Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good acting for the cast but the movie was too slow for me
I have to say the Rock or Dwayne Johnson continues to impress me as an actor. I think he did a great job playing the tough Trucker, loving father (not above disciplining his son), and a man completely out of his depth in the world of drugs, guns, gangsters, and politics. I think he held his own acting alongside a veteran actress like Sigourney Weaver. That is the good...
Published 1 month ago by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DRUGS ARE BAD. OKAY..,
Jason (Rafi Gavron) has friends that do drugs. One of them sends him drugs through the mail, which he was half-heatedly opposed. Jason gets busted as did his friend who turned witness against Jason, claiming he was going to help sell the drugs. Jason is faced with a mandatory 10 year sentence, along with all the other innocent people in prison unless he snitches on...
Published 19 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DRUGS ARE BAD. OKAY..,, 3 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snitch [DVD] (DVD)
Jason (Rafi Gavron) has friends that do drugs. One of them sends him drugs through the mail, which he was half-heatedly opposed. Jason gets busted as did his friend who turned witness against Jason, claiming he was going to help sell the drugs. Jason is faced with a mandatory 10 year sentence, along with all the other innocent people in prison unless he snitches on everyone he ever smoked a doobie with.

Jason refuses and would rather get beat up in prison. Dad (Dwayne Johnson) however has a different idea. He cuts an unorthodox deal the federal prosecutor (Susan Sarandon) that would give Jason a get of of jail free card, if he delivered them a felony conviction. Dad employs the help of an ex-con (Jon Bernthal)in his construction firm to make the contact. As Dwayne gets deeper and further up the food chain, the federal prosecutor wants more.

Clearly Dwayne is in way over his head. We really don't feel the peril as much as we should because it is Dwayne Johnson who we have seen out run, out gun, and beat up armies of evil men.

The acting was decent, even from the support cast. The plot and dialouge needed some help. The film attempts to show that mandatory sentencing laws are unfair and judges should have more leeway in sentencing, but it doesn't inundate you with the theme so as to interfere with the film.

A good semi-family film for Rock fans. One you might want your teen to see. This is another story based on true events. This one is more believable as it doesn't include aliens, ghosts or zombies. The explode on contact cars are still hard to swallow.

Parental Guide: No sex or nudity. No spoken F-bombs. A brief F-bomb in graffiti background most people will miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good acting for the cast but the movie was too slow for me, 30 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: Snitch (DVD)
I have to say the Rock or Dwayne Johnson continues to impress me as an actor. I think he did a great job playing the tough Trucker, loving father (not above disciplining his son), and a man completely out of his depth in the world of drugs, guns, gangsters, and politics. I think he held his own acting alongside a veteran actress like Sigourney Weaver. That is the good part of the movie but the bad part is the movie it is very slow moving and not nearly enough action in the film for my liking. The main reason I did not think that this was too bad was because this not an action film. This is more of a drama.

The Rocks plays the owner of a trucking company whose estranged son gets busted/setup for drug possession and dealing. Refusing to play a snitch for the government on his own friends (like his best friend did to him). His dad makes deal with the up for re-election governor (Weaver), to catch a big enough fish for them to let his son go. Being clueless about the world he is entering he turns his new ex-con (but trying to go straight) employee. I would give the movie 3 1/2 stars but the acting took it to 4 stars for me. For people who would like to see the Rock is a more acting role watch this, those looking for an action movie this probably with not be the right movie for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 17 Jun 2013
By 
A good film, but it seems, a little muddled as to if it wants to be a serious thriller, preachy drama or all out action movie, thus not surprisingly it becomes a mix up of all three.

Honest but tough father Dwayne Johnson goes undercover to transport drugs in a deal to get his son out of prison, after the son gets caught up in the drug market by peer pressure.

What you get is a mix of action, drama and thriller that whilst has noble intentions in it's moral stance on the war against drugs, but does still need to appeal to the mass audience, and so the filmmakers throw in some wild car/truck chases and explosions to cater for Dwayne 'the rock' Johnsons fan base.

That said, all performances are excellent, with a good supporting cast and this film proves that Johnson, like in his earlier effort Gridiron gang can do serious films, with a believable range of emotions.

The movie is stylishly filmed and very much worth a watch, but slightly mixed and underwhelming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is good stuff, 3 Dec 2014
By 
Kilrymont (Somewhere in Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Snitch [DVD] (DVD)
Just caught this on Netflix so I hadn't coughed up for the DVD on this one but it's fair to say I don't review every film I see on Netflix... The average ones tend to be forgotten extra-fast and the good ones are - rarish items these days with so much emphasis placed on guns, explosions and instant-gratification for the senses rather than giving a chance to appreciate good script, classy acting, great direction.

For me, this one was going to be a potboiler as all I wanted was a simple movie to pass an hour or two and not make demands of me as I've been really tired today. But I didn't get that - instead I found I'd chosen one that had presence despite its lead being known better for his physique than his shakespearean delivery.

But The Rock did a decent job given the material he was allowed. Daniel in the movie was utterly convincing although the drug dealers were maybe a bit too - just exactly how they're usually portrayed, as undereducated AfroAmericans, many of them heavy and very large indeed. And the Mexican dealer El Supremo was just as he should have been too.

Barry Pepper always turns in a good midrange performance and he does so here too, as does the lovely Susan Sarandon who seems to have decided that small/cameo parts are enough for her these days. A pity, as to me she's always been a very bankable presence onscreen. On this occasion she's the hardfaced "dragon lady" State Prosecutor with the power to free the hero's son after he's busted for a narcotics offence.

As better plots do, this one developed nicely - if perhaps a shade predictably. That latter point's a hard one to evade these days when we see so many movies in an average year. It means that if one's to impress it does have to give more than its stablemates do. And this one did just that.

But that title "Snitch" wasn't its finest feature. Not only that, I don't think anyone in the plot was a "Snitch" by my understanding of its meaning. Which of course is frank and full as I meet up with career criminals on a daily basis.... :)
So this one gets a stamp of approval from me. It never got out of proportion, the performances were mostly pretty decent, and the direction - for me - was on the money.

If I'd been a cinemagoer having paid whatever crazy ticket price they charge these days, perhaps I'd enthuse a little less - which would be unfair of me. But human nature is just that, so I'll let that go.

Some might say the story is a little preachy, with values called into question and the US legal system also questioned - in particular re the business of set extremely-long sentences for narcotics offenders, namely dealers and distributors.

But both sides were explained and portrayed, which seemed fair to me. As I'm not a US citizen that's hardly relevant but I've learned something this evening about US federal law - which detail till now I'd never heard of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars How far would you go to save your son?, 4 Oct 2014
This review is from: Snitch [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Construction company owner John Matthews learns that his estranged son, Jason, has been arrested for drug trafficking. Facing an unjust prison sentence for a first time offender courtesy of mandatory minimum sentence laws, Jason has nothing to offer for leniency in good conscience. Desperately, John convinces the DEA and the opportunistic DA Joanne Keeghan to let him go undercover to help make arrests big enough to free his son in return. With the unwitting help of an ex-con employee, John enters the narcotics underworld where every move could be his last in an operation that will demand all his resources, wits and courage to survive.

Well directed, good solid acting beliveable and with a good supporting cast. The film moves at a deliberate pace wich gives it a real natural feel to it, the action scenes are good and not over the top like in some films.

This is a film both entertaining, informative and inspired by true events. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars well..., 1 April 2014
This review is from: Snitch [DVD] (DVD)
The trailer shows ALL the good bits. It is a very boring film no surprises no oh my god i didnt expect that! Its very predictable and rubbish surprised as the cast sounds hopefull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "..GOOD ACTION THRILLER..", 29 Oct 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snitch [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Dwayne Johnson has proved he is an epic action hero with some great movies to his name, this is yet another cool movie for him, a good little thriller about a man who goes undercover to take down a drug cartel to save his son from prison, its a well paced story with plenty of good action filtered throughout mainly car chases and some shootouts, pretty solid cast, very gritty and more realistic in terms of being based on true events, certainly worth checking out if your a fan of the Rock Johnson!! Good Blu-ray quality and a few good features!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ... believe from the description that this is a fairly tedious, slow and uninspiring film, 6 Dec 2014
By 
Dave (Herne Bay, Kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Snitch (DVD)
Hard to believe from the description that this is a fairly tedious , slow and uninspiring film! If you're looking for an action blockbuster of the Arnie or Bruce Willis ilk, just forget it; if you're looking for developed characters and screenplay - go elsewhere. It must have had a very short run at the cinema and then dropped into obscurity very quickly. If you do manage to watch to the end , you'll think twice about delivery of unknown Amazon parcels (in the US) as it seems to be a very risky business with the CIA breaking down your door after delivery and you being guilty for content regardless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock solid departure from Dwayne Johnson, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snitch [DVD] (DVD)
Dwayne Johnson stars as John Matthews, a wealthy construction owner whose old & new lives collide. His son Jason (Gavron) from his previous marriage is brought up on drug charges after being setup by a friend, and refuses to snitch on anyone on principle. And once John realizes the severity of the problem, in the serious jail time his son could do, he is willing to cut a deal with ambitious DA Joanne Keeghan (Sarandon) , and sets about delving into the seedy & dangerous narcotics underground in order to bring in a big drug dealer, in return for a reduced sentence for his son. But at what cost ?!

Snitch is in a way new ground for Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson, he is shaking off his hard man persona & playing a regular guy who is more subdued than his usual confrontational characters that deal with problems head on outside of the law as his biceps do the talking. Based on true events, this is a much more realistic & mortal tale to a serious subject matter. Which is soon aparent in the first 30 minutes of this film, as instead of The Rock going out shooting the bad guys once the premise in unveiled, it delves into a emotional domino effect on every character involved. Through a series of tense meetings, the measure which John must go thorough, passing himself off as a desperate guy who needs money, in order to infiltrate the world of narcotics & win his son's freedom. There are a few action scenes in places, not all involving The Rock, but the big chase scene he is in, delivers a great performance from the big guy, where you can see the fear in his eyes, as he is helpless. I can't emphasize enough, that there is very little action compared to what his name attached to a movie normally ensures.

Dwayne Johnson never reveals his muscles at all throughout the film, and delivers a really heartfelt & emotional performance throughout. Which is much more sincere here, than those PG movies he sometimes makes. His chemistry with all the cast is spot on, and it's knock on effect really draws out some good performances form everyone. Jon Bernthal (The Walking Dead) an ex-con employee who is duped into opening the door for John into the underworld, whose own family becomes at risk, and adds another layer to the film with wanting better for his family than he had. Susan Sarandon (Thelma & Louise) is excellent as the ambitious & two faced DA who uses John to grease the wheels of her own campaign. Equally so Barry Pepper (Saving Private Ryan) as the undercover narcotics cop who sympathizes with John, knowing how bad things can get, having his best interest at heart more so than the DA. Melina Kanakaredes (CSI New York) as Johns ex-wife & Nadine Velazquez (Flight) as his current wife are solid as the grieving mother's with they're own concerns. Rafi Gavron (The Cold Light of Day) had a good believable strained father/son relationship, as well as being easy to sympathize & root for his cause as his dad goes to bat for him.

In conclusion, this is Dwanyne Johnson trying something new, replacing all out action for a deeper, richer story & characters, with good acting all round to back it to the hilt. Even Barry Peppers ridiculous ZZ Top goatee cant derail this movie. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snitch, 12 Sep 2013
This review is from: Snitch [DVD] (DVD)
Out of all that's been released in the last 6months this for me is the hidden gem.
This is about the lengths that parents will go to for their kids, even the average joe citizen.
I'm interested in finding out a bit more about it since it's based on actual events.
Dwayne Johnson shows again that he's more than just an action man and the casting of Barry Pepper as the lead DEA agent was a nice surprise.
Pepper is an immensely underrated actor who i'd love to see in more things.
Another good surprise was Susan Sarandon, playing a less than likeable character for a change.
I'll be getting the Dvd of this one for definite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snitch [DVD]
Snitch [DVD] by Ric Roman Waugh (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews