Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Region free for a change.
THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE SCREAM FACTORY BLU RAY!

Ingrid pitt plays a vampire out for revenge against a small town. She gets herself invited to various wealthy households and seduces the nubile young daughters of the Austrian nobles (said nobles played by Hammer Stalwart Peter Cushing and Arthur Daley himself George Cole) slowly draining them inbetween some...
Published 20 months ago by Mr. K. Arts

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great latter-day Hammer, poor blu-ray
The picture quality on this Australian blu-ray seems OK, but the audio is horrid. Whether it comes from an inferior source or has just been badly mastered I don't know, but it's overly-quiet and prone to what sounds like wow & flutter from a warped tape. It's noticeably worse than any of the DVD versions I've encountered (both US and UK releases).

I suggest...
Published 22 months ago by D. Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Region free for a change., 17 May 2013
By 
Mr. K. Arts "keirarts" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vampire Lovers [Blu-ray] [1970] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE SCREAM FACTORY BLU RAY!

Ingrid pitt plays a vampire out for revenge against a small town. She gets herself invited to various wealthy households and seduces the nubile young daughters of the Austrian nobles (said nobles played by Hammer Stalwart Peter Cushing and Arthur Daley himself George Cole) slowly draining them inbetween some extremely softcore lesbian sexaimed at an audience for an audience growing steadily jaded by an influx of sex filled euro-horror from directors like Jean Rollin and Jess Franco.
Vampire Lovers is a film that has one foot still firmly in the old school hammer gothic tradition with fog shrouded villages, taverns country estates and period costumes galore. The other foot is in the world of the modern (for the 1970's) euro-horror imports that were stealing Hammers thunder. In spite of its attempt to pander to the more purient audiences of the time Vampire lovers is still a lot of fun. The sets are great, the performances are also uniformly good and director Roy ward Baker makes the most of things.
The blu-ray IS region free. A rarity for scream factory releases but it will play on your PS3 with no problems. Its using the same sources as the MGM midnight movies release and looks great. Theres some print damage evident but its still a noticable step up from that release. Extras wise it carries over all the bonus features from the midnight movies release including the commentary track and Ingrid Pitt reading an extract from Carmilla as well as including a couple of short new featurettes as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic Hammer Horror!!!, 27 Sept. 2002
By 
Mr. K. W. Wardle (Durham, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a classic Hammer Horror, co-produced by American International Pictures in 1970, this was the first Hammer film to feature scenes of sex and nude vampires! This DVD is a MUST for any horror DVD collection, and if you like sexy thrillers!!! There are no extras, however, there is a secret still gallery of around ten stills! Highlight the "o" in Vampire L"o"vers on the main menu, and hit enter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer Horror at its best!, 19 Jun. 2002
Vampire Lovers was released by American International/Hammer Horror pictures in 1970 and it went on to be one of their most successful films. It spawned two further sequels. Whilst it did not differ significantly from Hammer Horror's other films released at the time, it concentrated more on relationships and seductions rather than draculas and fangs. This proved to work well.
The production boosts and impressive cast. Peter Cushing only has a small cameo role at the beginning and end but Ingrid Pitt is excellent as the undead nymphomaniac vampire who seduces both men and women alike before drinking their blood. Also featured is George Cole and Kate O'Mara.
Though the film is not very scary as such, it is not played "camply" and the full frontal female nudity took it one step further in relation to the film board sensors.
It is my favorite Hammer Horror, not least because it features my old English school master Harvey Hallsmith (Harvey Hall in the credits) as a house butler.
One criticism - This release contains no extras - No commentary, no trailer, no subtitles, no language dubs and no accompanying booklet (although there is chapter selection). The film clarity and sound is however crystal clear.

I recommend watching this film and "The Abominable Dr Phibes" for classic Hammer Horror before it all started to get a bit silly in the late 70s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great latter-day Hammer, poor blu-ray, 2 April 2013
By 
D. Thomas "Dave T" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The picture quality on this Australian blu-ray seems OK, but the audio is horrid. Whether it comes from an inferior source or has just been badly mastered I don't know, but it's overly-quiet and prone to what sounds like wow & flutter from a warped tape. It's noticeably worse than any of the DVD versions I've encountered (both US and UK releases).

I suggest holding off for the Scream!Factory release due in April 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have a Bite!, 7 Oct. 2014
By 
James "I'm a retired security guard. I enjoy ... (MARYPORT, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vampire Lovers [Blu-ray] [1970] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I've always been a fan of horror movies made in the sixties and seventies and this is one of my favourites, mainly because of the delicious Ingrid Pitt who could bare her fangs and hiss with the best of them. I am delighted with this blu-ray edition and really impressed with the bevy of extras, especially the interview with Maddy Smith who clearly enjoyed herself in the role of near-victim to Miss Pitt's avaricious vampire. Heartilly recommended for those who enjoy horror movies set in medieval Europe with not a chain-saw or hockey mask in sight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice HD print, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vampire Lovers [Blu-ray] [1970] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Firstly this is a review of the "Shout Factory" release from the USA.

This is a region free release which will play on UK region B Blu Ray players thankfully. A very nice HD Print with rich colours and DTS 2 audio. Their is no sign of any artifacts on the print, so a very good print or some time has been taken to do some restoration work.

There is a very good commentary including Roy Ward Baker the Director, and the leading star the late Ingrid pit, and others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden Hammer gem, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vampire Lovers [Blu-ray] [1970] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Although a fan of Hammer Films, I could not recall seeing this movie prior to reading about it a couple of years ago. I bought it out of curiosity, but did not have high expectations for it - I was pleasantly surprised. The story itself is a retelling of the Le Fanu novella Carmilla and, although not totally faithful, uses enough of the original story to tell a solid one of its own.

The movie contains more nudity and sexuality than the usual Hammer fare, but this was the studio trying to meet the more liberated tastes of movie goers back in 1971, apparently. Don't be put off by this as it is essential to the story and does not spoil the film in the least. The film is well made and is now one of my favourite Hammer movies.

The extras included in this imported Blu-ray, although few, are very good and definitely worth watching.

I'm really glad I made this purchase and can see myself revisiting this movie time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid This Substandard Release, 8 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Vampire Lovers Blu-Ray (Blu-ray)
If you are a fan of fanged femmes then The Vampire Lovers is for you. Unfortunately, if you do not own a multiregional Blu-ray player, you will have to wait for a UK release of the film to get a decent transfer of this enjoyable romp.
This Aussie Blu-ray release was allegedly originally released in late 2012. not that you would have known it existed as it could not be found on the shelves of either the large chain stores or smaller independents. So, when I finally tracked a copy of the disc down today I was understandably excited to see if the film was as enjoyable lurid as I remember it being all those many years ago on the late friday night creature feature. The answer is in the affirmative. It's just a shame that the quality of this Aussie release is so poor.
Yes, this is a forty year old film and the cost of restoration work has to be balanced by potential sales,but this transfer is a shocker. Scratches, speckling and film dirt are all on full display. It makes one very grateful for Hammer's restorations of The Curse of Frankenstein and Dracula. I understand that The Vampire Lovers was a co-production with American International Pictures so Hammer may not have any say in this particular release.
Others may find the visual quality satisfactory. The deal breaker is the awful, heavily distorted music and effects track.
Dialogue is strong and clear, but everything else on the soundtrack is a phasing, shimmering mess. It might sound good at a Cure concert, rocking out to A Forest, but it does not make for a comfortable viewing/listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent release & it's Region Free., 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vampire Lovers [Blu-ray] [1970] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Another excellent Hammer horror release from the early seventies comes to blu-ray. A quality print with very good extras and it's region free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish Hammer Classic, 19 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
Very popular when released here (Australia) in 1971, (it played different venues for almost five years prior to its television sale) this Hammer favourite possesses all the right elements for a diverting entertainment- a stylish, sensuous camera, poetic elipses, beautiful women (some sans clothing), ruthless protagonists, a fine musical score and a nice, andante pace. As a testament to its enduring quality, THE VAMPIRE LOVERS retains its classic staus despite numerous censor cuts and two not so good sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vampire Lovers [Blu-ray] [1970] [US Import]
The Vampire Lovers [Blu-ray] [1970] [US Import] by George Cole (Blu-ray - 2013)
£6.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews