Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to be Upsetter about.....
I cannot agree with the one-star reviewer here.

I have been listening to Scratch for 30 years.

I have LONG avoided buying every new thing out with his name on it, but in my careful experience, I think this is the best new thing he has done since ''Time Boom x De Devil Dead'' with Adrian Sherwood circa 1990.

The Orb have concocted fabulous...
Published on 12 Sep 2012 by kiwidave

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ambient
I love the Orb but this album did not really have any stand out tracks for me.
Lee "Scratch" Perry is obviously a big influence on Alex Patterson but like his other collaberation with Dave Gilmour it seems to me he is indulging himself by working with his heroes but releasing albums that subsequently aren't really that good.
Published 13 months ago by Peter T. Dalziel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to be Upsetter about....., 12 Sep 2012
I cannot agree with the one-star reviewer here.

I have been listening to Scratch for 30 years.

I have LONG avoided buying every new thing out with his name on it, but in my careful experience, I think this is the best new thing he has done since ''Time Boom x De Devil Dead'' with Adrian Sherwood circa 1990.

The Orb have concocted fabulous grooves here. This disc is NOT for dub purists....but if you know your Kraftwerk from your Cabaret Voltaire, you will love the throbbing backdrops afford the crazy old bastard here.

It's essentially his typically amusing observations thrust into a chamber of Trans-Europe Express / Slugging For Jesus style industrial beats.

It's really very good. DON'T go expecting a Black Ark style production, you will not find one.

Love the track where Perry is asked to describe the sky of his formative years - they are obviously desperately hoping he will utter the phrase ''Little Fluffy Clouds'', the signature classic of The (early) Orb. He comes close!

It's different. It's not the same old Scratch chanting down Babylon to diminishing returns with ''reggae'' backdrops no longer fit to light his chalice.

I highly recommend it, especially to fellow roots-reggae lovers who also dig Krautrock and early industrial sounds circa the peak years of Suicide, Cabs, etc....

Perry is chanting to a different set of rhythms here, and it works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars turnips, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
turnips
a bleeding big feild of loverly luscious turnips good for me good for you and all the animals too TURNIPS !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neither Ambient or Dub, 3 Nov 2012
i didn't know what to expect of this collaboration - if you're buying it expecting Lee Scratch Perry to be doing a pure dub album - you might be disappointed - i love dub reggae - but this was never going to be the Upsetters new solo album - it's a collaboration of two different styles - not to everyones taste i'd guess - but it's not that bad (what's with the one star reviews) - and fair play to the upsetter - he's still experimenting - and getting people talking about him - at the grand old age of 76 - you want Police and Thieves - you've got it on this album - not the classic Junior Murvin or even Clash versions - but a version - and what is more dub than a version - ambient fans and dub fans approach with caution - music fans jump on in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ambient, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Peter T. Dalziel (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the Orb but this album did not really have any stand out tracks for me.
Lee "Scratch" Perry is obviously a big influence on Alex Patterson but like his other collaberation with Dave Gilmour it seems to me he is indulging himself by working with his heroes but releasing albums that subsequently aren't really that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blissful Listen, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In love with this sound, combined Orb and Perry on a hot summer day is irresistible. Cheering on a cold winter day, listenable limitless times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good collaboration, rather orb and modern perry like! i think it works well, and i enjoy some of these tracks a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Kinda of Thing, 23 April 2013
By 
M. jarrett (NZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have liked the orb for years, but have listened to little of LSP. Put the CD on, put my feet up and continued to read a rivertingly good book. I stopped reading, turned the volume up and chilled outtttttttt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Top rankin!", 16 Feb 2013
This album for me is one of the most important I've come across in a while, breaking new ground both in terms of dub reggae and The Orb's more traditional ambient material. It's seriously dancey with hard-edged, bass-heavy grooves all the way through, and the palette of industrial-type sounds and atmospheres is incredibly rich and dark (in a good way). It's dub for sure, but dub with seriously deep house overtones. Couple that with The Orb's uncanny knack of chucking in superb little slivers of audio oddity every once in a while, and you're off to a great start. Then add Lee Scratch Perry's brilliantly off-the-wall, blown-out proclamations and "orbservations" (pardon the pun), and you've got an album which will make you smile as you bounce around your living room (or wherever you're listening) in a blissed-out state. You'll soon be singing along with LSP: "I am the man in the moon..." Top rankin' indeed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My first Orb album. Love it. Great bass sounds, the sort that you just have rock to. Every track a pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Him no crazey., 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have been a fan of Lee Perry for years, more so the Black Ark studio days. Back in the early 90s got "In the secret laboratory" produced by Adrian Sherwood, great album but started to think he had seriously lost it. After much trepidation got The Observer in The Star House. Good dub heavy backing from The Orb and stream of consciousness lyrics from Scratch. The guy is 75 and still touring. Him no crazy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews