Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly good
I should say up front that I haven't read the Mortal Instruments Books (although I have read other books by the same author) so I am judging the film as a film alone, not in comparison to the book.

I didn't really know what to expect, although I had heard some pretty sharp criticism of Jamie Campbell Bower's acting beforehand. As it happened, I love the...
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you have read the books.. you will be annoyed. If you haven't...it won't make sense.
It was a good film, not sure anyone who hasn't read the book would make heads nor tail of it. However the individuals who had read the book would be thoroughly pissed off.

Large gaps in the film, missing whole back stories and complete scenes altogether. Combining scenes where possible to make the film shorter, and then just adding lies to make it more...
Published 9 months ago by Rachel92


‹ Previous | 116 17 1853 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars mortal instruments ., 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best films I've seen for along time. Can be a bit heavy for some younger viewers. Well worth watching. Would easily watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Film or book, enjoy., 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had been reading the series and was very much looking forward to seeing the film. I thought it was brilliant and hope that they make the sequels. I enjoyed the characters and their story lines and as I have read ahead there is a lot more excitement to come. Hope you give the film and book series a go. Enjoy. Luv, Bev :0).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars awesome movie, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought the DVD, hoping that would encourage them to continue filming. loved Simon in it partly due to knowing the actor from misfits and I love the way he portrays characters :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mortal Instruments is cool, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Though it turned up a day late, and I sent an email asking why, the response was immediate, the reason(s) for possibly why clearly explained, and was refunded for the inconvenience.
Besides a good quality customer service, and speedy restitution, the DVD was as is was described. I love this film, as it has the perfect mixture of comedy, romance and supernatural action, with characters you can identify with, portrayed by an excellent cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the books., 26 Feb. 2014
By 
Mrs. Julie A. Wallen (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read the books, which I really enjoyed. And this film was just as enjoyable. Plus anything with Aidan Turner in it is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter LOVES it., 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fabulous movie (as per my daughter) . She loved it and has watched it upteen times since she got it 2 weeks ago. Great book series too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good movie nothing wrong with it. But I advise anyone first to see the movie before reading the book. Because when you read the book first the movie is compared to the book a bit disappointing (feels too much like a summary).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great film!, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A great film, action, hint of romance and a good mixture of werewolves, vampires, etc, etc. It is fairly true to the book although there were a couple of changes which I thought were needless, however, I'm looking forward to the next film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roll on the sequel, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, I am not a teenager, i am a grown woman, married and fast approaching middle age. I am a sci fi fan but not usually the teen stuff. However I think this film and the books are more adult in tone. It does touch on some rather uncomfortable subjects and it's not trying to be wholesome and moral like other YA films and novels. It also has some great humour, very British in tone which may be why it suffered at the box office, it's not your usual all American teen franchise.

I think the cast are perfect and it is refreshing not to see a big hunk of meat with a pretty face playing the male lead. Jamie Campbell bower is the intelligent teens hotty, just the right Side of bad boy but naughty enough to be interesting and lily Collins just has star written all over her.

I hope they do make the sequel as the film industry need to braver and make moe edgy versions within this genre.
Roll on the city of ashes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so good!, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you loved twilight you'll love this. Phil Collins daughter is very good too!! Taking the whole vampire thing to the next level. Can't wait for the next one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1853 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones [Blu-ray]
The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones [Blu-ray] by Harald Zwart (Blu-ray - 2014)
£5.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews