Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doobies are still rocking!
This is the Doobie Brothers first "proper" DVD and it's exceptionally well produced, with several nice little extra features. For example, on some songs you can jump to a small interview about the song, then it'll jump back to the concert. Having seen the exact same live show 3 days after this concert was recorded, I know that they thoroughly enjoyed performing this...
Published on 31 Dec 2004 by B. H. Brown

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars real rock
good songs from a band that have years of making good music and made good moments..., a journey into to the real rock
Published 9 months ago by Josť Polainas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doobies are still rocking!, 31 Dec 2004
By 
B. H. Brown "BHB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the Doobie Brothers first "proper" DVD and it's exceptionally well produced, with several nice little extra features. For example, on some songs you can jump to a small interview about the song, then it'll jump back to the concert. Having seen the exact same live show 3 days after this concert was recorded, I know that they thoroughly enjoyed performing this extended set, with the seldom-heard acoustic songs well-placed between the openers and the old faithful finale songs. These guys are excellent live performers, grossly under-rated especially outside the USA. Buy this DVD, it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars doobies full of life back from the grave, 24 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. Raymond Saint "cabaray" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first saw the Doobie Brothers live at the Free Trade Hall in Manchester back in the 70s and was impressed by their musicianship and their ability to produce excellent songs this present day concert met all my expectations and if anything like some of the older bands still performing I believe they have improved with age. I have just read a review that gave this concert 1 star , this person must be from some other planet as I found the whole concert a very pleasurable experience and have no hesitation in awarding 5 stars.A must for anyone liking good 70s style melodical rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT...., 10 July 2009
By 
Mr. C. E. Campbell ""WAHWAH"" (LIVERPOOL,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok i might be biased here but who cares.. This is probably the only way i will get to see these guys outside of America and thank god for dvds.. The band rocks throughout this concert and its a gem in its own right.. The variation of musicmanship is exceptional, i defy anyone to tell me who else can interchange music styles like the Doobies.. Its all here from bluegrass, blues n rock and some great melodies.. A must buy if you are into them, buy with confidence..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great band, 31 May 2009
By 
Scubaboy "sydwal" (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Saw them when I was living in Sydney back in 1994 and they were still a great band. This DVD is filmed 10 years after that and there is no sign of their musicianship waning. Tom Johnston looks fit as a fiddle and the band are VERY tight. Pat Symmonds looks a little worse for wear but there's certainly nothing wrong with his performance.

A bit heavy on the country songs for my taste at times and they overdo the sax solos a bit hence the loss of a star but all in all a great snapshot of classic Doobies - very few songs from the Michael Macdonald era and that's fine by me.

The package is entertaining with good interviews and some extras, but obviously it's the show itself that's the main draw. Reasonably priced and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doobie Brothers Live from Wolf Trap, 8 Oct 2011
Although a fan since the 'Captain and Me' in the early 70s, I realised that I hadn't ever seen any recordings of the band actually playing; hence the purchase of this DVD. It is a delight; Simmons, Johnston and McFee perform with style, charm and seeming ease and the quality of musicianship is top drawer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 2 Nov 2010
I stick this DVD on whenever I am feeling a bit down and the great music and warmth of the band just brings me up again. 40 years from their conception and the Doobies continue to bring joyous music and superb musicianship to their fans. This concert is from 2004 and sees the band playing a great selection of their old hits, plus some tracks from the brilliant Sibling Rivalry album. After seeing this concert footage I wondered if I would ever get to see the guys live and I have recently had the privilege of seeing the band in Manchester and it was a very similar line up and set to the DVD - magical. Plus I had the bonus of having a drink with the superb Doobies sax player, Mark Russo, in the pub next door after the gig.

If you have been thinking of buying this DVD, hesitate no more. Get well soon Skylark!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doobies Live, 30 Oct 2005
I hadn`t to be honest taken too much notice of this band in recent times and whilst I always enjoyed "Listen to the music" over the years I saw by chance whilst in Holland the DVD Live at Wolftrap and bought it.I played it 2 or 3 times and began to get into it and did not realise how talented these musicians are without having to perform with the fancy costumes etc. it was pure good music, good vocals, great sax player, keyboards,finger picking, great entertainment. 5*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Concert, you wouldn't miss McDonald at all, this right on form for the band., 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Wolf Trap [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This Concert came as a pleasant surprise. I hadn't seen the Doobie Bros. for many ears and was very pleased to see and more importantly hear that they still have their magic. Picture and sound crisp as ever on Bluray. All the tracks are grea t and show off their virtuoso skills. This is worth a look wether you are a fan or not, truly a great performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good concert, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Robert W. Taylor "bob t" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Wolf Trap [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A good concert and very good quality recording. Lacks a little of the Doobie magic for me.
Guess i am more used to listening to them than watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars real rock, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Wolf Trap [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
good songs from a band that have years of making good music and made good moments..., a journey into to the real rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At Wolf Trap [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
Live At Wolf Trap [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by The Doobie Brothers (Blu-ray - 2013)
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews