Customer Reviews


394 Reviews
5 star:
 (142)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (66)
2 star:
 (51)
1 star:
 (57)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War games
A movie adaptation of an award winning science fiction novel from the 1980's Ender's Game (Ender Saga) Ender's game is a near future story in which the human race is still recovering from a war with an insectoid race. Who came very close to destroying humanity but who were just beaten off, thanks not least to the actions of one brave individual.

Knowing that...
Published 8 months ago by Paul Tapner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm - difficult one for whilst the storyline was excellent and the film was well directed and acted it ...
Mmmm - difficult one for whilst the storyline was excellent and the film was well directed and acted it just wasn't engaging enough for me and once all of that CGI kicked in I found myself getting quite bored, the fact I couldn't really understand what some of the training was about didn't help. It came across to me as a children;'s ski-fi adventure (which it was) and...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. S. P. Walshe


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War games, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
A movie adaptation of an award winning science fiction novel from the 1980's Ender's Game (Ender Saga) Ender's game is a near future story in which the human race is still recovering from a war with an insectoid race. Who came very close to destroying humanity but who were just beaten off, thanks not least to the actions of one brave individual.

Knowing that the aliens could well be back one day, humanity is preparing to fight them again when the time comes to pass. The best and brightest from all over the globe are given a chance at military service. Starting from a very early age. Just in case the next war winning hero is amongst these recruits.

Ender Wiggum [Asa Butterfield] is one of those smart kids who really doesn't fit in. But Colonel Graff [Harrison Ford] thinks he might just be what humanity is looking for. Recruited into the international fleet, Ender has a tough education ahead of him. And a lot to learn.

Not least, what people will do to survive and prosper...

Described as 'Harry Potter meets Star Wars' simply because a lot of takes place in a military school with various different houses who compete against each other in a sports game, this does have a couple of fight scenes that don't pull their punches in depicting brutality, and isn't really for anyone under twelve.

As a piece of science fiction, it's not bad. It creates a credible near future environment and society. It tells a solid character drama, with a few plot twists along the way. And it does what all good science fiction should do. Make the viewer think about the many moral issues that the story raises.

As a movie, it's not bad. Asa Butterfield delivers a very assured performance, carrying the entire film very well. Harrison Ford makes a decent gruff military man, and the rest of the cast are pretty good. As are the visuals, with plenty of zero gravity sports and cgi starship battles.

How it rates as an adaptation of the book is a matter of opinion. It's one of those adaptations that sticks to the central narrative and gets that in, and as much else as it possibly can. Certain sub plots are lost or truncated. Perhaps it's best described as being pretty faithful but somewhat watered down.

The film ends with set up for possible sequels. Which probably won't happen since it underperformed at the box office. But all in all it's a fairly decent bit of science fiction film, and worth 4/5.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English.

The dvd begins with several trailers, which can be skipped via the next button on the dvd remote.

Extras are:

A commentary from the writer/director.

A commentary from two of the producers.

Several deleted/extended scenes. Which can be watched individually or all in a row. If you do the latter they run for just under eleven minutes. They can be watched with or without a commentary from the writer/director which explains them and why they were cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Toned down from the book, but overall a job well done, 26 July 2014
This review is from: Ender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
I rather think this was as good as Hollywood could do with this one, particularly if aiming for this certificate (though Transformers made a 12, and with that language, I remain amazed, though it's otherwise suitable only for the under sixes). I always felt the book to be a rather adult book with kids in it, and this definitely moves more towards the kids than does the book.

However, it is a very entertaining movie. Most of the key themes from the book, including the final battle and aftermath are there, if toned down. The bullying and outsider themes that made such an impact on many of us are still there, and the effects all you could want. The battle room in particular is well-realised, though some sequences I'd have liked to see were missing.

Pretty much all of the cast and characterisation are fit for purpose, Ford and Kingsley reliable as ever, Asa Butterfield fine again, but I felt the sergeant was feeble- straight out of "The Sarah Jane Adventures" or that lost non-classic "Five Go To Boot Camp."

Still, overall, an enjoyable, perhaps languid, but never too slow, passable adaptation of a fine novel; one that will deserve another watch.

A job well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A downgraded, softer, watered down Andrew Ender Wiggin rises to meet his destiny..., 12 Nov 2013
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this film and I am glad that I watched it, although it is definitely significantly INFERIOR to the book. Below, more of my impressions, with very limited SPOILERS.

As probably everybody already knows, this sci-fi war film is situated in the future, years after a failed alien invasion of the Earth. Fearing that another, even deadlier invasion can take place, humanity created a powerful space fleet and trained hundreds and hundreds of thousands of soldiers and officers. But in order to lead this huge armed forces, it was decided that a new kind of generals and admirals was needed, one able to learn and adapt faster when faced by complex and always varying alien tactics of space fighting. This film tells the story of a very promising recruit, young Andrew Ender Wiggin, who may just be the future war leader of the whole humanity - if only he manages to survive the excruciatingly difficult, increasingly painful and sadistically cruel training in which complex war games play a great role...

We learn those things in the first minute of the film and about the rest I will say no more. Young Asa Butterfield who plays Ender is simply AMAZING, as good as he was in "Hugo". Harrison Ford and Ben Kingsley give a great show as his teachers, with Viola Davis and Nonso Anozie supporting them valiantly as respectively war academy main psychologist and the hulking drill sergeant. Young actresses Hailee Steinfeld and Abigail Breislin play also important roles, those of Petra, Ender's friend in academy and Valentine, Ender's older sister.

Now, this film is an adaptation of an archi-classic of Sci-Fi letters, written in 1985 by Orson Scott Card. The book "Ender's game" made quite a splash when first published and got all the yearly awards a SF book can get and it didn't age at all - in fact it is still a DARN GOOD READ. But I understand that it was not possible to make a big budget Hollywood adaptation without significant changes - and also it was probably not possible to ask the young actors to do on screen some of the things that are done in the book... For that reason, Ender from the film is a quite different character than the one from the book - he is softer, gentler, weaker, more vulnerable and lacks most of the ruthlessness described in the novel. Also, at the very end of the film, his actions are not motivated by pity and mercy as in the book but by guilt and remorse - and THAT is, I believe, the one change that was not necessary and it REALLY hurt this film.

For the needs of the film many of topics were also completely abandoned and the whole training was shortened, with especially the number of fascinating war games significantly reduced.

Still, I can not find it in my heart to take away one star from the rating, because notwithstanding all the changes, the director and the actors did a hell of a job and this film is a very pleasant watch! Excellent actors, great CGI, good action scenes, a tense and dramatic narration, very honest dialogs, all this makes "Ender's game" a good, solid Sci-Fi film - and there is not so much of them around. I warmly recommend to see it in the cinemas as long as it still play. I certainly will buy the DVD when it is available. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'WHEN THE GAMES ARE OVER THE YOUNG WILL SAVE THE EARTH' (GOOD-SC-FI), 11 Mar 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ender's Game [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
An earlier reviewer mentioned that the story had been watered down, sadly
that is very often the case, it all comes down to economics, reaching a wider
audience brings in more 'dollars'
However...
Fifty years has past since an alien force was forced to withdraw from it's invasion
of earth, this was thanks to the apparent sacrifice of one man.
Based on the assumption that the aliens will return 'earth' has been preparing
for the possibility, however finding a candidate to lead has proved difficult.
'Colonel Graff' (Harrison Ford) recruits young intelligent trainee's because it
is believed that their reactions are quicker and lack fear.
They will be trained by using simulators to gauge their ability to make decisions,
training proves a tough leveler for the young recruits, however, one, is showing
real potential, 'Ender Wiggin' he appears to have many attributes for the task
ahead, he is promoted, now leading his own team.
The team progress to advanced schooling, they will learn that games are not
always as they seem.
This an absorbing watch, perhaps a little like watching a hi-tech video game
with deadly consequences.
Terrific special effects throughout, superb visual enjoyment, picture and sound
quality superb.
Worth a spin.
Special Features -
* Audio commentary by director 'Gavin Hood'
* Audio commentary by producers 'Gigi Pritzker' and 'Bob Orci'
* Deleted / Extended scenes (with optional audio commentary by 'Gavin Hood' )
* Blu-ray exclusive:- 'Ender's World' - The making of 'Ender's Game'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm - difficult one for whilst the storyline was excellent and the film was well directed and acted it ..., 19 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. S. P. Walshe (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
Mmmm - difficult one for whilst the storyline was excellent and the film was well directed and acted it just wasn't engaging enough for me and once all of that CGI kicked in I found myself getting quite bored, the fact I couldn't really understand what some of the training was about didn't help. It came across to me as a children;'s ski-fi adventure (which it was) and lacked any real cutting edge ... don't get me wrong I wasn't expecting Alien or Blade Runner but aside from a few good moments I just found this film rather boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Action And Thought Provoking, 11 Mar 2014
This review is from: Ender's Game [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
In the far future, the Terran military are preparing for an assault on an alien race (the Formics) who had previously come to Earth and been driven off. The premise of the story is that only talented youngsters have the tactical ability and quick thinking to direct space combat. "Ender" is earmarked by Colonel Graff (Harrison Ford) for rapid development and promotion without regard for the consequences.

The first half of the film is quite slow and plays out as a kind of Hogwarts meets Starship Troopers Junior meets Hunger Games. The pace then builds to a tremendous climax with a twist that to be honest I did make before the on screen reveal, but nonetheless a jaw dropping moment, followed by a moving coda. It's one of those movies when the end credits roll that you reflect on who the bad guys actually were.

Good special effects with a sharp Blu-ray transfer and excellent sound too.

I was left wanting to know what happens next though sadly, at least according to Wikipedia, this was a one off adaptation of the series of books and there are no plans for a sequel.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring & Poorly Executed, 3 Nov 2014
This review is from: Ender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
I think I might have loved this IF I was 12 years old but much as I love sci-fi, I found it very boring. Why would the Colonel in charge of this kind of training be as old as Harrison Ford, the whole point is that it's a very young person's computer driven world so surely the Colonel would be no more than 30?
Amusing to see Ben Kingsley appearing, another one who must have a divorce to pay for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ender's Game, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ender's Game [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have not read the book, so I had no idea what the story was about and had nothing to compare it to. Had I read the book I would not have expected the film to be anything like it because they very rarely are. I watch a film to be entertained and to switch off from reality for a few moments of the day. I found it very entertaining and very watchable. I will be watching it again in the near future too. I watch a lot of films and I thought it was well above average. It was well produced with superb CGI. The acting was good and there was a nice twist in the tail at the end of the film. Overall I thought it was good enough for 5-stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aimed at "young adults" (I guess) looks like the producers assume our youth have low expectations, 6 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: Ender's Game (Blu-ray)
Disappointing & I have no clue about the ending. Aimed at "young adults" (I guess) looks like the producers assume our youth have low expectations. Starts ambitiously but quickly loses the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Give it a miss!, 29 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. Edward P. Johnson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw the cast, thought gotta be good - wrong! Silly story line, could maybe deal with that but it's TURGID, no pace, no flair, no surprises, basically; boring. Don't waste your cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ender's Game [Blu-ray]
Ender's Game [Blu-ray] by Gavin Hood (Blu-ray - 2014)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews