Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sony H200 ooked the part and for ninety odd quid sounded a good deal. I've had the camera for a day ...
I lost my canon powershot which I iked very much. I discovered that the camera I had paid fifty quid for just last year now cost a hundred pounds more. I wasn't prepared to pay the extra but wanted something to take decent shots. The Sony H200 ooked the part and for ninety odd quid sounded a good deal.
I've had the camera for a day and so my intial feeings may...
Published 9 months ago by Jack Ladde

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sony H200 Bridge Camera
Nice camera, but ignore description of battery type. It is AA batteries, not lithium as advertised. Ok for the money though !!!!
Published 23 months ago by Richard Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sony H200 ooked the part and for ninety odd quid sounded a good deal. I've had the camera for a day ..., 29 July 2014
This review is from: Sony H200 Bridge Camera (20.1MP with Optical Stabilization, 26x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
I lost my canon powershot which I iked very much. I discovered that the camera I had paid fifty quid for just last year now cost a hundred pounds more. I wasn't prepared to pay the extra but wanted something to take decent shots. The Sony H200 ooked the part and for ninety odd quid sounded a good deal.
I've had the camera for a day and so my intial feeings may change over time, but here's my response so far. The camera fees very substantia - there's no doubt you've got a real camera here and not just a point and shoot. I've taked a few portrait shots of my famiy, a few of flowers etc and my impressions are very favourabe. The depth of image and coour is superb. The ability to enarge for close ups is astonishing - as odd as it sounds the photos this camera takes are more detaied than you wil ever see naturay witht he huiman eye. The tele-photo lens is quite astonishing. I took a picture of a flower and when I enarged it we coud see the polen on the peta and even the shadow cast by the tiny particles of pollen.
This isn't a camera you coud casually wear round your waist to the bar or beach, it is a itte too bulky for that, but the price you pay for size you get back in buckets in the quaity of photographs you can take.
The small users booklet that now comes with it is adequate for understanding the basic switches and settings and it's clear there's ots of exporing to be done with the shutter speeds etc if you want to move on from the automatiuc approach.
I'm very happy I bought this camera, it's a rwla step up from my previous equipment but stil fees very user friendy. I used to have an SR before digita came along and this reminds me very much of that camera.
The ony real gripe I have is the lens cap which doesn't feel very secure at all and is easiy knocked off. I'm goinf to ook into a repacement as soon as i can. Still giving it five stars though as it fees ike a great addition to my grown up toys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a sony masterpiece, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony H200 Bridge Camera (20.1MP with Optical Stabilization, 26x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
i purchased this camera to replace an excellent but limited capability casio exilim compact,so the sony has got a bit to live up to, i purchased with confidence via amazon from GREAT WESTERN CAMERAS,and the delivery was reasonably quick and hassle free. i have now got some uniross 2600 batteries and a sandisk extreme 16gb card,though to be fair the standard batteries supplied dont seem to be giving up the ghost all that quickly. after having a bridge camera a few years ago (fuji finepix s700) the sony immediately impresses in carrying/handling as it is a lymuch less intrusive design,it also is far more comfortable to use and handle. now to the picture quality, a lot of "experts" have questioned the use of ccd vs cmos and favour the latter,this camera has ccd,but i can assure you the images are pin sharp with great definition suggesting that this ccd is probably a far more advanced design. other good features are a good range of intelligent settings that are pretty easy to work out,unless you have the intellect of a retarded chimp, a handy zoom capability,and once you focus on the shot a great picture is usually the result. i tend to use the "intelligent auto" mainly for time reasons(less time fiddling and risking losing the shot),but i am gaining in confidence already after just a couple of hours use,and trying a few of the onboard "tricks" like the panoramic function,it is that kind of camera in that you feel encouraged to explore new things with it.downsides? well no product is perfect,but the only real gripes i can include are the paper manual is hardly a mine of information,so its just as well the controls are fairly easy to understand,and i would suggest to sony that in the future it may be an idea to use a lio-n type of rechargeable,rather than aa types(yes i know the argument about greater availability of aa types),but anybody with half a brain would carry at least ONE back up lio-n unit carged up and ready,even in a remote location, however the gripes are small,and in no way detract from what is an excellent camera. i have no hesitation in giving it my recommendation.Sony H200 Bridge Camera (20MP with Optical Stabilization, 26x Optical Zoom)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sony H200 Bridge Camera, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony H200 Bridge Camera (20.1MP with Optical Stabilization, 26x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
Nice camera, but ignore description of battery type. It is AA batteries, not lithium as advertised. Ok for the money though !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sony camera, 16 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony H200 Bridge Camera (20.1MP with Optical Stabilization, 26x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
I was told to get a bridge camera as im a beginner. bought my son a sony cybershot camera a few years ago and the pictures were good quality. logical that I would get a sony camera. brilliant. recommend it to anyone looking at buying one. easy to use, zoom is great. only draw back is that it uses batteries and does not have a rechargeable battery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 74 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Value For Money - But Not Perfect, 18 April 2013
By 
North of England Way (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sony H200 Bridge Camera (20.1MP with Optical Stabilization, 26x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Like many cameras of this type, this one looks the part - much like an SLR. But it is important to remember that you get what you pay for with digital cameras.
A good solid body offers the stability of an SLR, however, this lacks most of the functionality that you get from a high-end camera, as well as the quality of image.
There is no manual zoom or focus, so whilst this camera offers a bigger range of features, it is still very limited.

One big disappointment was that this actually takes AA batteries, whilst the description (when I got this) states 'Lithium' - don't be deceived. This is a non-rechargable model.

Another issue for me is the lens. The Pentax cameras at this price range come with a Leica lens, which is excellent quality. However, this has a standard Sony lens - not a patch on their Carl Zeiss range.
This does affect the quality of the image, focus, depth of field, and much more. Look out for the better quality Carl Zeiss lens when buying Sony.

Criticism aside, there are many positives about this camera. The zoom is fantastic (if a little slow as it is motorised), and body is solid and robust. The screen is superb quality, and the pictures quality is actually pretty good, lens aside. The images produced are very big, and very easy to get printed on canvas or large poster print sizes.

Pros
-Good Price
-High Image Size (20.1 MP)
-Great Zoom
-Solid Build
-Comes with lens cap

Cons
-Runs on AA Batteries
-Poor Lens

I'm a big fan of Sony cameras, but it is worth paying a little more for a better lens, and a rechargeable battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing camera. Got some amazing quality pictures, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Sony H200 Bridge Camera (20.1MP with Optical Stabilization, 26x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
Amazing camera. Got some amazing quality pictures. Really easy to use. Very very happy with this, couldn't live without it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice to hold with a good grip, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony H200 Bridge Camera (20.1MP with Optical Stabilization, 26x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
Really lovely camera, nice to hold with a good grip. The LCD screen is clear and concise,but takes fingerprints well, and there are plenty of settings to play with. I bought this camera with the idea of seeing if I enjoyed enough to get a DSLR, and having some semi- manual setting i.e. aperture/shutter control its a good starter. This will be a good camera for going on holiday as it is small enough to be transported easily and will not give you a neck ache. All in all nice little camera. My only niggle is that the manual which comes with the camera is quite basic, also being a novice the information on which SD cards was confusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 14 April 2013
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony H200 Bridge Camera (20.1MP with Optical Stabilization, 26x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For around £150, a Sony bridge camera seemingly represents good value although something has to give at this price and it does here unfortunately. For me the main drawback is the screen, which is quite poor particularly when trying to read text in the inbuilt guide even in high res. The inbuilt guide is not really a guide to this camera anyway, just a generic FYI describing camera functions but not necessarily how to access them. With the poor paper guide provided this hardly endears you to this item.

Gripes aside, this is a functional but not flashy or well featured bit of kit. Build quality is good although loading the 4 x AA batteries does greatly add to the weight and unbalance the camera so make sure to fix the smart Sony strap out of the box. The buttons are all in the right place and the menus generally self-explanatory if not particularly attractive on that rear screen.

The 26x zoom is impressive although focussing takes a second or two at max. Image quality is adequate but not breathtaking and sometimes over exposed. I have used Sony compacts in the £200 price range that produce better results but lack only the optical zoom. Post editing beauty features such as teeth whitening and skin smoothing can give you an instant face-lift before posting to the world on Facebook and are a nice touch though. Partial colour and panorama and other effects allow you to express your creativity fairly easily and effectively but are available on most Sony cameras these days.

Overall, this is a bridge on a budget and it shows but it is not daunting to use and if a large zoom is your priority then it is worth considering. If you have the funds though I would choose the excellent HX200v over this any day or for thirty or so pounds more then possibly the compact HX10. Both are cameras I have enjoyed using far more and with much better results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent camera, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony H200 Bridge Camera (20.1MP with Optical Stabilization, 26x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
Excellent camera best I've ever owned , recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic quality pictures, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony H200 Bridge Camera (20.1MP with Optical Stabilization, 26x Optical Zoom) (Electronics)
Fantastic camera for a fantastic price. Very easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews