Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


262 of 268 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product for the right user
The Sony HDR-CX280e camcorder turned out to be just the right camera for me. Being much more from the still DSLR digital camera background as a former professional and now enthusiast photographer, I would not pretend to be a great videographer and could honestly admit to only using a real video camera half a dozen times or so in my whole life hitherto. The arrival of baby...
Published 20 months ago by Gary White

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sony Handycam
i donot like the minute button for the memory etc i made a mistake of getting too big a card for recording on it is easier to find what you want on a 16gb cardi am not able to find all the menus so i trust to luck but that is what technology does no good for me at 78 years old i have had 5 camcorders starting with a Sharp in the eighties when they were a thousand pounds...
Published 18 days ago by colin wiper


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

262 of 268 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product for the right user, 14 April 2013
By 
Gary White "gwhitegeog" (Fulham, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony CX280 Full HD Handycam - Black (27x Zoom) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Sony HDR-CX280e camcorder turned out to be just the right camera for me. Being much more from the still DSLR digital camera background as a former professional and now enthusiast photographer, I would not pretend to be a great videographer and could honestly admit to only using a real video camera half a dozen times or so in my whole life hitherto. The arrival of baby Thomas changed all that. I did take some very good videos with my Canon DSLR but I needed something altogether more compact and dedicated to the task.
The little Sony is very light and ideal for travel. It really is palm-sized and simplicity itself to use. There are very few hard controls, most of the set up and management is software driven via the menu on the flip-out LCD screen. Opening the screen turns on the camera, which immediately gives you a Live View and then there is as just a zoom toggle switch, a still frame capture button and a record stop / start button in terms of finger controls. In that sense the camera can be used straight from the box (aside from inserting a SD memory card - not supplied, of course) though when you start for the very first time, you need to go through the typical language and region and date / time set up screens. There is also a `pull out' USB 2 connector lead next to the grip which can be plugged into your computer to transfer across files and also as a back-up charger (the battery is charged on-camera - see below). Other than that, there is just a connector slot for the battery charger and one for a mini USB multi-connector, both covered by a single, shared fiddly plastic cover. Underneath the screen there is a separate socket for a mini HDMI connector. The only other control of any description is the slide switch which opens and closes the iris shutter to protect the lens - no small lens cap to lose, thankfully. The lens is Carl Zeiss Vario-Tessar and optical quality seems to be as you would expect of this quality marque. Build quality is good - good enough for everyday use - though I wouldn't go mountaineering or white water rafting with it!
In terms of features and functionality the camera is pretty much idiot-proof but for the intended market it offers excellent bangs-for-bucks and must be very good value in the grand scheme of things. There is a 50x extended digital zoom (I shut this off and relied on the built in optical zoom and stabilisation), a stereo microphone that works well enough and doesn't pic up any system sound - the camcorder is completely silent in operation, a standard ¼" female tripod bush on the base and the usual wrap-around leatherette palm grip. File (quality) selection gives the option of AVC HD FX file format, with FH, HQ and LP versions giving progressively longer record times but poorer quality. MPEG4 format (non-HD) can also be used for recording. There are a good range of features buried in the menu, like HT TV set up for playback (e.g. 4:3 or 16:9, etc), editing and highlight functions. Manual override is available for things like exposure, low lux, white balance, etc but I left these alone, as I am sure most users will.
Using the camera is a breeze. There is face recognition functionality that focusses on faces automatically and generally the optical and autofocus system is very good. The optical stabilisation works very well and resulting playback quality is excellent, viewed either on the built in LCD screen or when connected to a full-sized TV. My friend who works in media says the files are near-broadcast quality - though I am sure the functionality of the camera would be laughable for a professional, it certainly provides good-enough quality for me. Low light images are commendable noise-free.
As other reviewers have commented, the battery supplied is a stingy 500mAh one, giving barely an hour's recording on HD, so my first task was to buy a spare battery. A genuine Sony 980mAh higher capacity one was less than £20, so a good investment. This gives about 2.5 to 3 hours of use. There are also several others available with even higher capacity but the penalty is a more bulbous lump sticking out of the back of the camera, I guess. Batteries are charged on-camera using the USB connector (slower) or the dedicated supplied Sony charger (faster). I find charging on-camera a faff, so my second purchase was an after-market travel charger that allows the spare battery to be charged off-camera. My third purchase was the bespoke Sony camcorder case.
You'll need to buy an SD card for recording images - or poach one from one of your other devices. There are three main things to consider. Firstly, the brand. I would advise keeping to SanDisk, Lexar or similar. Mainstream manufacturers make the best quality cards that are least likely to get corrupted. There are also a lot of forgeries online, so beware. Buy direct from Amazon or one of the reputable Marketplace retailers (etc). Secondly, you need to consider the card capacity. Most SD cards these days are of the SD HC (high capacity type) and given their relative cheapness, buy at least 16GB - this size gives about 1.5 hours of recording at highest quality on the Sony. Lastly, you need to consider the write-speed. Don't look at confusing terms like 144x (etc) - look for absolute write speed, like `30mbs' of '45 mbs' (mega-bytes per second). 30mbs should be enough but 45mbs is better given the Sony's HD file size output. Avoid cheap card bargains or slower versions of the mainstream manufacturers' cards, as they often have a slow write speed and are not suitable for video recording. There'll be a bottleneck in recording and you may get drop-outs as the camera cannot write to the card quick enough. I didn't have this problem with a SanDisk 45mbs card Extreme 3 version, which can be bought for a very good price online. Finally, remember that the cards should be used for temporary storage only - back up every day - don't leave the SD card as the sole repository for your work or you'll regret it. I used an external card reader rather than connecting the camera to the computer.
The instruction manual is quite poor. The written English is fine but there is very little in the way of in-depth information - it doesn't tell you much that can't be worked out from the onscreen menu. I would have preferred some more technical discussion of file types and pros and cons but I guess Sony don't think this is important for the intended user.
Software. There is no CD supplied with the device, you need to go online and download Sony Play Memories software. I also got a PDF version of the instruction manual. The software is really for the `home user' and I found it frustratingly simplistic. I used Adobe Photoshop Elements and found this much more useful and I was able to splice together and edit videos easily and output in many file formats.
In conclusion, the HDR-CX280e (the `e' denotes external storage - i.e. the SD card rather than internal memory storage) is a fine piece of engineering and I would recommend it strongly for non-professional use or for a first foray into videography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb camera, 27 July 2013
By 
D. Tweddle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CX280 Full HD Handycam - Black (27x Zoom) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Bought this camera for recording flights and at airshows. Easy to set up, get battery charged etc. You have a choice of 720i/p or 1080i or p. Stick with 1080p. It also auto sets if you have a HD TV. Sound is Dolby Digital 2.0. The zoom is fantastic and gets real close, the lens is excellent, the clarity of the picture is something else. One of the best Handycam's I have bought. Would highly recommend. It is easy to use. With a 16gb SD card you will get about 1hr 30mins of HD recordings. The battery lasts about 2 hours, so I bought another one for £19.99 on amazon as a back up. There are test videos on youtube for this camcorder, and I would recommend you check these out, this will show you how good the camcorder is. Also there is no noise when you zoom in and out which is excellent. Again the sound is superb as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CX280 Full HD Handycam - Black (27x Zoom) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Great little camcorder!!!. What a really like about it: it's small and light, not to many buttons and functions to operate. It's HD, and can take photos as well up to 8Mb. The battery life appears to be up to 1,5 hours, and i kept the camcorder on charging for about 20 mins. Delivery was very quick, it actualy came a day earlier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does The Job, 16 May 2013
By 
IM35461 "IM35461" (East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony CX280 Full HD Handycam - Black (27x Zoom) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sony seem to have launched a rather large range of Handycam's with some only having very small differences e.g. Steadyshot and different zoom ranges and auto lens cover.

Reading the manual some may not even include a charger (all models charge via the USB connection or via a dedicated charger).

This version includes a charger has optical steadyshot, zoom up to 50x (using digital zoom for higher range which degrades the picture) and a manual lever to open/close the lens cover and stereo sound (non touch screen LCD).

Camera is lightweight, easy to hold in right hand, the non touch screen viewfinder screen is clear and the menus are fairly easy to navigate with a four way joystick control with push to select.

Like all the other models it uses Sony's playmemories software and the camera has a small amount of internal memory which when linked to your computer mounts as a drive letter. This has links on it to install the software from their website (I use windows but there also appears to be mac support).

I fitted my camera with a 32Gb SDHC Class 10 memory card which just slots in underneath the camera.

No problems in operation but I have found the still photo button on top of the camera is sticky and tends to take two photos when you operate it.

Zoom is smooth and the camera does a good job of recording the audio with no noticeable camera noise.

It does not come with a carrying case but the Sony Ultra Compact Case for Handycam - Black does the job.

Bad points (all minor)
Manual lens cover (still at least it wont go wrong)
Still photo button sticky (hopefully just on my one)
Comes with a male to female USB cable typically needed to connect to it your PC as the inbuilt USB lead in the camera is quite short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CX280 Full HD Handycam - Black (27x Zoom) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This camera is easy to handle and light to carry. It takes a good movie and would recommend anyone to buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Mr Gumby "DH" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony CX280 Full HD Handycam - Black (27x Zoom) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm going to start with a comparison, because Amazon reckons the CX280E is the new version of the CX250E and I happen to have access to a CX250E.

Checking the specs, the CX280E is inferior in several ways, notably 2.7" non-touch LCD vs. 3" touch, which I'll return to below. It also lacks tracking focus, golf shot and a mic input socket, but few casual users will miss those. The only thing that did irritate me was the manually-operated lens cover. On the other hand, it retains all the most valuable features, such as face detection, and has the benefits of lower weight and price.

I shot a lot of comparison footage and found it hard to detect any significant difference between the two models on picture quality, stabilisation or sound quality. When it came to usability, the smaller LCD of the CX280E made it slightly harder to see and review what was being shot. Against that, to my surprise, I preferred the CX280E's joystick to the CX250E's touch-screen controls (prod-screen would be more accurate). The joystick is very intuitive in use and much more positive and responsive. It was very easy to set the machine up and start using it without reference to the manual.

The CX280E's low weight, ease of use and high-quality footage make it a great buy as a snapshot camcorder. It's a perfect machine to keep on the side, for grabbing shots of children or pets when they decide to `perform', but it's also very portable and will do a good job when you want to capture planned events. If it hits your price point, don't hesitate to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Compact Camera, 7 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CX280 Full HD Handycam - Black (27x Zoom) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
The camera is very easy to use and has some good features which although not essential, make life a little easier. Comes with an NP-Fv30 battery which the screen tells you is good for about 1hr30 from a full charge. I bought a spare NP-FV50 battery which is good for about 2hrs30. I also bought a Sandisk 32GB extreme card to go with it which gives roughly 2hrs40 recording time at max quality settings (1080x50p AVCHD) however these settings mean you can't take still photos whilst recording video. The files are .MTS and file sizes are not huge but obviously long, high quality video needs more space.

The camera comes to life as soon as you open the screen, the only small downside being that you have to manually open the lens cover but it is no real hardship. It's very comfortable and easy to use in your hand with all the buttons just in the right place for me, it also has the standard tripod mount on the bottom but no other attachment plates. The zoom is excellent and very smooth, image stabilisation as you would expect from Sony is very good. All of the settings are software based and accessed using a small thumb controller on the screen with settings such as white balance, manual focus, exposure low lux and microphone zoom. Low lux performance is reasonable and if I'm honest I've not had any reason to take any of the settings out of auto mode.

The USB cable in the handle is tucked out of the way and very handy for easily transferring videos and charging the battery without having to dig out all of the cables and opening the small USB/charger flap one the side. There are only the 3 input/output slots on the camera, one for USB, one for the charger and one for a mini HDMI connector.

All in all, a very good simple, small and portable camera for every day use filming family, holiday, pets etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Handycam - Value for money, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CX280 Full HD Handycam - Black (27x Zoom) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I am happy to get this sony hd handycam and like to use fully. This is my first handycam, so I am learning and find it user friendly. Charging time 2.5 to 3 hrs. Battery life is average. Resolution,Optical SteadyShot Active Mode and zoom features are awesome. Good for beginners and intermediate users....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good camcorder but could be better, 20 May 2013
By 
Mr. T. S. James (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony CX280 Full HD Handycam - Black (27x Zoom) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've been a user of Sony camcorders for a few years now and use them for vlogging and other activities, I generally opt for the entry level models as they now shoot full HD video and generally do a pretty good job for what I need.

The Sony CX280 is pretty similar to my last Sony both in looks and features. It's well built and feels solid, unlike other brands of camcorders I've tried which feel light, plasticy and cheap. It has all the features most people could want such as a wide angle lens, image stabilisation, decent zoom, good low light shooting and it captures full HD video at 50p if you need it. Using the camcorder is relatively easy and I like the way the menus are laid out and every is easy to find and operate, coming from a previous Sony model it was virtually identical so was easy to use straight out of the box. The video it captures is great for most people and the 1080P footage I've been getting looks brilliant, I've been able to import and edit it in Final Cut Pro X on the Mac without any issues. Most of my shooting is done indoors and with the various options built into the camcorder I'm able to get a nice bright, clear image. Battery life is about average and what I would expect from the included battery, although you can buy batteries with a larger capacity if needed.

There are two areas that let me down slightly with this camera, one is the wide angle lens, whilst fine for most things and for most people I couldn't help but need it a little wider. I tried a Panasonic several months back and the entry level model I tested had a wider lens than the Sony and something I appreciated. The second issue is with the flip out screen, in my older entry level Sony it had a 3 inch touch screen, with the newer models they seem to have opted for a 2.7 inch screen with controls for navigating the menus. Small issues I know but the screen was an issue for me having gotten so used to a larger touch screen on my two year old entry level model. I don't know why they've opted to downgrade this part of the camera, to keep costs down I would assume.

A great camera overall and ideal for most people's needs if you need a point and shoot camcorder that captures great full HD video in any situation. It doesn't cost the earth and for an entry level camcorder it has a lot of features that many will find useful. 4 stars from me due to the above mentioned issues, but if Sony could go back to a larger touch screen on their entry level models then I'd give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SONY CX280 FULL HD HANDYCAM, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CX280 Full HD Handycam - Black (27x Zoom) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This device produces excellent quality pictures in true "HD" and is relatively easy to operate in the field. With a 32mb card you can get 2 hours or so of recording. The HD pictures can be played back on a TV using the "HMD" input and will not disappoint.
However there are some issues I should like to point out ;
(i) The battery supplied does not have a great life span on one charge and you will need to upgrade to a higher capacity one.
(ii) The printed guide supplied is a joke and the one I got seemed to relate to some other model which had a touch screen (not present on the CX280 !) Why is it that so many guides are rubbish these days ?
(iii) Given the lack of info in the printed guide, I had to find out by trial and error how to operate the menu. In "Playback" you have to access the options via the usual OK button surrounded by 4 direction buttons. However, these buttons are so sensitive the slightest "over-pressure" causes the cursor to jump several place, so you need a light touch. In addition the cursor seems to move in the opposite direction I would expect, so that the "TOP" button makes the cursor move down and the bottom button moves it up and the right and left ones also work in the opposite way you would expect.
(iv) The first time I used the recorder I had several clips from a couple of dates I wished to play back and it took me ages to work out how to select the correct clip mainly by trial and error as, once again the handbook proved irrelevant to my model and utterly useless !!
(v) Do not expect to be able to RECORD in HD to a DVD disc using a DVD recorder. This is not possible with any device as conventional discs do not have the capacity for HD recordings. Given this, why don't Sony provide a lead to connect to a DVD Recorder with the conventional Red/Black/Yellow input plugs, so that one can record video (Albeit not in HD but in the next acceptable format ?) Again I had to buy one of these in addition to the higher capacity battery. Incidentally if you wish to continue to play your HD clips through your TV the only conceivable way seems to be to retain what you have recorded on the memory card and, when that is full, get a new blank- expensive as this may be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews