Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent starter camera
An excellent starter camera which you can just point and shoot without having to worry too much without getting to grips with a complicated piece of kit. The camera's automatic features will do everything for you, though there are plenty of features you can play around with if you want to for custom effects (I'm a point and shoot type of photographer however). You can...
Published 23 months ago by Jayne

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok as a starter camera but rather sluggish
I'm keen on photography, so would usually choose a camera which allows a bit more in the way of user control, but I was keen to try out this starter "point and shoot" model from Sony. First impressions out of the box were that it is quite small. Slightly larger than my old digital Canon Ixus, but not much. However, unlike the Ixus, the body is predominantly made of...
Published 22 months ago by EllyBlue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent starter camera, 26 Mar. 2013
By 
Jayne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An excellent starter camera which you can just point and shoot without having to worry too much without getting to grips with a complicated piece of kit. The camera's automatic features will do everything for you, though there are plenty of features you can play around with if you want to for custom effects (I'm a point and shoot type of photographer however). You can also take videos.

You'll need to buy a memory card to go with the camera, but it comes with everything else you'll need (like wrist strap, batter, socket charger and a USB lead to connect it to a computer).

All in all, I'm very happy with this camera, which is easy to use and good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good budget camera, 28 Mar. 2013
By 
MyKeyReviews (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
♦ Brief ♦

The W710 is more towards the budget range of Sony's cameras; with less features in the cameras software as well as externally than some of the higher models, I have to say I was a bit worried I may be a bit judgemental towards it, but you should never judge a book by it's cover because this camera certainly proved me wrong, especially for the price it's available for.

The camera itself does feel a little 'cheap', however it's not only lightweight(98g), but it's also very compact too, so those with smaller pockets or bags will certainly be happy!

♦ Box Contents & Recommended items ♦

In the box: W710 camera | Battery (NP-BN) | USB - USB-A/V cable | AC adapter | Wrist Strap | Manual.

Recommended extras: Transcend 16GB SDHC Class 10 Memory Card (Many different brands & capacities available, though I would recommend sticking with a class 10 & go no lower than 8GB).

Optional Items: Soft Carry Case for W/T Series | Sock Style Case | Spare Battery.

♦ Using the Camera ♦

To the far right from the LCD screen, you have a little slider which allows you to switch between the 'Picture', 'Sweep Panorama' & 'Movie' modes.

- Picture Mode -

The default setting when using this for the first time is 'Intelligent Auto'(iA), this mode will try to understand the type of photographic situation your in (Landscape, night, macro etc..) and will adjust the settings automatically, allowing you to take pictures with great results (most of the time) whilst not having to worry about sieving through the settings.

By clicking the 'Menu' button at the bottom will allow you to select other modes:

* 'Program Auto' ("Auto exposure with adjustable settings").

* 'Picture Effect' gives you a choice of four different effects; 'Toy Camera', 'Pop Colour', 'Partial Colour' (My favourite mode! You have to go back into the menu to select which colour you want to single out in photos), & 'Soft High-Key'. The choice is quite limited and it's a shame they've not included some others which are available on the higher models (The WX200 has 9 effects!).

* 'Scene Selection' gives you a choice of 10 different pre-set modes to assist you in different scenarios such as landscapes, low light, beach, snow and even to give people a softer looking skin.

On most of the modes/settings mentioned above, you can actually track certain objects for the camera to focus on by clicking the middle button, hovering the square block over the item you want it to track and then press the button again. This feature isn't full-proof, so if your in a poorly lit area or the object isn't so obvious, the camera may struggle to track it, but in most cases it makes it easier to focus on the subject you want to focus on, whilst adjusting the angle of the camera.

- Sweep Panorama -

A fantastic mode which I'm sure is on most if not all Sony cameras these days, it allows you to effortlessly create panoramic images by simply sweeping the camera from left to right.

The results are normally very impressive, though it may take a few attempts to get used to this feature.

- Movie Mode -

When in this mode, simple press the shutter down to start/stop recording. You can also toggle the video settings via the menu button to adjust the video quality, brightness & white balance.

♦ Quality ♦

Most of the time the W710 is able to take some nice clear shots, especially in daylight and I was pleased to find out that this camera is able to focus alot closer than the 10cm limit that's stated in the manual (focus distance can vary depending on the lighting conditions).

This camera isn't too bad with indoor shots either, I would suggest sticking with either the 'Intelligent Auto' or 'ISO' mode to get the best results.

Considering the camera records in 720p rather than in full HD, the results are perfectly good for clips of events such as birthdays or shenanigans with friends, and the sound is good also.

Though the camera does have it's up, there are a few negative points I would like to to point out:

* Whilst the camera does have software to help against a little bit of shaky hand, it doesn't have optical stabilization, so if you have bad hand shake problems or are on a bumpy journey, there is a high chance of blurry images.
* Low lighting conditions outside, even when using the 'Night Scene' mode is... hmm, not so good.
* No sport mode in the scene selection, which means this camera isn't suitable for fast moving subjects.
* Zoom is located on the back of the camera as a button rather than a slider by the shutter.
* The camera can be slow to focus on subjects.
* Battery flap could be made more sturdy when open.
* The LCD screen sometimes flickers in certain lighting conditions when trying to take a photo (though the picture quality isn't effected).

♦ Overall Opinion ♦

It's definitely not the best camera on the market, however if you're wanting a small & lightweight camera that's able to take some good snap-shots and is available for decent price, then this camera is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok as a starter camera but rather sluggish, 10 May 2013
By 
EllyBlue (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm keen on photography, so would usually choose a camera which allows a bit more in the way of user control, but I was keen to try out this starter "point and shoot" model from Sony. First impressions out of the box were that it is quite small. Slightly larger than my old digital Canon Ixus, but not much. However, unlike the Ixus, the body is predominantly made of plastic rather than the more quality feel of a metal case, and it is clear that this camera is aimed at the cheaper end of the market. Included in the box is the charging cable, battery and wrist strap as well as the camera itself. As you'd expect for this sort of camera, there is a fully automatic mode as well as a Program Mode, some special effects modes (such as Toy Camera) as well as a range of scene modes, such as ones for smoothing out skin tone, portrait, pets, and even food shots. As is becoming standard now, there is a smile detection function to maximise your chances of getting a decent (and happy) shot of a person. Some of this I find rather gimmicky, and after an initial play around am not sure I would want to be bothered with most of this. One function of some interest though is the sweep panorama mode which enables you to take quite good panoramic shots simply by moving the camera round. There is also the option to record HD video (although only 720p). There is a 5 times optical zoom which seems to have about 10 different positions between wide and telephoto, and image stabilisation which seems fine but you don't really need it with a 5 times zoon.
All the controls are via the traditional control buttons that you will be very familiar with if you've had a digital camera over the last few years. Perhaps you wouldn't expect it on a camera of this price, but I was a bit disappointed that there was no touch screen. However, more than this I was put off by how sluggish this camera was both to capture the shot in the first place and also to record images between shots. On a day to day basis, taking a lot of photos, I would find this extremely annoying.
This camera would be a great introduction to digital photography, although if you're already familiar with digital cameras and looking to extend yourself a bit, this one may not be the one for you. My smartphone takes pictures that are nearly as good, and it does so more quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LITTLE DISAPPOINTING, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCW710 Digital Compact Camera - Black (16MP, 5x Zoom) (Electronics)
Everything was fine apart from the parts missing that you would expect to be present when buying a camera. I've bought about 40 of these over the last few years for my workplace and they've always been totally complete. By this I mean, complete with a small charging station for the battery and a memory card, albeit a small one. It did, however, take a few photos to get you going. Just think if I'd issued this to an officer going out on their duties and they come across something that needed a photo taking for proof if going to court? Click and nothing! To me it's a standard part of the camera and found it quite unbelievable it wasn't in the box.

Communication was quick and understanding. They're quite good little cameras so I will no doubt buy one again but you just need to know that you will need to purchase a memory card separately at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCW710 Digital Compact Camera - Black (16MP, 5x Zoom) (Electronics)
Great camera. Bought to replace a larger camera which became a hassle to take on holiday. This fits into a pocket and produces pictures just as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon were great with this, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCW710 Digital Compact Camera - Black (16MP, 5x Zoom) (Electronics)
Bought this for my son, trusting the Sony name. So wish I hadn't as it is an apalling camera which was sent for repair and eventually refund: Amazon were great with this. The battery kept cutting out after 10 seconds and would have to be removed and reinserted for it to work: very annoying after a while!
Some photos were good, but it often took so long to recover from taking a picture that another opportunity was missed.
Won't buy cheap sony again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only 4stars, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCW710 Digital Compact Camera - Black (16MP, 5x Zoom) (Electronics)
The only reason I am giving it 4stars is because I have had one of these before.i 've had it for a few years and the new one doesn't seem to be as well built .the previous one got left at Ferrari Museum in Modena Italy and got posted back in a Jiffy bag and survived fine ,I don't think this one would.However that apart I have used it on a number of occasions in different environments and have some good results although it does seem to be a little slower to process the picture though this could be the memory card.A great little camera to pop into your pocket and take with you everywhere you go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super!!, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCW710 Digital Compact Camera - Black (16MP, 5x Zoom) (Electronics)
This camera it great, especially in terms of price-quality, good clear photos, not professional ones, but good for persons who sometimes take blurry and unsteady photos. Comes with a UK plug, not a EU one. Battery life is medium, friendly camera for family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great cam, 3 Mar. 2014
By 
G J Deas "GJD" (Northamptonshire. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
although a good camera I decided on the DSCW 180 as a superior camera not only for the additional pixels but the better USB connection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the same-why?, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCW710 Digital Compact Camera - Black (16MP, 5x Zoom) (Electronics)
Had already bought this model from a local camera shop so was alreadt familiar with the product. The one supplied was the same model but the"feel and use" we just not the same and I don't know why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews