Customer Reviews


260 Reviews
5 star:
 (205)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly better than the I Heart series!
I wish I was better at writing reviews as I don't know how to write a good enough review to do this book justice! I found this book on sale early in a bookshop and was ecstatic at finding it! I absolutely loved it. I think I enjoyed it more than any of the 'I Heart' books and I think Lindsey Kelk may now be my favourite chick lit author. This was probably the most...
Published 17 months ago by BookAddictShaun

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, shame about the proof reading
The story is great and is definitely in the same league as the 'I Heart' series so I really want to give this five stars. However the random question marks all through the text really did distract me (is it there for no reason, should something else have been there instead etc etc). In a free download I wouldn't be so bothered but this cost me £3.99 and it is a book...
Published 17 months ago by lexiej


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly better than the I Heart series!, 4 July 2013
By 
BookAddictShaun (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: About a Girl (Paperback)
I wish I was better at writing reviews as I don't know how to write a good enough review to do this book justice! I found this book on sale early in a bookshop and was ecstatic at finding it! I absolutely loved it. I think I enjoyed it more than any of the 'I Heart' books and I think Lindsey Kelk may now be my favourite chick lit author. This was probably the most readable book I have read this year, if that's the right word to use. It was just a joy to read from start to finish and I did not want it to end.

Kelk certainly has a way with words. Some of the descriptions used and one liners were some of the best I have ever read! Absolutely fabulous and extremely funny. I thought Angela Clark was a fantastic creation but I absolutely loved 'Vanessa' a.k.a Tess and was rooting for her throughout the whole book. As with Angela in 'I Heart', Tess is going through a bit of a bad patch and instead of wallowing she does something about it and flees the country. I am a bit envious of these characters to tell the truth as I wish this was something I had the bottle to do myself at times! All I can say is what a joy these books must be to write for Lindsey, she certainly has one hell of an imagination that's for sure!

This time Tess ends up in Hawaii and has to pretend to everybody that she is actually Vanessa, an uberbitch photographer who is actually not a very nice person. Tess on the other hand is a very nice person and so she finds it difficult at first trying to be Vanessa. Again it must have been fantastic writing a book like this, pretending to be somebody else and forgetting about the worries and problems of real life is surely a fantasy of most people at some point in their life. Whilst in Hawaii trying to get over her heartbreak she meets Nick, the journalist conducting the interview she is taking pictures for, and of course this is where the obligatory chick lit love story/triangle begins.

The book has a fantastic cast of characters, something with Kelk definitely excels in. She has created some brilliant characters in the 'I Heart' series, Jenny Lopez anyone? And the same is true here. And there is plenty of comedy also. But for me it was the writing that was the best thing about it. The one liners are ridiculously amazing, I wish I could write them all here in the review but it really is best to read them yourselves as part of the book.

The whole book was just amazing, I urge everybody with a love for chick lit to pick it up and read it. If you enjoyed the 'I Heart' series then believe me you will heart this book too. My sadness at reaching the end of the book has been forgotten after the cliffhanger at the end as at the end of the book there was a teaser for Summer 2014 when Kelk will release the sequel 'What A Girl Wants', I for one cannot wait! Don't miss this book whatever you do. I think it could become one of my favourite reads of 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got it, loved it, can't wait for book no two!, 7 July 2013
By 
J. L. Shepherd "monkey_store" (Kedington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About a Girl (Kindle Edition)
I have to say I was a bit worried that Lindsey wouldn't be able to pull off another set of characters after her really successful I Heart series. I am pleased to say I needn't have worried. The characters were totally different from Angela, Jenny and Co. Tess is a character lost and unsure where she is headed and appears to have a bit of an identity crisis. I was guessing a bit and I really couldn't get enough of this book. Definitely an easy read and full of great characters. So looking forward to the next installment.Well done Lindsey Kelk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING! Such a funny, fabulous and enjoyable read for the summer! xxx, 11 July 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: About a Girl (Paperback)
I've been a HUGE fan of Lindsey Kelk ever since she released her first book. I remember starting her I Heart... series and falling in love with it straight away, the sheer excitement of the day that a new one was released...and feverishly rushing out to buy it and reading it in a few hours. So I was positively giddy with excitement as son as I heard that Lindsey Kelk was releasing a new book!

So...imagine you've always had a plan in life, and it appears to be going smoothly, until one day where it erupts and hits you in the face, leaving you jobless. Your life isn't going as well as you'd like it to and this isn't just job-wise, but in the love life department too. So when you've had enough of being you, what do you do? How about being someone else? Well, this is where Tess decides that as being Tess isn't going brilliantly, she is instead going to be her flatmate Vanessa. Accepting Vanessa's photography assignment, Tess is how to beautiful Hawaii...so what if she's not a professional photographer, it can't be that hard surely?...

This book was FANTASTIC! Words will not do this book justice - Lindsey is not only back, but back with a bang! I was hooked to the story, I rushed to read it as soon as I had a copy in my hands and I had finished it within the same day. Lindsey Kelk has such a talent with writing in that you are instantly drawn in by her words and her humour and her books are so difficult to tear your eyes away from. So a word of advice to you all: Buy this and make sure you have an afternoon free because you will not want to put this down!

The characters were PERFECT! I admit I was slightly worried because I love Angela from the I Heart... series so much, and I was worried that my love for Angela may be compared with the new character of Tess, but I shouldn't have panicked because I loved Tess instantly! From the very beginning Tess is an extremely likeable character, she is a woman that many readers out there can relate to in some way and that's part of what makes Lindsey's books so addictive! I genuinely felt throughout the story as though Tess was like a best friend to me, I cheered her on so much, I laughed with her, I cringed with her, I felt like I'd lived my whole life with Tess by my side. The other characters are amazing - especially Kekipi - I would LOVE a friend like that!!

I warn you though, this book is hilarious! A little tip for everybody, make sure you have a tiny break from the book whenever you want a drink, otherwise you could end up like me spluttering lemonade everywhere in bursts of hysterical laughter!

I cannot fault a single thing in About A Girl, the romance was wonderful, the setting of Hawaii was an excellent choice, I loved the descriptions and I enjoyed escaping there with Tess. It really made me want to go to Hawaii and had me longing for a holiday over there. I'm not going to give away anything else about the plot line, because it is fabulous and it needs to be experienced in its entirety so please buy the book...it is definitely one of the best decisions you will make this year!

And the best part? This is the start of a brand new series! So we can expect more fun, mischief and laugh out loud moments with these vibrant characters - I cannot wait for the next part of the journey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, shame about the proof reading, 27 July 2013
By 
lexiej (Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About a Girl (Kindle Edition)
The story is great and is definitely in the same league as the 'I Heart' series so I really want to give this five stars. However the random question marks all through the text really did distract me (is it there for no reason, should something else have been there instead etc etc). In a free download I wouldn't be so bothered but this cost me £3.99 and it is a book that I am likely to re-read. Please, please, please can this book be proof read properly, corrected and re-issued so that I can download a decent copy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love love love, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About a Girl (Kindle Edition)
I LOVED this book.
What I love about how Lindsey Kelk writes is that it doesn't feel like cliched chick lit. I've never once rolled my eyes at any part of any book of Lindsey's.

I've loved her stories since day one & will contuie to do just because i felt like I was part of it. Like I was picturing the scenes & backgrounds in my head. I wanna be best friends with Tess & Amy, slap Vanessa & fall madly in love, marry & have babies with Nick. Is it wrong to be jealous of a character from a book??

What is brilliant about this book that there is going to be a sequel!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, witty and fabulous summer read!, 4 July 2013
This review is from: About a Girl (Kindle Edition)
Tess Brookes is the kind of person who makes sure to arrive at the office before anyone else so she can get in some extra working hours, and she'd usually stay a few hours late on top of that too. In fact, she is so focussed on her career that everything else and everyone else in her life gets neglected in the process. So when the promotion she has been working very hard for instead turns into a completely unexpected redundancy Tess freaks out.

When shortly after losing her job Tess believes she has also ruined things with one of her two best friends, who is the guy she's had a crush on since forever, she for the first time in her life does something completely impulsive and crazy; she answers her flatmate Vanessa's phone, accepts a freelance job as a photographer in Hawaii and straight away jets off with a suitcase of 'borrowed' clothes from said flatmate. Considering the fact that Vanessa is a horrible human being always clad in the latest fashion outfits and Tess is actually nice to people, her wardrobe mainly consists of office outfits and she has zero professional photography experience, she quickly realises that it's not easy to pull off the switch and pretend to be her flatmate.

Even though the shoot is in Hawaii, the beautiful location does little to stop Tess from worrying about the train-wreck her life has turned into to. To make matters worse, the subject of her assignment keeps cancelling on her, she realises she has to work with the most infuriating reporter ever, and her life back home falls even further apart when she gets into a fight with her other best friend as well. But amid these disasters there are fab parties and clothes, wonderful new friends and there is even an unexpected fling on the horizon. All the ingredients for a perfect summer read.

I absolutely adored About a Girl. I'm a big fan of author Lindsey Kelk's 'I Heart' series and I admit I was a bit worried that I couldn't enjoy a new series by her hand quite as much because I am positively biased towards the 'I Heart' characters. I needn't have worried, Lindsey's latest is filled with wonderful new characters that you can't help but fall in love with (or hate with every fibre of your being - Vanessa, I'm looking at you!).

Other than Tess, who despite her flaws I instantly liked and rooted for, the characters that particularly stood out to me were Kekipi, the man who manages the Bennett estate in Hawaii and quickly turns into Tess' GBFF, and Paige, who is in charge of the shoot and indirectly also of Tess getting her act together. And let's not forget Nick, the journalist that Tess is forced to work with on her assignment. He's rude, arrogant and Tess dislikes him from the moment he opens his mouth, yet she also really, REALLY fancies the pants off him, which as you can imagine forms quite a dilemma.

'About a Girl' is filled with descriptions of fab outfits to covet and such hilarity that the reader cannot help but laugh while reading (even when in a very public place and you're the only one suddenly snorting out loud, trust me, I know). Lindsey's writing is very witty and she uses a lot of pop culture references which make the story not only flow with ease but it will also make you want to be BFFs with her mind because she just sounds that awesome. I mean, she lets Tess use Ryan Gosling in the following exchange with her best friend, I rest my case:

'I am mad,' I confirmed.
'With me?'
'With everyone alive,' I said. 'Except maybe Ryan Gosling.' Who could be mad at Ryan Gosling?

In short: This is a must have for your 2013 summer reading list!

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun girly holiday read, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About a Girl (Kindle Edition)
I have liked Lindsey Kelk's books for several years now, but have only read the I Heart.. series before so I was worried that About A Girl might not be quite as good. At first, I though this was indeed the case as the first chapter is a little trashy and doesn't have quite the same voice or wit as her other works, but I kept at it and really enjoyed it.
The characters were likeable, the setting was great (perfect for taking you away to a dreamy Hawaiian island), and the storyline was fun. I did end up guessing all the 'twists' before they were actually revealed, and this book does nothing groundbreaking, but it is a fun an feel-good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars About A Girl, 15 Aug 2014
By 
N. Hunt "Vin¢ fan" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About a Girl (Kindle Edition)
I was very nervous about reading this book, like many Lindsey Kelk fans I love the I heart series, but I needn't have worried. I fell in love with this book just as quickly as I did the I heart series. Lindsey has a way of creating characters which you fall in love with and want to learn more about. You feel as if you know these people already and it is always exciting to read about their adventures. #TeamNick for me. I can't wait to get started on the next book "What a Girl Wants" and find out what happened next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About a Girl (Kindle Edition)
I liked this book but not as much as the other by the same author, A Single Girl's To Do List. It wasn't as funny. Some parts were good and others dragged. The start was slow but it picked up when she got to Hawaii. The ending was a tad abrupt but I guess it was a 'to be continued...' ending.

I will probably read the follow up book, but not right away. I need a break from reading about female characters wondering around in a t-shirt and knickers!!! (it happens a lot)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure, unadulterated fun, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: About a Girl (Kindle Edition)
This book is so enjoyable I read it all through the night. Didn't actually make it to bed in the end, which didn't dim either my love and enjoyment of the book, or of the next day, as I knew I could start the sequel immediately, with no delay. Which I did. And which I also loved, just btw. But seriously, I loved this book. It was so fun, funny and sexy- the scenes with Nick Miller were mouth-watering, and I love a protagonist who isn't afraid to take what she wants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

About a Girl
About a Girl by Lindsey Kelk
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews