Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars28
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£3.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2002
This is a "must have" album for the discerning blues collector. Combining superb musicianship, well crafted songs and excellent production. The overall result is an excellent CD introducing the unitiated to the founding father of the blues and the experienced collector to finely rendered versions of timeless classics. Beautifully packaged with extensive liner notes providing insightful commentary on the individual songs and the history of both Robert Johnson and Peter Green. Unreservedly highly recommended.
0Comment19 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2004
Nothing can ever truly compare to the haunting starkness of the original Robert Johnson recordings. Peter Green is a blessed and subtle guitarist whose tone and phrasing is second only to the great B B King himself. In The Robert Johnson Songbook, Peter and his band have achieved something very special indeed. The strangeness of the original recordings has been captured and re-invented but what is most remarkable is that they have introduced a consoling warmth that soothes the soul and at times makes those little hairs on the back of your neck tingle. Peter Green is a vastly underated musician and this collection of timeless songs carries an authenticity that no other living artist could hope to match.
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2004
One of the best albums I've heard for a long time Peter Green really is one of the greatest guitarists and musicians of our time
The only albums of his that are possibly better are the other half of the Robert Johnson songbook released as Hot Foot Powder and the amazing In The Skies that Peter Green released many years ago both of these albums should be in everyone's collection
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2001
Most blues affictionadoes will have the original Robert Johnson versions in the collection somewhere,so why buy this? 'Cause this is PG back to his roots and brilliant with it,vocals and guitar work are well up to standard. Not the usual selection of Johnson's material,makes a change ,which is remarkable as there are only 29 to choose from. Well done Peter,I recomend this to any Blues fan.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2010
This is without doubt an absolute classic Peter Green album.Covering the songs of Robert Johnson,to most critics the best by far since the original historic recordings by the man himself.Not only is Peter Green a truly great guitarist and arguably the best white blues guitarist of all time,but his voice fits these songs like a glove.The album won numerous awards on release and deserved to do so as well.Clapton has since done an album of Johnson songs but it just doesn't measure up to this set.In fact so successful was this release that Peter recorded a second album of Johnson songs 'Hot Foot Powder' and although extremely good has not quite got what this set has but only marginally.Peter Green's voice has that feel we only caught in the original recordings,his guitar work is beautiful throughout as is the added work of his then band,The Splinter Group' but this is pure Peter Green the rest is just to fill the recording.Surely among the finest blues albums of all time by one of it's finest exponents.Absolutely recommended.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I am not a Peter Green afficionado, but I repect anyone who has an individual take on Robert Johnson's songs. On this album we get to hear 16. Some of them are true to the original, such as "Kind Hearted Woman" and some are upbeat, with a great driving rhythm for example "Last Fair Deal Gone Down". Both of these approaches work for me. I'm not so keen on the smokey jazz interpretation on "Phonograph Blues" - shades of Memphis Slim. In fact quite a few of the blues greats are hiding in the shadows. I heard a bit of Sonny Terry, Washboard Sam, T-Bone Walker, Son House and so on. The album's a really good mix of styles, ideas and not so much a tribute to Johnson, as to the old time blues genre in general
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
This is a beautifully recorded album of Johnson's originals. Greens singing is haunting and so tuneful, also tasteful keyboards and solid bass, for my money it beats Mr Johnson by EC hands down
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2012
Peter Green has gone on to make music from his days with Fleetwood Mac to a very high spec as always first class music from a first class Guitarist.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
I really do mean it,if you love the blues you will really enjoy this album.Peter Greens vocals and the players on it really bring the blues alive.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
Ever since I became cognisant of music there has been Peter Green,
who has always seemed to be out there somewhere entertaining our
senses with his soulful voice and guitar magic.
Despite the most horrendous problems in his life Peter has retained
his abilities with guitar and voice to bring us some of the best
blues available. Cutting all the nonsense, listen to this and enjoy
great blues guitar and voice you won't regret it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.09
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Shop the World's Largest Selection of Sheet Music, Song Books & More!