Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars126
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2014
Just caught this on Netflix so I hadn't coughed up for the DVD on this one but it's fair to say I don't review every film I see on Netflix... The average ones tend to be forgotten extra-fast and the good ones are - rarish items these days with so much emphasis placed on guns, explosions and instant-gratification for the senses rather than giving a chance to appreciate good script, classy acting, great direction.

For me, this one was going to be a potboiler as all I wanted was a simple movie to pass an hour or two and not make demands of me as I've been really tired today. But I didn't get that - instead I found I'd chosen one that had presence despite its lead being known better for his physique than his shakespearean delivery.

But The Rock did a decent job given the material he was allowed. Daniel in the movie was utterly convincing although the drug dealers were maybe a bit too - just exactly how they're usually portrayed, as undereducated AfroAmericans, many of them heavy and very large indeed. And the Mexican dealer El Supremo was just as he should have been too.

Barry Pepper always turns in a good midrange performance and he does so here too, as does the lovely Susan Sarandon who seems to have decided that small/cameo parts are enough for her these days. A pity, as to me she's always been a very bankable presence onscreen. On this occasion she's the hardfaced "dragon lady" State Prosecutor with the power to free the hero's son after he's busted for a narcotics offence.

As better plots do, this one developed nicely - if perhaps a shade predictably. That latter point's a hard one to evade these days when we see so many movies in an average year. It means that if one's to impress it does have to give more than its stablemates do. And this one did just that.

But that title "Snitch" wasn't its finest feature. Not only that, I don't think anyone in the plot was a "Snitch" by my understanding of its meaning. Which of course is frank and full as I meet up with career criminals on a daily basis.... :)
So this one gets a stamp of approval from me. It never got out of proportion, the performances were mostly pretty decent, and the direction - for me - was on the money.

If I'd been a cinemagoer having paid whatever crazy ticket price they charge these days, perhaps I'd enthuse a little less - which would be unfair of me. But human nature is just that, so I'll let that go.

Some might say the story is a little preachy, with values called into question and the US legal system also questioned - in particular re the business of set extremely-long sentences for narcotics offenders, namely dealers and distributors.

But both sides were explained and portrayed, which seemed fair to me. As I'm not a US citizen that's hardly relevant but I've learned something this evening about US federal law - which detail till now I'd never heard of.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
I have to say the Rock or Dwayne Johnson continues to impress me as an actor. I think he did a great job playing the tough Trucker, loving father (not above disciplining his son), and a man completely out of his depth in the world of drugs, guns, gangsters, and politics. I think he held his own acting alongside a veteran actress like Sigourney Weaver. That is the good part of the movie but the bad part is the movie it is very slow moving and not nearly enough action in the film for my liking. The main reason I did not think that this was too bad was because this not an action film. This is more of a drama.

The Rocks plays the owner of a trucking company whose estranged son gets busted/setup for drug possession and dealing. Refusing to play a snitch for the government on his own friends (like his best friend did to him). His dad makes deal with the up for re-election governor (Weaver), to catch a big enough fish for them to let his son go. Being clueless about the world he is entering he turns his new ex-con (but trying to go straight) employee. I would give the movie 3 1/2 stars but the acting took it to 4 stars for me. For people who would like to see the Rock is a more acting role watch this, those looking for an action movie this probably with not be the right movie for you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Out of all that's been released in the last 6months this for me is the hidden gem.
This is about the lengths that parents will go to for their kids, even the average joe citizen.
I'm interested in finding out a bit more about it since it's based on actual events.
Dwayne Johnson shows again that he's more than just an action man and the casting of Barry Pepper as the lead DEA agent was a nice surprise.
Pepper is an immensely underrated actor who i'd love to see in more things.
Another good surprise was Susan Sarandon, playing a less than likeable character for a change.
I'll be getting the Dvd of this one for definite.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
Construction company owner John Matthews learns that his estranged son, Jason, has been arrested for drug trafficking. Facing an unjust prison sentence for a first time offender courtesy of mandatory minimum sentence laws, Jason has nothing to offer for leniency in good conscience. Desperately, John convinces the DEA and the opportunistic DA Joanne Keeghan to let him go undercover to help make arrests big enough to free his son in return. With the unwitting help of an ex-con employee, John enters the narcotics underworld where every move could be his last in an operation that will demand all his resources, wits and courage to survive.

Well directed, good solid acting beliveable and with a good supporting cast. The film moves at a deliberate pace wich gives it a real natural feel to it, the action scenes are good and not over the top like in some films.

This is a film both entertaining, informative and inspired by true events. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
He mother may call him Dwayne but he'll always be The Rock to me. This film provides a bit of a departure for him, showcasing a bit more of his acting talent rather than just his butt kicking skills. One early scene showing Rocky taking a beat down from a group of drug dealers hammers home the point that he wont just be laying some smackdown to get out of this one. Instead we see a portrait of an anguished father as he goes to any lengths necessary in an attempt to save his misguided son from a life changing jail term.

The film itself never quite scales the heights that its based on real events narrative promises but it certainly is worth a watch to see The Rock adding a new string to his bow. Able support is also added by Susan Sarandon and The Walking Dead's Joe Bernthal amongst others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
This is a thought provoking, well-made film with art house aspirations in regards to the tenacity of the filmmaking, music and visual scope employed. Dwayne Johnson is proving himself in recent years to be quite a versatile, talented actor in his own right and this is no exception. I went from watching Hercules (2014) to Snitch and it was quite interesting to see the guy play a demi-god style mythological hero to, quite frankly a flawed everyman; an ordinary joe simply concerned for his family. Overall a decent picture, not perfect, yet the supporting cast threw in some very believable performances to level the ground successfully. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
Jason (Rafi Gavron) has friends that do drugs. One of them sends him drugs through the mail, which he was half-heatedly opposed. Jason gets busted as did his friend who turned witness against Jason, claiming he was going to help sell the drugs. Jason is faced with a mandatory 10 year sentence, along with all the other innocent people in prison unless he snitches on everyone he ever smoked a doobie with.

Jason refuses and would rather get beat up in prison. Dad (Dwayne Johnson) however has a different idea. He cuts an unorthodox deal the federal prosecutor (Susan Sarandon) that would give Jason a get of of jail free card, if he delivered them a felony conviction. Dad employs the help of an ex-con (Jon Bernthal)in his construction firm to make the contact. As Dwayne gets deeper and further up the food chain, the federal prosecutor wants more.

Clearly Dwayne is in way over his head. We really don't feel the peril as much as we should because it is Dwayne Johnson who we have seen out run, out gun, and beat up armies of evil men.

The acting was decent, even from the support cast. The plot and dialouge needed some help. The film attempts to show that mandatory sentencing laws are unfair and judges should have more leeway in sentencing, but it doesn't inundate you with the theme so as to interfere with the film.

A good semi-family film for Rock fans. One you might want your teen to see. This is another story based on true events. This one is more believable as it doesn't include aliens, ghosts or zombies. The explode on contact cars are still hard to swallow.

Parental Guide: No sex or nudity. No spoken F-bombs. A brief F-bomb in graffiti background most people will miss.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 June 2013
A good film, but it seems, a little muddled as to if it wants to be a serious thriller, preachy drama or all out action movie, thus not surprisingly it becomes a mix up of all three.

Honest but tough father Dwayne Johnson goes undercover to transport drugs in a deal to get his son out of prison, after the son gets caught up in the drug market by peer pressure.

What you get is a mix of action, drama and thriller that whilst has noble intentions in it's moral stance on the war against drugs, but does still need to appeal to the mass audience, and so the filmmakers throw in some wild car/truck chases and explosions to cater for Dwayne 'the rock' Johnsons fan base.

That said, all performances are excellent, with a good supporting cast and this film proves that Johnson, like in his earlier effort Gridiron gang can do serious films, with a believable range of emotions.

The movie is stylishly filmed and very much worth a watch, but slightly mixed and underwhelming.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
The trailer shows ALL the good bits. It is a very boring film no surprises no oh my god i didnt expect that! Its very predictable and rubbish surprised as the cast sounds hopefull.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
Hard to believe from the description that this is a fairly tedious , slow and uninspiring film! If you're looking for an action blockbuster of the Arnie or Bruce Willis ilk, just forget it; if you're looking for developed characters and screenplay - go elsewhere. It must have had a very short run at the cinema and then dropped into obscurity very quickly. If you do manage to watch to the end , you'll think twice about delivery of unknown Amazon parcels (in the US) as it seems to be a very risky business with the CIA breaking down your door after delivery and you being guilty for content regardless!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)