Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars30
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2012
Now then, I get the 'obvious' comparison to The Jam with these blokes, however I'm more inclined to put them in a similar stable to The Young Knives, The Rakes, 9 Black Alps and latter-day Buzzcocks in the hope that The Enemy can maintain an element of current day credibility. If this is the difficult third album it doesn't show. What Streets in the Sky delivers is catchy, anthemic punk-pop. No weak tracks here, the band has the previous venture firmly behind them and have gotten back to the business in hand - catchy bounce along choruses, bang on harmonies, chunksome geetars and an exuberance which exudes confidence, but most of all it all sounds like these geezers are having so much fun!! Don't get me wrong, it'll never be a classic in the Grand Scheme of Things, but you could do a lot, lot worse. Suggest you give it a whirl - you won't lose any 'street cred' and it just may put a smile on yer clock and a spring in yer step. Go on.......you know you want to!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2012
The Enemy unfortunately are one of those bands from the Brit Rock/Pop revival of the mid 2000's that despite a promising debut and not even particularly bad second album are now drifting into the wilderness. This isn't to say it's a bad album or the music is poor, It's just like many bands of that era they had their moment and it seems to have passed. In short bands like this should be getting more air time and publicity and scaling the singles charts.

The sound is instantly recognisable for anyone who owns one or both of their previous albums; there has been no great shift in sound. Though this album is much louder and more consistently aggressive than their previous albums. They do this well and singles Gimme A Sign & Saturday illustrate this perfectly, they're both very catchy. My only criticism is it is maybe too aggressive each track blends into the next without ever really slowing the pace and giving the listener chance to draw breath. Some of my favourite Enemy tracks were when they were a bit more pop/melancholy and slowed the pace ever so slightly.

That said it's an album well worth its price if you're a fan or enjoy the whole Brit Pop/Rock thing. It's just hard to tell whether through no fault of their own they sound out of place or if they've just run out of ideas.

On a side note I think the album art is cracking...one of the best for 2012.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Bought the first album in 2007 thought it was great, disapointed slightly with the second album, although good it wasn't the in your face energy of the first. Streets in the Sky however is a different animal, in my opinion this is better than the first. As The Vaccines and the 1975 get all the airplay on Radio one now, you know there are a whole bunch of kids out there missing out on the boys from Coventry. BUY IT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Brilliant songs and great lads to boot. Buy it and enjoy, if you like your music loud, catchy with proper lyrics then this is for you. Not one bad song on it and this should have been the best album of 2012. All bands have there influences so stop with the comparisons and just enjoy some damn fine raucous music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
on par if not better than there first album.

lots of catchy tunes and every song sounds different altho some remind me of there older ones but that is just their style.

well worth a buy and cant wait to see them at T in the Park in 2 weeks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 March 2016
After a disappointing second album which sounded almost like a tribute record due to certain tracks on it which were very close to what I would describe as sounding almost identical to established, stone-cold anthems by Blur and Pulp, three-piece indie rock band The Enemy delivered the goods once again with 'Streets in the Sky' in 2012.

These young lads, whose sound could well be described as very much like 'The Jam for a new generation', gave us another solid collection of raw, punchy, in-your-face modern indie rock treasures. Highlights include the catchy, anthem-like single 'Saturday', which should have seen some chart action, '1-2-3-4', and 'Get Up And Dance'. Perhaps it lacks the freshness and creativity of their debut album 'We'll Live and Die In These Towns', which remained their best record, but much of the material on here still sounds exciting.

For a modern, unquestionably British rock album, I'd recommend 'Streets In The Sky' to you. It has shades of The Jam, The Buzzcocks, and some early Oasis going on. The artwork is wonderful, but the music contained inside is really great fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
After listening to all of The Enemys albums this is the best one for me, even better than 'we live and die in these towns'.
Some very catchy songs such as 1-2-3-4, like a dancer, saturday just to name a few.
Purchase this you wont regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
really enjoyed this album first time i heard it, a lot of energy and some great vocals by tom. this is my favorite enemy album and i have listened to it countless times, the band really tear into each song, best played loud
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
Ahead of this album The Enemy promised fans more of the same - true to their word if you liked the first two albums then you will like this. Probably not quite as strong as their first two though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2012
What an album, loaded with proper anthems, and to make it better it was a steal on Amazon. Bought it a couple of days before seeing them at Shepherds Bush, so knew all the songs...Blinding..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.79

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)