee Machine, 0.9 Litre, 1300 Watt, Love Red/ Ice White (Kitchen & Home)
I actually bought this coffee machine from Groupon but obviously came here first to read the reviews. The reviews up to now didn't have as much detail as I'd like so here goes another with a bit of extra information.

I bought the White/Purple machine for 75 from Groupon. Please note this is for the standard Favola, not the Favola Plus which has some extra features (measured/programmable shots).

The machine looks good first off and is heavy enough to make you feel like it is a quality product. The instructions on its use are pretty short and simple and probably don't provide you with enough information, particularly for frothing milk. Basically you fill the tank up, turn it on, shove a pod in and press go. Then press the same button again to stop once you've got your required amount of espresso. Lift the pod handle again to allow the used pod to drop into the bin below. That's pretty much it for preparing the espresso.

The pods themselves come in a wide variety of strengths and they are all great to be honest. You get one or two of the full range in the box to see what you like. I like strong coffee but some of the stronger ones are very strong. Compared to the Nespresso pods, I find these much better as even the strongest nespresso pod doesn't taste very strong to me. I am tending to stick to the Appassionatamente (red) and Delisiozamente (Yellow), my wife who likes a lighter coffee prefers the Caffe Crema Lungo Dolcemente (Orange/Brown). Having said that the Decaf pod (blue) is also very good. I get the pods from Tesco Direct, delivered to my nearest store free for 3.50 a box (16 pods), much better than nespresso's prices. I also have a few different flavoured Monin syrups for adding for speciality coffees (saves on Starbucks).

So onto frothing for those that don't just drink espresso. You need to switch to the milk frothing option by pressing the steam button on the right hand side and wait for it to stop flashing and turn solid. Once this has happened I aim the wand into the drip tray and purge the water from the wand by giving it a quick blast. The knob on the side controls the steam....just turn it the whole way towards you. What the instructions or description don't tell you is that this machine has a pannarello wand, this type of wand is on most smaller and cheaper espresso machines nowadays. What you can't see very easily is that there is an air hole on the back of the wand that you need to keep just at the surface of the milk to get a good milk froth, you'll hear the slurpy noise when you get it right. This takes quite a bit of practice but once you've got the hang of it you'll be producing good milk for cappuccinos and lattes etc. Once you've got enough froth in the (stainless steel) jug you are using (you need to buy one) then plunge the air hole under the surface of the milk and continue to heat the milk without the slurping noise...if you can get a good roll (whirlpool effect) on the milk then great. Keep going until the jug is so hot you can barely touch it...until it hurts basically! A few taps to knock out the big bubbles and then some swirling to get the milk looking like wet paint and with practice you should get a good rich steamed milk. Always wipe down and purge the steam wand again after use. You can use about 1/2 a pint of milk for a big cup of coffee, use a pint jug for this.

If you are making lattes and cappuccinos I do the espresso first and the milk second. You will need to use heated cups otherwise you'll have to down your drink immediately as it'll be cold quickly. I do 30-60 seconds in the microwave depending on the number of cups.

Cleaning the machine. This is dead easy, run the coffee cycle with no pod to clean out the machine of any coffee debris. Blast the steam wand out for a while. Empty and wash out the bin and drip tray. You'll find you empty the drip tray quite a lot as it fills up quickly with what I assume is the machine self cleaning after use. Every so often you should run a decalcifying product through it to keep it tip top.

So all in all this is a great machine once you get the hang of it....and do spend the time experimenting with the steam wand, it is worth it in the end if you practice and get it right. The are loads of videos on youtube about how to froth properly with a pannarello wand so take a bit of time investing in these otherwise you'll get fed up quickly with the machine as you're not doing it properly!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid machine but could do with more flavours, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Mark H (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was very glad to get hold of one of these machines as I have owned a Nespresso machine for a little while now and was intrigued to see what the biggest Italian coffee brand would bring to the high-end-coffee-at-home market.

Lavazza are interesting. As I say, the biggest coffeed brand in Italy. I guess the temptation for a UK coffee drinker is to make the link with Italy, assume great coffee and think they would automatically be a step above our standard brands over here. I have to say that where Lavazza are concerned this would be a mistake as I find that they are only slightly better than our main brands here. And this is sadly carried over to the quality of their capsules used with these machines.

It really is a review of two halves. First up is design of the machine and then we'll look at quality of the coffee. Of particular interest to would-be purchasers is that I already own a Nespresso Krups machine so am able to do something of a comparison between the two.

The AEG Modo Mio is a neatly designed unit which does not take up too much room on the worktop and has quite a stylish look. AEG have built a very attractive, sturdy and well functioning machine. The AEG water reservoir is easily removed from the back of the machine which gives you the option of either doing this to fill it or leaving it in situ and using a jug to top it up. It only holds 0.9 litres which is ok if just making 1 to 3 cups but would be a bit of a pain if you were having a dinner party and trying to cater for more. However the number of cups you get will depend largely on how much water you decide to add to each pod.

Usage is very easy to use you simply press the power on button then press the Espresso button and wait until it stops flashing ( approximately 50 seconds ) . Insert your coffee pod , place your cup on the top of the drip tray and press the Espresso button again. It will then dispense your coffee and continue until you press the Espresso button again. The spout that dispenses the coffee is height adjustable to cater for different cup sizes.

There is a separate steam / hot water function which takes about 10 seconds to achieve the right temperature once you have pressed the Steam button. Steam or hot water is dispensed through a spout when you turn the steam/hot water knob located on the side of the machine from the off to on position. To achieve frothy milk you immerse the spout into a container with milk in it and turn the knob to the on position and the swirl the container round the spout. When your milk is frothy enough return the knob to the off position and like all good Baristas wipe the spout clean.
The drip tray and empty pod container are easily removed for cleaning.

And that covers the machine bit. Now onto the coffee

It comes supplied with a sample of 12 pods covering 7 of the different flavoured varieties available. These range from Decaf to Creamy. The pods do not seem to be available in the supermarkets and therefore ordering on the internet is the only option. The coffees produced are good flavoured and thanks to the sample pack you can try each of them to work out your favourite. I found that comparing the coffees from the Lavazza range with the Nespresso range there is more variety with Nespresso, and I like the favourite one of my Nespresso more than what I think is the best of the Lavazza, however taste is obviously completely subjective. Both are good though and are streets ahead of instant coffee from a jar!

If you were looking to choose between a Nespresso Krups machine or this AEG Lavazza the main area that I think will decide people, besides the variety of flavours available, is probably how automated the machine is. The AEG Lavazza machine has a time-off function after 30 minutes but with the Lavazza you need to start and stop the hot water yourself. So you can choose how much water you add per cup. Comparing this with my Krups Nespresso machine I can put a capsule in that, hit the Espresso or Lungo button and it will do everything from there, making the coffee as soon as it has warmed up and then stopping it automatically once the relevant amount of water has been pushed through. It even turns itself off after a few minutes of not being used to save energy. For me I like the fully automated Nespresso world as it guarantees a consistent result every time. However I am sure many people will appreciate the ability to control exactly how much water comes out per cup, and so they shoudl go for the AEG Lavazza

Overall then, the AEG Lavazza machine is very good but a slightly different proposition to the Nespresso. It is less automated but certainly of decent quality and solid build. For me the lack of variety in the range of coffees at the moment puts it a bit behind Nespresso but it is still better than standard instant coffee out of a jar, and produce a cup in much the same time as boiling a kettle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good coffee machine, 5 Nov 2013
I actually bought this coffee machine from Groupon but obviously came here first to read the reviews. The reviews up to now didn't have as much detail as I'd like so here goes another with a bit of extra information.

I bought the White/Purple machine for 75 from Groupon. Please note this is for the standard Favola, not the Favola Plus which has some extra features (measured/programmable shots).

The machine looks good first off and is heavy enough to make you feel like it is a quality product. The instructions on its use are pretty short and simple and probably don't provide you with enough information, particularly for frothing milk. Basically you fill the tank up, turn it on, shove a pod in and press go. Then press the same button again to stop once you've got your required amount of espresso. Lift the pod handle again to allow the used pod to drop into the bin below. That's pretty much it for preparing the espresso.

The pods themselves come in a wide variety of strengths and they are all great to be honest. You get one or two of the full range in the box to see what you like. I like strong coffee but some of the stronger ones are very strong. Compared to the Nespresso pods, I find these much better as even the strongest nespresso pod doesn't taste very strong to me. I am tending to stick to the Appassionatamente (red) and Delisiozamente (Yellow), my wife who likes a lighter coffee prefers the Caffe Crema Lungo Dolcemente (Orange/Brown). Having said that the Decaf pod (blue) is also very good. I get the pods from Tesco Direct, delivered to my nearest store free for 3.50 a box (16 pods), much better than nespresso's prices. I also have a few different flavoured Monin syrups for adding for speciality coffees (saves on Starbucks).

So onto frothing for those that don't just drink espresso. You need to switch to the milk frothing option by pressing the steam button on the right hand side and wait for it to stop flashing and turn solid. Once this has happened I aim the wand into the drip tray and purge the water from the wand by giving it a quick blast. The knob on the side controls the steam....just turn it the whole way towards you. What the instructions or description don't tell you is that this machine has a pannarello wand, this type of wand is on most smaller and cheaper espresso machines nowadays. What you can't see very easily is that there is an air hole on the back of the wand that you need to keep just at the surface of the milk to get a good milk froth, you'll hear the slurpy noise when you get it right. This takes quite a bit of practice but once you've got the hang of it you'll be producing good milk for cappuccinos and lattes etc. Once you've got enough froth in the (stainless steel) jug you are using (you need to buy one) then plunge the air hole under the surface of the milk and continue to heat the milk without the slurping noise...if you can get a good roll (whirlpool effect) on the milk then great. Keep going until the jug is so hot you can barely touch it...until it hurts basically! A few taps to knock out the big bubbles and then some swirling to get the milk looking like wet paint and with practice you should get a good rich steamed milk. Always wipe down and purge the steam wand again after use. You can use about 1/2 a pint of milk for a big cup of coffee, use a pint jug for this.

If you are making lattes and cappuccinos I do the espresso first and the milk second. You will need to use heated cups otherwise you'll have to down your drink immediately as it'll be cold quickly. I do 30-60 seconds in the microwave depending on the number of cups.

Cleaning the machine. This is dead easy, run the coffee cycle with no pod to clean out the machine of any coffee debris. Blast the steam wand out for a while. Empty and wash out the bin and drip tray. You'll find you empty the drip tray quite a lot as it fills up quickly with what I assume is the machine self cleaning after use. Every so often you should run a decalcifying product through it to keep it tip top.

So all in all this is a great machine once you get the hang of it....and do spend the time experimenting with the steam wand, it is worth it in the end if you practice and get it right. The are loads of videos on youtube about how to froth properly with a pannarello wand so take a bit of time investing in these otherwise you'll get fed up quickly with the machine as you're not doing it properly!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Authentic Italian Coffee, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AEG A Modo Mio Favola Lavazza Espresso Coffee Machine, 0.9 Litre, 1300 Watt, Love Red/ Ice White (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a tidy, compact looking unit. The colour is quite a bright red, but the whole effect is just a little plasticky in appearance. There is a stand at the front to place a cup on into which the coffee is dispensed. To obtain milk froth one fills a cup about a third full with milk and places it under the steam spout and this produces a froth which can then be spooned or poured onto the coffee. However, the stand does not easily accommodate glass coffee cups where the rim is significantly wider than the base which is rather surprising.

The title of this unit is accurate in that this is an expresso machine. Each of the capsules will comfortably make about half a standard mug of coffee. If your preference is for a full mug you will end up with rather weak coffee. However, this machine does produce delicious, authentic Italian style coffee which is identical to what would be served up in a decent Italian restaurant.

The machine comes with a generous selection of two dozen capsules to try. Unlike some other machines it is not necessary to remove and dispose of the capsule after making each cup as there is a bin within the machine which will hold about twelve used capsules. The capsules themselves are easily obtainable and are comparable in price to Dulce Gusto and Nespresso capsules ie about 22p to 30p each. They can be bought through the Lavazzo site or elsewhere. Perhaps some might consider this expensive for a home produced cup of coffee. However if you have a Costa or Starbucks habit it does work out at a relative bargain.

The machine is not the fastest to produce a cup from a standing start and it does dispense the coffee at a fairly sedate pace. From turning the machine on I found that it took nearly three minutes to produce a cup of coffee with milk froth. A second cup is somewhat quicker. Our Dulce Gusto machine produces a full mug in just one minute twenty seconds, though in fairness I have to say we heat the milk in the microwave separately. Overall, this machine does not have any significant design advantages over others which I have tried, but it is hard to fault the coffee it produces which is excellent provided you do not like a long cup of coffee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Competition for Nespresso?, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lavazza is a famous name in Italian coffee and no doubt they are now trying to get into the market exploited so successfully by "Nespresso", for capsule coffee machines. I have used this machine Delonghi EN520.W Nespresso Lattissima Plus Coffee Maker, White which is based on the same principle, for over a year now. These are well-established in shops and have done well through stores like John Lewis.

The AEG machine is simple enough in use and looks quite compact and attractive, but lacks some of the features of the Nespresso machines and I am not sure the capsules are so readily available. In the Nespresso machine, there is an integrated unit for frothing the milk and blending it. In this machine, you have to measure the milk and use your own jug (not provided) to froth up the milk, using the steam hose on the side. In practice, I prefer the Nespresso unit for this and it's not so easy or intuitive here.

Both sets of capsules provide high quality coffee blends and there is nothing to complain about in this respect. However, I prefer Lattes and it was difficult to get a Latte glass in place and I much prefer the Nespresso machine(s) for this - much easier to use.

You get a set of 24 capsules provided and a nice variety. The instructions are in many languages and a bit skimpy; but along with the attractive box illustrations it all made sense. It was quite simple to get a very good cup of coffee with no problems and the unit is nice to look at and doesn't take up too much space.

In conclusion though - the main question is whether this is any better than the Nespresso system, given that they are already well-placed in the Market and have the initiative? I would say that Lavazza have come too late and with no significant advantage or unique selling point. In fact I would say that the Nespresso machines win on every count. However, this machine will do the job with no problems and if you prefer Lavazza, then this is the obvious choice for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Video Review .... Small things wrong ...., 23 Feb 2013
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 3:31 Mins

AEG & Lavazza Coffee Machine Review.

Final verdict is unfortunate. The machine is typical AEG and excellent quality but the marrying of this item with the poor Lavazza coffee capsules makes it a poor choice.
The machine is tied to Lavazza capsules and they only *just* make the grade when it comes to Espresso. The machine is supposed to cater to larger cups but unfortunately the moment you use a larger cup the coffee is so diluted it's not worth drinking.
So as an Espresso maker 4 stars due to the water tank flaw (see video). Anything else I'd give it 1 star BUT only because the coffee is weak. The price of the machine obviously makes a difference as well. The Gaggia I referred to in the video is bean to cup (you can just see it in the background if you're eagle eyed) and is more than twice the price. The Nespresso system I also referred to is around 30% more expensive but is all round a better milk frother and the capsule coffee is of a much higher quality. So to keep things in perspective on price versus quality if you like Espresso ONLY and you don't want to pay the extra 40 for a Nespresso machine then the AEG is a good choice. However I would recommend spending just that little extra and get a far more capable system. Real Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad57cb7c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews