Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars47
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2013
A beautiful interpretation of a classic usually associated with another artist. Strongly recommended. Weilerstein must be a rising star in the making
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
Alisa Weilerstein's performance is simply unutterably beautiful - the most sensitive recording I have ever heard, of this piece -and I did go to hear Jacqueline du Pre performing it live!
The Carter cello concerto it is matched with is dreadful - discordant. Avoid listening to this! The Bruch is beautiful.
Definitely worth buyingn for the Weilerstein/Barneboim interpretation of the Elgar, though.

Rita Craft.
London.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
Wonderful CD I heard it played on Classic FM and had not heard of her before; an excellent purchase. Will look out for more from her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
Dare I say it, but I like it as much as DuPre's recordings of the Elgar. The playing is never forced but still has passion combined with aching intensity and lyricism.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
I first heard this on Classic fm, and immediately bought it. The last version I had of the Elgar concerto was by Jacqueline du Prey, and this one is just as beautiful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
this was a gift for my mother for mothers day she loved it and was extremely pleased with it. a great buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
A very nice CD of the Elgar Cello concerto. Not my normal DVD purchase. My wife enjoyed it too..OK OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
Exquisite! The music lives on in the mind. Hear it once and you'll have it for weeks! It will be part of the collection of all classical music lovers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
A lovely interpretation of Elgar, so sensitively played. But Jacqueline du Prey still has my ultimate vote. This soloist will go far.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
Excellent production of Elgar, very expressive. Not so keen on the modern piece but it is also played brilliantly. Well worth buying
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.