Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 1 September 2012
This is a great CD. It is unusual to buy an album these days with so many terrific tracks.
It is a bit more commercial than the earlier albums, and production definitely sounds a bit more professional than some of The View's previous stuff. Playing this made me go back to replay Bread and Circuses a few times - also a very good album.
However, if you are new to The View this album is a great introduction to a band with real energy.
Some of the tracks on Cheeky For A Reason are belters. I particularly like the first 6 tracks and "Don't Lean On My World".
I don't usually bother providing reviews but felt that this album is so good it is worth a plug.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 15 July 2012
I dont normally write reviews, to be honest this is my first and I have bought loads of music from Amazon as my main source for MP3. I bought this purely on the fact I enjoyed the first album and the £3.99 price tag but I now have this album for much more reasons than the price tag and the ownership, its absolutely brilliant! Its got anthems, sing alongs good mature sounding music that is worth gigging for. Im not a mad fan that going to blow smoke up a bands trumpet because I have the duvet mug and lucnbox of them but I do very highly reccomend this album and going to one of thier gigs. cheers
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 6 September 2012
Have seen this band twice this year (Chester Rocks & Wolverhampton) and if you think this and their other albums are great wait until you see them belt the tunes out. Their delivery reduced the audience to carnage.

They are due to support The Courteeners in Manchester come December. You will need that 20/30 minutes rest period before The Courteeners come out because you would have jumped your socks off by then. If you have tickets for this event then you are in for a double treat with The Courteeners and The View on the bill.

Brilliant album and brilliant live.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 July 2015
I've been a fan of these four men from Scotland since I first heard the infectious piece of perfect indie-pop-rock that was the hit single 'Same Jeans'. I've followed them closely, buying all three albums and loving everyone, the latter two demonstrated a more mature and grown-up sound, but The View's fourth album, released in 2012, might possibly be there best one thus far.

Although none of the singles troubled the charts, the album itself gained a very healthy top ten position, proving that the big fan base is still there after half a decade. The lads enlisted Mike Crossey's talents as producer. He has produced records for Keane, Razorlight, Razorlight, and more recently, Jake Bugg's debut album, so it should come as no surprise that production of 'Cheeky For A Reason' is very polished and professional.

There are the usual excellent, trademark up-tempo tracks here, and none more so than the excellent opener 'How Long' and the next few tracks that follow, which are guaranteed to make you feel good and get you moving. There are also a fine 'Piano Interlude', and some mellow ballads that the band have occasionally dabbled with the past. If you enjoy quirky, but intelligently written tunes that are as catchy as anything, I don't think you can beat The View, and the sound of Kyle Falconer's unmistakeably Scottish vocals. 'The Clock' is a particularly strong song, that was rightly released as a single, but wrongly made no impact chart-wise.

The View have a new album scheduled for a release this September, and I'm looking forward to having yet more music from these very talented Scottish men. In the mean time, if you want to familiarise yourself with the hits so far, and would like to hear all the fan favourites, then check out the excellent Seven Year Setlist compilation album, which includes three songs from 'Cheeky For A Reason', two of them are the ones I've highlighted in this review.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 17 July 2012
With a serious lack of any good indie/guitar bands around, it's amazingly refreshing that Cheeky For A Reason is both exciting and proves that they are getting better and better, as each new album comes out.The stand out tracks are How Long, Bunker, AB, Hole In The Bed (very Libtertinesque!) and the brilliant surprise that is Tacky Tattoo. Normally nowadays, its a surprise to get 3 good tracks - this album is jam packed with up-lifting, energetic brilliance.The View are still very much on fire, so grab Cheeky For A Reason now!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
The first thing you notice on this 4th offering from THE VIEW is how much they've grown,matured if you will.
That's not to say they aren't fun anymore,they certainly are,but they now know so much more about making an album than they did and when you consider how good they sounded before,that's quite something.
Certainly they seem to have mellowed quite a bit on some tracks,but they are still very much the band we've become very fond off.
They can't just repeat the same formula and expect to get away with it,so they take this knowledge and use it to great effect. A band growing doesn't mean they become boring,they try different things whilst remaining true to themselves. There's plenty here to get fans singing along to live even if they don't sound quite so young,but they aren't so young,they have to change their sound a bit and they embrace that by recording an album for us to embrace.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 11 July 2012
Have been a fan of the view since they first emerged and loved every album they have done but for me this beats hates of to the buskers by a country mile musically and lyrically, dont know how they arent as big as they should be. Must have 5 out of 5
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 19 August 2012
First album was great and I loved the energy of The View. This album is even better! Every track is good. The tracks are fresh and have energy. Its a 'must buy'!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 13 February 2013
This has to be one of the best albums of the year, it's certainly the best album I have heard in a long time. Very clever lyrics and catchy tunes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 9 July 2012
Don't often write reviews but felt this album deserved a mention. I have always found The View a bit hit or miss but they are a local outfit and I like to support local bands.

This is by far the best set of songs they have produced (this is only my opinion remember) , there is some very good lyrical content, a more grown up sound and a lot of catchy tunes. The same raw guitar and drumming are evident but there are also very polished songs on here. The hooks are very good with repetitive choruses that have you singing along.

I think the boys from Dryburgh have matured musically and this is a highly recommended album, the kind that you will play once but keep coming back to listen to again and again. Not a throwaway for sure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Ropewalk by The View

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.