Customer Reviews


264 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Would have made a great miniseries.
It may still become a miniseries. At least they need to make "Speaker for the Dead" ; then we can see a better balanced rendition of what Orson Scott Card is trying to say to us.

As with many movies there is not enough time to portray or even imply what the book tells us. Tee best we can hope for is a good reflection and not let the movie change the story for...
Published 5 months ago by bernie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ender's Got No Game
This is a run of the mill sci-fi actioner for families, which suffers from a leaden pace and the absence of any formidable aliens. Earth uses genius children to marshall it's space forces against an alien foe called the Formics. You don't get to see the Formics until 1 hour, 40 minutes into the runtime, and the film ends 5 minutes later. There are lots of similarities...
Published 11 days ago by Bill Mason


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ender's Game, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ender's Game [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have not read the book, so I had no idea what the story was about and had nothing to compare it to. Had I read the book I would not have expected the film to be anything like it because they very rarely are. I watch a film to be entertained and to switch off from reality for a few moments of the day. I found it very entertaining and very watchable. I will be watching it again in the near future too. I watch a lot of films and I thought it was well above average. It was well produced with superb CGI. The acting was good and there was a nice twist in the tail at the end of the film. Overall I thought it was good enough for 5-stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Action And Thought Provoking, 11 Mar 2014
This review is from: Ender's Game [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
In the far future, the Terran military are preparing for an assault on an alien race (the Formics) who had previously come to Earth and been driven off. The premise of the story is that only talented youngsters have the tactical ability and quick thinking to direct space combat. "Ender" is earmarked by Colonel Graff (Harrison Ford) for rapid development and promotion without regard for the consequences.

The first half of the film is quite slow and plays out as a kind of Hogwarts meets Starship Troopers Junior meets Hunger Games. The pace then builds to a tremendous climax with a twist that to be honest I did make before the on screen reveal, but nonetheless a jaw dropping moment, followed by a moving coda. It's one of those movies when the end credits roll that you reflect on who the bad guys actually were.

Good special effects with a sharp Blu-ray transfer and excellent sound too.

I was left wanting to know what happens next though sadly, at least according to Wikipedia, this was a one off adaptation of the series of books and there are no plans for a sequel.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ender's Game [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Like all blu-rays when compared to watching the DVD version or an old video one watching this film is a clearer, more detailed experience and in many cases it's like looking at the film for the first time as the film stock used to transfer to Blu-Ray is usually "worked on" first to get as good a copy as possible.
My taste in films may not be the same as yours so if you want to know about this film I suggest that you use the internet to find 2 or 3 reviews by experienced film reviewers and make your judgment whether or not to buy this film.
I have watched over 600 films in my life and have a collection of over 200 Blu-Ray's and I rate this one 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Science fiction blockbuster, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Decent special effects fest. The plot moves things along OK, but the final twist is rather glossed over and the acting is predictably pretty wooden. My 14 year old son really enjoyed it however, and I thought it was watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enders game blu-Ray, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ender's Game [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Very good picture and sound ,but a poor script , will be passing this disc on to some one else , maybe they will enjoy the film more than me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ender's Game, 16 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Mark Plant "origamimark" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
Ben Kingsley and Harrison Ford must have been seriously hard up to go with this watered down version of Starship Troopers. An unnecessarily long movie with passable special effects, and fully expected outcome. Avoid this and make better use of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Zero G laser tag is fun, 16 Mar 2014
By 
M. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ender's Game [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The book is considered as a classic by many sci-fi fans, I enjoyed reading it too many years ago. I'll get the fact that this isn't a great adaptation of the book out of the way here at the beginning, it lacks the subtlety of the book and reveals too much too quickly. That being said the film is a fun watch in its own right, although not a classic.

The story concerns a failed alien invasion in the near future, the newly formed international command expects the aliens to return at any time so set up a program to gather the finest young minds and make them ready for the coming battle. Ender is one of the children in the program and is expected to become the one to lead the fleet against the alien and most of the film is about his preparation for the war.

There's a couple of big names in the film, namely Harrison Ford as the commander of the program and Ben Kingsley who comes in nearer the end. They're not stand out roles for either of them, although they get the job done. The same can be said for the rest of the cast, it's all ok, but nothing special.

The film does have its moments though, the zero G laser tag training looks like a lot of fun, I'd pay good money to give that a try. Ender's progression also provides some interest, although it's all a bit superficial. All in all it's a fun watch, but not very memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Inetesting Sci-Fi Film, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having not read the book, I can't review this comparing the film to the book; however I have been convinced to read the book related to this film.

In general I felt Ender's Game missed a lot of crucial moments, along with the fact that some major plot points were presented then forgot about for 30-45 minutes. The acting was great, especially from the younger actors, however I felt that to much was played into Ender's experiance with the other trainees in the battleschool, and then command school and so on - more emphasis should have been put into the morality of the war, the reasons behind it (and maybe some more scenes about the intial battles on Earth in the first invasion) as well as some more engaging tactical "simulations". I also noticed that the enemy fleet which was 28 days from invading Earth seemed to take varying amounts of time, which I found confusing and somewhat annoying.

The CGI in this film was great, as was the Zero-G manouvres scenes - the battle scenes, especially the first one, were also great. The final plot twist, where the final battle was real, I though was great, although I find hearing a squeaky voice when Ender gets emotional to be a bit annoying, but thats just oppinion.

All in all, I rated this film 3 stars as I found it entertaining, if not presented in a slapdash fashion with plot points sometimes almost forgotton about. The acting and CGI were great, and I found the film engaging, and Ender's Game has gotten me interested into buying the book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 80's Sci Fi revival, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
Earth has barley survived a war with an Alien insectoid race thanks to the bravery of one man, Mazer Rackham. Picking up 50 years on, in a more futuristic future where the united human military force have progressed further into space combat, they are now preparing for one final battle to decide the future of mankind. Through the training of potential young candidates they hope to find another hero to lead them to victory.

Ender's Game follows one such candidate, Ender Wiggin's (Asa Butterfield -Hugo) whose siblings failed the program due to his brothers extreme violence & sisters indecision flaws, yet, Ender has a perfect balance of both of their personalities. Ender goes through training with other candidates of various ages in a Hunger Games style battle of the fittest, including a Sci-Fi quidditch with laser pistols & classroom rocket science lessons. Ender himself is an extremely smart loner type with a tactical brilliance, always questioning authority. His abilities & leadership draw others to him naturally, and he uses they're strengths to fill the gaps in his own weaknesses.

They're isn't a lot of attention grabbing action throughout if that is what your expecting from this movie, it has it's moments with the training dome & heated arguments occasionally getting physical for the first hour. But it's certainly more about focusing on Ender, with little depth to the other characters, as he tries to overcome bullying & the added mental pressure asserted by a desperate Colonel Graff (Harrison Ford- Indiana Jones) to see if Ender is capable of being the hero they need. The final leg of the film is a series of very well presented CGI simulated battles, with Sci-Fi techno babble that just goes over your head. It's Ender's compassion & questioning about the Alien race's motives that set's up the predicament of the ending, which should had made for an emotional & heartfelt finale, but sadly it just didn't make you care enough. The acting was more than passable from the young adult stars & the adults, also co-stars Ben Kingsley (Hugo) & Viola Davis (The Help).

In conclusion, Enders Game is visually pleasing & intriguing upto a point, but doesn't do enough with it's dystopian premise to make it stand out from the crowd. Strength of the content is similar to the first few Harry Potter films. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's different, 15 Mar 2014
By 
R. S. Corbin "888" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
It has Harrison ford in it,and apart from that it is average. All the main characters are child actors who all play their parts well, but it is not a film for children, because it is nearly 2 hours long and does not have enough action to hold their attention. Basically earth has been invaded, and they are using kids to build an army to repel a future invasion. It is slightly different to anything else I've seen, but has long periods where it could of been cut out of the film.

It seems to be a film with two endings. It is just about worth a watch, but only as a rental. Their is no violence, bad language or sexual content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ender's Game [DVD]
Ender's Game [DVD] by Gavin Hood (DVD - 2014)
6.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews