Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. I agree the end was a bit rushed but not to the books detriment. I would recommend it to anyone.
Published on 14 April 2013 by edengp

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2012 meets The Day After Tomorrow?
Rising sea levels and climate change are by no means new subjects in the world of Apocalyptic writing and I am afraid this Author's take on a well trodden path did not particularly inspire me.
The story itself was not bad but the book would benefit from better proof reading and the loss of about a third of its length which, in my opinion, could be achieved by the...
Published on 2 May 2013 by Trebor12


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Far fetched, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2042:The Great Cataclysm (Kindle Edition)
This is so far fetched that its laughable. The writing style is not to my taste , far too many adjectives. Also many typos that need attending to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2042:The Great Cataclysm (Kindle Edition)
This looked good on the review but ended up leaving a disappointed reader rather fed up. Numerous spelling mistakes (not just those referred to in the author's note), things which should be plural weren't and in at least two places, the incorrect character's name was used. This was particularly noticeable after a character had died!!
I did wonder quite quickly whether an editor had seen this book at all? Some parts early on read like a tacky romantic novel with lots of moustache stroking and a gratuitous sex scene.
It's a shame as the story could make a good disaster movie. Maybe that's what this actually is, someone's declined film pitch turned into a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2012 meets The Day After Tomorrow?, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2042:The Great Cataclysm (Kindle Edition)
Rising sea levels and climate change are by no means new subjects in the world of Apocalyptic writing and I am afraid this Author's take on a well trodden path did not particularly inspire me.
The story itself was not bad but the book would benefit from better proof reading and the loss of about a third of its length which, in my opinion, could be achieved by the removal of background clutter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good plot but the prose lacks flow, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2042:The Great Cataclysm (Kindle Edition)
The premise behind the story is really good, but because the descriptions around the story lack depth and the writing lacks a quality to enable it to flow, I've struggled to continue reading it.

A review and partial rewrite would help this book achieve higher ratings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not well written, 14 April 2013
By 
Robosquid (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 2042:The Great Cataclysm (Kindle Edition)
Sorry but I couldn't get very far into this book. It claims to have been revised but the long, convoluted sentences and poor grammar made it difficult to read.

By poor grammar, I mean (for example) the use of "it's" where it should have been "its", also mixing up "their" with "they're", and a multitude of misplaced commas. Very annoying and distracting.

I particularly did not like the attempt to reproduce copious volumes of authentic dialect - it was overdone, exaggerated and often unnecessary, spoiling the flow as it required so much concentration.

I suggest that the author reads 'Eats Shoots and Leaves' by Lynn Truss to improve written grammar.

All I will say on the story is that it has potential but is poorly executed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor - don't bother with this one., 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2042:The Great Cataclysm (Kindle Edition)
This is the worst book I have read in the past 20 years.

There are countless grammatical errors. Despite what the author thinks, none of them can be excused by colloquialisms or dialect.
The story line becomes tedious about one third of the way through.
The literary agents are worn out before they are even employed.
The science behind the Science Fiction is laughable.

Hopefully this author will take the time to proofread his next release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2042:The Great Cataclysm (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. I agree the end was a bit rushed but not to the books detriment. I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Cataclism, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2042:The Great Cataclysm (Kindle Edition)
Well written with good character development. Kept building to the climax of the plot. I was hooked until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mbknees, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2042:The Great Cataclysm (Kindle Edition)
Bit drawn out but nevertheless quite a good read for the sci-fi reader. Is this another warning of global warming/cooling. Scientists don't seem to be able to make up their minds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Intresting story line, 29 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2042:The Great Cataclysm (Kindle Edition)
This was a different twist on all "the world is heading for a diasater book" that is around at the moment. The characters are a little unbeliavble and at times just right for the story line rather than the story. The hero was just too good and whilst I am sure there is someone like this somewhere(!!??) he needed some reality checks and to be a bit more belivable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2042:The Great Cataclysm
2042:The Great Cataclysm by Melisande Mason
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews