Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Jewel of Western Mysticism
This is a very interesting description of a contemplative discipline conveyed intimately from an unknown teacher to an unknown student. The text is a mystic exploration of the divine that rejects the use of the intellect and the imagination, preferring an inner knowing, like a numinous experience based on feeling, a gnosis of the heart. An important theme is the...
Published on 11 Jun. 2002 by Peter Uys

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Digireads Edition
A professional, but cheaply produced eBook. Evelyn Underhill is not the author. She has merely written an introduction to the anonymous British Museum text which forms the main work. Someone has certainly tidied up the Middle English spellings but even crediting her as Translator is an overstatement; most of the original vocabulary, word usage and ordering remain...
Published on 28 Jan. 2012 by C. P. Willmot


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Jewel of Western Mysticism, 11 Jun. 2002
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Cloud of Unknowing (Paperback)
This is a very interesting description of a contemplative discipline conveyed intimately from an unknown teacher to an unknown student. The text is a mystic exploration of the divine that rejects the use of the intellect and the imagination, preferring an inner knowing, like a numinous experience based on feeling, a gnosis of the heart. An important theme is the difference between the active and the contemplative personality; others include the awareness of self, death of the ego, and advice on leading the contemplative life. Although this writing is deeply embedded in Christian tradition and I disagree with many of these beliefs, I still admire the author's gentleness and sense of humor. All spiritually-minded people will benefit from a study of this almost poetic text. As has been pointed out by the writer Karen Armstrong, the most beautiful sentiment is this: "For it is not what you are nor what you have been that God regards with his most merciful eyes, but what you would like to be."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mystical Gem, 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cloud of Unknowning (Start Publishing) (Kindle Edition)
Although written in a very old English language style, I urge you to persevere through this inspired book. I found that the language quickly became less of an issue the further I progressed (similar to when hearing/reading Shakespeare for the first time). In many ways I found that the language helped the real truth being described register intuitively rather than intellectually.
JC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cloud of Unknowing, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful little book, with a fascinating introduction. Spiritually uplifting and easy to understand the lovely, and sometimes very funny, 14 Century language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cloud of Unknowing:The classic of Medieval Mysticism, 7 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book arrived promply and in excellent condition. This is a book to read slowly and savour the depth of meaning within the words. An excellent book for a study group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Digireads Edition, 28 Jan. 2012
By 
C. P. Willmot (DURHAM , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A professional, but cheaply produced eBook. Evelyn Underhill is not the author. She has merely written an introduction to the anonymous British Museum text which forms the main work. Someone has certainly tidied up the Middle English spellings but even crediting her as Translator is an overstatement; most of the original vocabulary, word usage and ordering remain.

The style and grammar requires some work by modern readers. However, this need not be a drawback. This is the kind of book that needs to be chewed over; one needs to read a paragraph or so at a time, with long pauses for thought. The format of 75 short chapters helps. This publication encourages a slower, more prayerful pace of life. Without labour we skate upon the surface and miss the depths this book is all about.

Allowing the text to intermingle with the stuff of ordinary life (in the contemplative fashion probably intended by the author) is somewhat foreign to us. We are more used to gulping down a book as if it were fast food. Many, myself included, need their diet predigested. I'm not sure I would have understood the English had I not already read The Cloud of Unknowing and Other Works (Penguin Classics).

On the down side, this eBook publication is clearly mechanical. For example, the hyphen character used throughout the introduction appears as `?' on the Kindle; it was clearly not read after processing. Particularly annoying is the fact they didn't bother to produce a Kindle-compatible index. I remedied this by bookmarking the Contents page, but it would not have cost them much to include the same material in NCX format, making it a proper `Kindle' book. Still, we get what we pay for, and it is hardly expensive.

More expensive editions may or may not be better; this one is at least worth its price. However, I would recommend more recent editions. Although both The Cloud of Unknowing and Other Works (Classic, Modern, Penguin) and The Cloud of Unknowing: A New Translation have their own (minor) drawbacks, they are worth the extra money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handle with care!, 19 Jan. 2009
By 
Andrew (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
Classic book for the Christian who wants to go deeper with the Lord. Total surrender to and hunger for God are essential prerequisites to enter in to the dimension that this book touches on i.e. the face of God! sure to offend anyone trusting in their own logic/intellect but for the humble soul who is yearning for more of God this is a valuable guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mysticism, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful though the translation is not as easy to read as more recent trans;ations but it being available on Kindle means it can be easily available
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Keeper!, 19 May 2014
I am so glad I read it and continue to re-read it!
Certainly lived up to my expectations.
Ingrid Bowie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was disappointed and purchased Evlyn underhills translation instead which I find ..., 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this particular translation of the Cloud more difficult to understand. I thought the English would be more up to date than it is. I was disappointed and purchased Evlyn underhills translation instead which I find very beautiful and would highly recommend its simplicity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Middle English!, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book! But not one to read quickly! Middle English is interesting - even when edited, for this is a light editing. But a facinating and enlightening read for anyone interested in the business of contemplative prayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews