Customer Reviews


313 Reviews
5 star:
 (264)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plug and Play - Easily handles MULTIPLE Blu-Ray HD streams
First off, this is an awesome product, totally plug and play with absolutely no configuration required whatsoever. Simply plug in your cables and off you go - it automatically detects whichever port has the connection from the router and the which one is connected to your computer or other devices, you don't have to do anything.

I use mine to connect an AV...
Published 10 months ago by The Archer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fine when it works.
Item was delivered on September 1st 2013, it is now Jan 11th 2014.

In the last 2 or 3 weeks this switch has started crashing quite frequently requiring a reboot to bring back the network, I am pretty disappointed considering the switch is only a few months old! I have 10/100 speed switches that are over 10 years old and are working fine, they are just to slow...
Published 11 months ago by Tracy


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plug and Play - Easily handles MULTIPLE Blu-Ray HD streams, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off, this is an awesome product, totally plug and play with absolutely no configuration required whatsoever. Simply plug in your cables and off you go - it automatically detects whichever port has the connection from the router and the which one is connected to your computer or other devices, you don't have to do anything.

I use mine to connect an AV receiver, Smart TV, Sky HD box and HTPC to my home network. I simply plug in the various devices to this switch and then run cable between it and my main router. Everything connected and configured automatically as soon as it was plugged in.

For a stress test I streamed HD content to the Sky box over the internet, over the Smart TV and over the HTPC. I also sent two Blu-Ray rips from my NAS to the HTPC, each one averaging roughly 25 mbps. All the streams worked perfectly and the switch only got very slightly warm to the touch.

A final good point - the power cable and the ethernet ports are on the SAME side of the device. Many switches have these on opposite sides with is a pain for cable management.

One ANNOYING point -

The older version of this switch would adjust the colour of the LED lights on the front to indicate the speed of the connection over that port. That is, if you had a 100mbps device it would turn orange whilst a 1000mbps device would turn the indicator green. This is quite handy for quickly checking the network is operating as fast as it should.

This particular switch seems to simply stay green, despite the speed of the connection. I've tested it with several confirmed 100mbps devices and a green light is all you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Netgear Switches Just Work!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear GS308-100UKS 8 Port Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch (Accessory)
I've had two 8 port Netgear 10/100/1000 switches running 24hrs a day for the last 8 years. Had to replace a PSU about two years ago, otherwise quietly faultless and fast.
This latest incarnation does what it says on the tin for about £20 less. Doesn't have as many lights, doesn't run as hot... It just works! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Gigabit Upgrade - Plug It and Forget It!, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Number13 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has to be the easiest, best value upgrade ever for a home network. No configuration, no `correct' broadband port, no setup. I just plugged my networked devices into any of the 8 ports and they communicated instantly. That includes desktops, laptop, a hardware firewall and a broadband modem beyond it. Each PC immediately `found' each other AND the broadband through the firewall with no IP address changes required.

Obviously the switch is much faster than any broadband you can get, so the network speed really shows for file transfers within your own network. Across a 30m long Cat 5e cable I got 350-400 Mbps and that's with an old PC at one end. I'd expect still better speeds with Cat 6 cables and the latest hardware connected.

The switch is very compact and neat, all the Ethernet sockets and power socket at the rear as they should be with green power and connection LEDs along the front. The LEDs flicker to show data transfer but they DON'T indicate the speed of each connection (100/1000 Mbps) by a colour change, so you may need to check your other hardware and cables to make sure you're getting gigabit speed where you should. I found a network surge protector that was dropping a connection to 100 Mbps level, but I had to look at the PC to find this. And check you don't still have any old Cat 5 (pre - 5e) cables in your network or you won't get high speeds.

The unit only gets slightly warm when busy, it says 3.64W is the maximum power and it meets the IEEE standard for energy efficiency. This cool running means there's no need for vent slots which is good if you want to put it in the sort of dusty places routers and switches often end up in - but it's small and neat enough to stay out on the desk or among your AV boxes.

UPDATE: 8 months later, still working perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear GS308-100UKS 8 Port Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch (Accessory)
I am a network engineer and have always been impressed by the netgear products and these gigabit switches are a favourite of mine, I carry several about when working and they always come in handy when needing to put something temporary together or bypass some other units. The performance is excellent and I cant honestly find any fault with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect unmanaged desktop switch, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear GS308-100UKS 8 Port Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch (Accessory)
+ Really solid construction - all metal enclosure
+ Supports 802.3ab (gigabit ethernet) and 802.3az (energy efficient ethernet)
+ Runs really cool and is silent (no fans)
+ 12V 1A DC Power Supply
+ Very small and looks smart
+ Plug-and-play (unmanaged switches don't require any setup)
+ Reliable (it's been running for 11 months without a restart)

I've been using this switch for about 11 months for my PC, laptop, WiFi access point, Raspberry Pi and Beaglebone Black, and I've never noticed any problems whatsoever. I chose it over similar products from D-Link and TP-Link because its metal enclosure ensures good heat dissipation. Considering getting another to hook up my AV system to my home network.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good bit of kit, does what it should, and under load doesn't appear to have any issues., 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simple to plug and play bit of kit. Don't forget the cables though. Cat 5e or 6 is needed for Gigabit ethernet.

Don't use with lower spec cables or you are just asking for trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fine when it works., 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Item was delivered on September 1st 2013, it is now Jan 11th 2014.

In the last 2 or 3 weeks this switch has started crashing quite frequently requiring a reboot to bring back the network, I am pretty disappointed considering the switch is only a few months old! I have 10/100 speed switches that are over 10 years old and are working fine, they are just to slow for modern equipment so there is no reason for a switch to fail this fast.

Unfortunately for me this product has began acting up out of the Amazon return window, meaning that I am going have to mess around and send the RMA directly to Netgear.

Cons:
Switch is not very reliable.

Pros:
Reasonably cheap
The "inline power switch" on the power cable comes in handy for the required reboots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice kit, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tiny, discrete, low energy use, no ping / latency issues. This switch turned out to be an ideal choice for linking the 4 AV boxes in our lounge to the router upstairs. A Cat 5 copper wire link has proved to be much more reliable than WiFi or powerline when stressed by data loading. Such is life in a modern home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kept giving problems so had to replace it, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only given this 1 star because after 3 months it kept giving me obscure faults on my home network when accessing the internet. I blamed my ISP (talktalk) for the problems when it was this switch that was the problem. Eventually I replaced it with a Netgear GS108 8-port Gigabit Ethernet Unmanaged Switch, and this has worked perfectly ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good solid performance, 28 July 2013
By 
N. H. Boot - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear GS308-100UKS 8 Port Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000 Mbps Switch (Accessory)
Unlike much of the plastic office IT kit you get today, Netgear continue with the true "built-Like a tank" methodology of IT kit. this will give years of service; I need extra network sockets when I went wired following the continued intermittent operation of my wireless router, which is from BT by the way - (Nice BT ads, but that's about it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews