Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cloud nine
very easy to read and digest. informative in its content .a good product . very good value on kindle buy it
Published 16 months ago by andy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars introduction only
This is a very basic guide to Chromebook from someone who thinks it is the best thing since sliced bread. They explain the concepts then give you a very brief introduction to them. If you have just bought one and it is your first computer this book is admirable.
If, however, you have been computing for a while and wanted something to show you what is unique about...
Published 18 days ago by A. M. C. 2014


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starter for Chromebook, 13 April 2013
By 
Mr. John W. Hartop "JH" (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Newbies Guide to Chromebook: A Beginners Guide to Chrome OS and Cloud Computing (Kindle Edition)
A good and useful book, it does what it sets out to do. It is difficult to use on Kindle although you can still gain a lot from it. It will be most useful when it is used in the paper format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cloud nine, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Newbies Guide to Chromebook: A Beginners Guide to Chrome OS and Cloud Computing (Kindle Edition)
very easy to read and digest. informative in its content .a good product . very good value on kindle buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good "first" e-book about the Chromebook, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Newbies Guide to Chromebook: A Beginners Guide to Chrome OS and Cloud Computing (Kindle Edition)
This book is written in a way that makes it sound more dated than it actually is; e.g. it describes how inexpensive the two "new" Chromebooks are. This refers to the Samsung and Acer models, of course, and not the "even newer" Chromebook Pixel that is mentioned in The Chrome Book (Third Edition): The Essential Guide to Cloud Computing with Google Chrome and the Chromebook.

There is good but concise section on "casual user" facilities like managing your music (via Google Play) and watching video (via YouTube or Netflix). Beyond this, it doesn't really go into much detail about how to get the most out of the "cloud computing" experience.

In a nutshell, this is a good "first" book to help you quickly get to grips with the Chromebook concept and basic operation, before moving onto one of the more comprehensive and advanced books. Subsequently you will want to read...

The Chrome Book (Third Edition): The Essential Guide to Cloud Computing with Google Chrome and the Chromebook

and (when the second edition comes out, but probably not before)...

My Google Chromebook

The four stars are for the Kindle edition of "A Newbies Guide to Chromebook" which, after all, is pretty cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars introduction only, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Newbies Guide to Chromebook: A Beginners Guide to Chrome OS and Cloud Computing (Kindle Edition)
This is a very basic guide to Chromebook from someone who thinks it is the best thing since sliced bread. They explain the concepts then give you a very brief introduction to them. If you have just bought one and it is your first computer this book is admirable.
If, however, you have been computing for a while and wanted something to show you what is unique about the chrome book then you are left wanting more. At the end of this book there are no other suggested sources of interest. There are no next steps in what to read to advance your knowledge.
It is a good introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it aint., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
yea its ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Basic handbook, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This thin, 80 page booklet was less than I expected or hoped, but may well prove more useful if/when I experience a problem or have a query. I had been using & marvelling at the Chromebook for 4 weeks before this publication was available, so was already fairly experienced with the system - just like a 'one horse' laptop. So like all my other technology books, I've read it, it is on the shelf in case of later issues. So it is worth at least 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Too Bad, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Newbies Guide to Chromebook: A Beginners Guide to Chrome OS and Cloud Computing (Kindle Edition)
For the price the book is OK. It saves hours of searching the internet for the most basic information. And for real Chromebook 'Newbies', basic is what we want! A more expensive book would give me, personally, more info than I could cope with. No quibbles, only what on earth is a 'screen shot'? How have I lived without these through my twelve years of muddling through with Windows? Still, now I know how to do it, if not why!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chromebook Newbies Guide, 30 Jan 2014
By 
A. J. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was really useful for my in-laws as they got a Chrombook as a present and are not very tech savvy so this was a great little book to get them started and show them the basics. They really like it and found it invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide for this very modest price., 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Newbies Guide to Chromebook: A Beginners Guide to Chrome OS and Cloud Computing (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this guide to my Kindle to read while the Chromebook was travelling to me. At first I thought some of the claims and comments made were a bit OTT, but then was convinced that this was the machine for me. I was eager for Chromebook to arrive, and now that it has, I find this guide very very useful. Well worth the price !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Help, 3 Oct 2013
By 
jakczek (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Newbies Guide to Chromebook: A Beginners Guide to Chrome OS and Cloud Computing (Kindle Edition)
I was about to give up on Chromebook; but this guide persuaded otherwise. Worth the purchase and would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews