Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb collection of Jane Austen's work.
This is an excellent collection of Jane Austen's works. I bought it for the Kindle and it was an absolute bargain!
It includes not only the major works (Persuasion, Pride and Prejudice, Northanger Abbey etc) but also her shorter novels like Lady Susan and the Watsons. It also includes the three volumes of Juvenilia, her complete letters, her poems and prayers and her...
Published 3 months ago by Uncle Barbar

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great works ... pity about the lack of a contents page
This kindle version contains the works of one of the greatest, wittiest, most entertaining writers in the English language, for an amazingly low cost. It is almost unthinkable that this product would not get a 5 star rating from me. However, the lack of a contents page (or any other means of navigating through this work) not only means that it is hard to find the work one...
Published 13 months ago by S. E. Paynter


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great works ... pity about the lack of a contents page, 22 Nov 2013
By 
S. E. Paynter (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
This kindle version contains the works of one of the greatest, wittiest, most entertaining writers in the English language, for an amazingly low cost. It is almost unthinkable that this product would not get a 5 star rating from me. However, the lack of a contents page (or any other means of navigating through this work) not only means that it is hard to find the work one is interested in reading, but one doesn't even know what works are included in this collection. Two stars is probably too much for a work with these defects. It shows inexcusable laziness went into the production of this work, and I can only hope that a revision of this work will rectify this deficiency.

<Edit> To be totally fair to this product, I have found that there is a contents page which can be used to navigate this product - but, firstly, it is at the end of the book! and secondly, it is not a contents page that appears in the navigation pane like a contents page should (this, at least, is how it should work on the "Kindle on PC" program).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb collection of Jane Austen's work., 24 Aug 2014
By 
Uncle Barbar (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent collection of Jane Austen's works. I bought it for the Kindle and it was an absolute bargain!
It includes not only the major works (Persuasion, Pride and Prejudice, Northanger Abbey etc) but also her shorter novels like Lady Susan and the Watsons. It also includes the three volumes of Juvenilia, her complete letters, her poems and prayers and her memoirs.

As a collection of her works I really can't fault it - it gives another dimension to understanding the character of the young lady, her times and the world in which she lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Carole E. Oswin (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
Lovely to have all this books on my Kindle, I read Pride and Prejudice on holiday, and will read the others on future holidays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Austen is just so good!, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
This is the first time I realised how much better Austen is than the Brontes! I have read every last scrap of this book, even the letters are good. And I hadn't realised just how many novels she wrote, so I have read, and enjoyed, books that I didn't know existed before, and books I have only seen serialised on TV.

If you want to get lost in Austen - this is your book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value and well formatted, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
Basically this works can be obtained for free, legally but this presentation is formatted perfectly for kindle and at that price it was a bargin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good value, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
enjoyed reading this lot. it has been a long time since this was last looked at so brought back memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
I loved reading again The Complete Works of Jane Austin. I have always enjoyed these works and gain so much from re reaing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
To have the company of Eliza and Anne as companions on the train (in Kindle format) you can't beat it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete works of Jane Austen, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
Words are not needed to give a review for something so wonderful as a story written by Jane Austen! The title and the name of the author says it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recent buys, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
you cannot beat the classic books a great easy read ,you can read them again and again and never tire of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Works of Jane Austen
£0.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews