Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen
Lovely to have all this books on my Kindle, I read Pride and Prejudice on holiday, and will read the others on future holidays
Published 10 months ago by Carole E. Oswin

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great works ... pity about the lack of a contents page
This kindle version contains the works of one of the greatest, wittiest, most entertaining writers in the English language, for an amazingly low cost. It is almost unthinkable that this product would not get a 5 star rating from me. However, the lack of a contents page (or any other means of navigating through this work) not only means that it is hard to find the work one...
Published 9 months ago by S. E. Paynter


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great works ... pity about the lack of a contents page, 22 Nov 2013
By 
S. E. Paynter (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
This kindle version contains the works of one of the greatest, wittiest, most entertaining writers in the English language, for an amazingly low cost. It is almost unthinkable that this product would not get a 5 star rating from me. However, the lack of a contents page (or any other means of navigating through this work) not only means that it is hard to find the work one is interested in reading, but one doesn't even know what works are included in this collection. Two stars is probably too much for a work with these defects. It shows inexcusable laziness went into the production of this work, and I can only hope that a revision of this work will rectify this deficiency.

<Edit> To be totally fair to this product, I have found that there is a contents page which can be used to navigate this product - but, firstly, it is at the end of the book! and secondly, it is not a contents page that appears in the navigation pane like a contents page should (this, at least, is how it should work on the "Kindle on PC" program).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap price but worth looking at a different version first, 9 May 2014
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
As an avid Jane Austen fan, I have always obtained the individual books as they were free & public domain. However, I felt that one collection - if formatted & arranged well for the Kindle - would be an advantage. I looked at this version, but it's navigation and formatting were too limited for my liking. If you fancy a lot better navigation & formatting, together with some additional generic material, then let me suggest another offering for your Kindle. I've listed it below. At the time of writing, it was 77p ( so 65p dearer than this 12p version ). But well worthy of the additional few pence.

Publisher: Maplewood Books; 2 edition (16 April 2014)
ASIN: B00C8ULCGG

* The complete text of all major and minor works written by Jane Austen, each elegantly formatted for ease of use and enjoyment on your Kindle reader.
* Links to free, full-length audio recordings of all the books in this collection.
* An individual, active Table of Contents for each book accessible from the Kindle "go to" feature.
* Perfect formatting in rich text compatible with Kindle's Text-to-Speech features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On Kindle, not well laid out., 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
Indigestibly laid out, and with no sense of one novel beginning or another ending.

The content, however, is really rather good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Carole E. Oswin (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
Lovely to have all this books on my Kindle, I read Pride and Prejudice on holiday, and will read the others on future holidays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb collection of Jane Austen's work., 24 Aug 2014
By 
uncle barbar (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent collection of Jane Austen's works. I bought it for the Kindle and it was an absolute bargain!
It includes not only the major works (Persuasion, Pride and Prejudice, Northanger Abbey etc) but also her shorter novels like Lady Susan and the Watsons. It also includes the three volumes of Juvenilia, her complete letters, her poems and prayers and her memoirs.

As a collection of her works I really can't fault it - it gives another dimension to understanding the character of the young lady, her times and the world in which she lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No indication thatthere were no contents., 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
Therefore you have no information on sequence of the books, the page numbers when teach starts and ends. In summary it is useless and I could not recommend it to anyone. Better by far to download the individual books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value and well formatted, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
Basically this works can be obtained for free, legally but this presentation is formatted perfectly for kindle and at that price it was a bargin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good value, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
enjoyed reading this lot. it has been a long time since this was last looked at so brought back memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
I loved reading again The Complete Works of Jane Austin. I have always enjoyed these works and gain so much from re reaing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Works of Jane Austen (Kindle Edition)
To have the company of Eliza and Anne as companions on the train (in Kindle format) you can't beat it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Works of Jane Austen
0.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews