Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is Underwood a sociopath? You may think so but he couldn't possibly comment
From what I remember of the 1990 BBC version of House of Cards, this one is spiritually faithful but sufficiently different to make watching both a satisfying experience. The central dynamics remain - the sociopathic politician whose asides to the audience reveal the Machiavellian nature of his schemes & the extent of his contempt for those around him, like a predator...
Published on 12 April 2013 by Sam Woodward

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A poor imitation of the original.
Have just watched the original UK version which is gripping, with the late lamented Ian Richardson masterful as that evil genius Francis Urquhart. First impressions of this US revision are disappointing, in spite of the participation of both Michael Dobbs and Andrew Davies.
I'd like subtitles, for a start; sound quality is inferior, fluctuating between too loud and...
Published 3 months ago by Mary Carnegie


‹ Previous | 1 2 345 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Classic remake of a classic show, 30 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. L. R. BUXTON (England!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst now dating back to the end of the Thatcher era "House of Cards" was one of the BBC's finest-ever political thrillers, bringing us the classic phrase 'You may very well think that. I couldn't possibly comment', and this show had a lot to live up to, both transposing the action to America and the modern age. However this excellent series keeps the standard, and the lead character's dark charisma and Shakespearean-style speeches to the audience of the original show, whilst not being in its shadow.

In this drama Kevin Spacey's seemingly loyal but devious and manipulative Chief Whip Frank Underwood is persuaded by his tough-minded wife, Claire, to not just meekly accept being passed over for promotion by the President, and make plans of his own. This sets in motion a series of events - shocking, brutal and ruthless - as he plots to rise up the ladder, treading on both good and bad people as he does so.

In some ways it's typical of a David Fincher-directed show: dark, subdued lighting; eerie piano-led incidental music; a feeling of almost elegant dread pervading the atmosphere throughout. And the show will not appeal to those who like either more light-hearted, less cynical fare, or that Spacey's character is arguably even more of a b*stard than Richardson's Francis Urquhart, who often had a bit of a twinkle in his eye.

Yet once you get used to the lead character surprisingly being in the Democrat party rather than the Republicans (Richardson's character was in the Conservative party, which suited his hard-line tendencies) and if you show patience this is a beautifully-constructed show with great performances, fine acting and a number of different clashes - particularly the ongoing tug of war between Frank and the President's friend, the sly billionaire businessman Raymond Tusk (brilliantly played by Gerald McRaney) for influence over the leader of the free world - will lead you nicely into season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Washington - series 1, 2 Sept. 2014
A long time back Andrew Davies wrote a television series from Michael Dobb's book on government in the U.K. With this series, we are transported to Washington. So now we are in an era when Feature film actors and production qualities are transferred to the small screen. How elegant this all is. The opening titles are beautiful - magnificent shots of Washington , beautifully lit with lovely music they set the scene for wheeler dealing in the White House and Congress in the U.S. Oh yes, and Andrew Davies and Michael Dobbs are still on board. Kevin Spacey plays the lead - he is always so easy in the part he is playing and I do enjoy his asides to the audience which fit so well into the story. Robin Wright is his beautiful wife. The supporting cast are all excellent, the camera work is good and very consistent. Obviously in a series there has to be more than one director, but the style remains the same in all the episodes. Elegant. The sets are beautiful and exude upper class American style, with lovely soft colour schemes throughout. I am a glutton and love to be able to watch a whole series in one go covering maybe a week of time. Then I can watch it again if I want to. Now I am looking forward to series 2 - I wonder what that will bring me. Two points - some lovely large black and white photographs run through - and I think the series is being supported by Apple computers. All computers and cell phones seem to have the Apple logo clearly displayed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 July 2014
By 
Mr. R. Simpson-jones "RSJ" (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I didn't know If I would become a fan of this series but all I can say its one of the most intelligent series I have seen in a number of years. The actor by Mr Spacey is fantastic and like many others have said, this is one of his best roles in a number of years on TV. The story line is ambitious but believable and everyone plays their part. You can imagine this actually happening in real life and it draws you in.

If you like a serious political drama then go for this. Im sure you wont be disapointedd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 24 Feb. 2015
By 
Amazon customer (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Fantastic cinematography, wonderful dialogue. A cerebral look at the dark side of American politics. Kevin Spacey wears the role like a comfortable suit. Netflix want to have the prestige that we equate with HBO, and they are succeeding. It's good to see that on many fronts TV is now getting as skilfully and artfully made as the best films. Please keep the prestigious film directors and actors coming to this format. A great film is like a great short story, but a great TV series is like a great novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars John Doe in the White House., 24 Oct. 2014
By 
F. Y. Gaine (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Kevin Spacey plays Frank Underwood, a highly influential politician with an apparent sociopathic behaviour. Impossibly
arrogant,terrifyingly ambitious, nothing and no one will stop him on his way to the top.He has No sense of remorse, pity or empathy;
he is ruthless and promiscuous. Sex is a means to reinforce his sense of power, people are mere pawns that
he blackmails, moves and manipulates to his own needs, then discards without the least hesitation. Spacey is delightful and once you are past
the first episode you cannot imagine who else would be more fitting to the role: his knowing looks and gestures towards the
audience, the'off the record' pieces of his mind he gives them are a fresh new trick that we can expect to be many times copied in
the future and not equalled. A TV series with the feel of a great movie, possibly a political thriller by Roman Polanski. Altogether
a brilliant and addicting, if not very plausible story;unfortunately, all the other characters are overshadowed by Spacey's, and notably the
US president is the least charismatic in the history of onscreen fiction. Overall it is really only let down by a a very bland, almost
unremarkable sound track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A poor imitation of the original., 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have just watched the original UK version which is gripping, with the late lamented Ian Richardson masterful as that evil genius Francis Urquhart. First impressions of this US revision are disappointing, in spite of the participation of both Michael Dobbs and Andrew Davies.
I'd like subtitles, for a start; sound quality is inferior, fluctuating between too loud and difficult to hear. Kevin Stacey sometimes mumbles, and the accents aren't always easy to understand.
The lighting is too subdued - Wolf Hall managed better, even with its homage to authentic Tudor interiors. Hard to credit 21st Century Washington living in deeper darkness than Henry VIII!
The "Mattie" character looks like a malnourished teenager.
Just hope US politics don't prove too incomprehensible, but at least the pace isn't breakneck, like "West Wing" or "The Thick of It". This last can't hold a candle to "Yes, Minister". I for one need time to savour political intrigue, whether it's Sir Humphrey's suave manipulation, or Urquhart's diabolic machinations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent ... Really enjoyed the plot, the cynism, the actors play. I'm looking forward to the second season. A great choice !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't think a U.S. version could match the original but was wrong. It is brilliant.
It is a must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'THE CUT-THROAT WORLD OF POLITICS', 7 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Cards - Season 1 (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Husband and Wife 'Francis(Frank) and Claire Underwood' are both smooth
and ruthless operators.
'Frank' is a congressman who gets things done....at any cost, he fears no-one,
he is a master manipulator, cross him and your career is over.
'Claire' runs a 'Charity' agency......but, her charity does not extend to loyal
employee's.
In truth, the two understand each other, which is probably why they co-exist.
'Kevin Spacey' lights up the screen with a style all of his own.
This is a brilliant version of this political, and wickedly clever drama.
This a 4-Disc Box-Set of the 13-episode complete first season.
Run-Time - 674 minutes.
(Looking forward to receiving the second-series when released)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series., 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
again, this slipped under the radar and after one friend kept on and on , decided to buy it.
Best series by far we saw last year...apart from Homeland !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 345 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House of Cards - Season 1 (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2013] [Region Free]
£13.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews