Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not for zombie fans
I've read the book so I was prepared for the storyline but fans of the usual sort of zombie movies will be disappointed by this. It is definitely aimed at the younger generation, even the trailers give that impression, Twilight, Hunger Games and The Perks of being a Wallflower. What all these films have in common; like them or not, is production quality and this film is...
Published 10 months ago by PJ Rankine

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "the unspeakable in full pursuit of the uneatable." - Oscar Wilde
Ah a love story that proves you "R" what you eat. Taken f from the original story of Capulet and Montague - revised as "R" and Julie.

Before you get the feeling that this is just another cross-species love story you find it also an action movie with a fast car and guns. There is some nice music; too bad that they did not play "Muskrat Love." We even have a...
Published 6 months ago by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "the unspeakable in full pursuit of the uneatable." - Oscar Wilde, 2 Oct 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Ah a love story that proves you "R" what you eat. Taken f from the original story of Capulet and Montague - revised as "R" and Julie.

Before you get the feeling that this is just another cross-species love story you find it also an action movie with a fast car and guns. There is some nice music; too bad that they did not play "Muskrat Love." We even have a swimming pool scene in which they are not wearing swimsuits. The balcony scene is a tad too familiar. It is the East and Julie is the sun!

Actually this presentation is cut above a lot of the later zombie movies. It is a story about love and redemption. It may even have a redeeming value for us as we learn all zombies are not the same.

For DVD viewers there are the standard extras that do not ass much to the experience with the exception of the voice over that tells what you are supposed to be seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not for zombie fans, 7 Jun 2013
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warm Bodies [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've read the book so I was prepared for the storyline but fans of the usual sort of zombie movies will be disappointed by this. It is definitely aimed at the younger generation, even the trailers give that impression, Twilight, Hunger Games and The Perks of being a Wallflower. What all these films have in common; like them or not, is production quality and this film is no exception.
By now you will probably know that it is about a zombie who recovers his humanity after saving a human girl (who just happens to be gorgeous) because he has eaten the brains of her boyfriend and acquired his memories. R the zombie must be a recent revenant as he still looks pretty fresh and appears to retain a lot of human traits. He takes her back to the airport where he lives with all his zombie friends and so their relationship takes place.
Now of course if the zombies are going to become rehabilitated then what are we going to do for baddies. Enter the 'bonies' who are zombies in their final stage of metamorphosis, nasty animated skeletons with a hunger to match their attitude problem who get more than a little peeved when the lesser zombies begin to change.
And that is the theme of this story really, through love you can regain your humanity and maybe your life. Its a nice idea and its very well done, in fact I thought the ending of the film flowed better than the ending of the book.
Overall the film is quite true to the book so if you're a fan of the latter you won't be disappointed. If you watch the deleted scenes in the extras you'll see that the director considered following the book even more closely than he did.
This is a good quality blu ray with an excellent full screen presentation and a 7.1 soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Don't be creepy. Don't be creepy.", 2 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Warm Bodies [DVD] (DVD)
If you like fantasy, vampires/zombies/monsters with hearts ready for love, good old love story (R and Julie, anyone?) and a happy ending (and perhaps if you are in your teens or you are looking for a present for a young girl), this film is for you. You would appreciate it much less if you are a person who likes gory movies (such as "Saw", and really scary vampire/zombie films), don't really care if love conquers the world and if the main characters survive.

Sadly, I was not the person to fully appreciate this film (three stars as it's just not my cup of tea), but I can imagine this would have deserved 5 stars from me if I were in a different set of mind, and younger.

Also:

1. I thought Nicholas Hault was fantastic and did a good job (as all the cast).
2. R's narration of the film was well-thought and very amusing, almost refreshing.
3. I generally enjoy the "Twilight" saga films and thought "Warm Bodies" would be somewhat similar. And whilst it is, it has different appeal.
4. The film has some funny moments and generally dry sense of humour of the Hault's character kept me entertained.
5. Some great quotes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection!, 8 Feb 2013
This review is from: Warm Bodies [DVD] (DVD)
Nicholas Hoult stars as R, the zombie with a voice. I am a massive fan of Hoult, ever since his days in Skins and I have watched him in everything he has been in since. While I was a little unsure about him being cast as R to begin with, I ended up being really happy with the choice. Hoult narrates for the most part of the film, talking over what is actually happening. This, obviously, is because he is a zombie. Although he can talk, to begin with R can only grunt a few words and it isn't until later in the film that he gets a wider vocabulary. I liked the narrative style though, as it gave R a very distinct voice, even if he could not use it himself. It must be hard to interact with other actors without actually talking for the most part. I think Hoult did a fantastic job as R, especially as he spends a lot of the time walking leaning to one side, looking extremely gross and grunting at everyone around him.

Teresa Palmer plays love interest Julie. The only thing I had seen her in previous to this was I am Number Four but she did impress me in that. I also think that when regarding the character from the book, she was a great choice for the role. Julie is a likeable character and in a world where everyone is out to just kill both the corpse zombies as well as the scary bones zombies, she is a bit different. Julie seems to understand that everything is not black and white and she is optimistic that things can change. This kind of attitude is also strengthened when Julie meets R. Although she is scared of him to begin with, it doesn't take her long to see that he is unlike any of the other zombies.

Something that might not be apparent unless you know, is that Warm Bodies is a sort of retelling of Romeo and Juliet. Not only does R represent Romeo and Julie as Juliet but other characters have their parts as well. Julie's best friend Nora represents the Nurse, zombie M represents Mercutio and Perry, Julie's boyfriend represents Paris. I thought that this way of retelling such a classic and famous love story was incredibly clever. As I said, you might not pick up on these things unless you already know. The themes of forbidden love are extremely strong in Warm Bodies, with R, a zombie, falling in love with a human girl who is very much alive. However, the retelling is not overdone and this doesn't take on every aspect of Romeo and Juliet, which was nice.

As well as having great characters, Warm Bodies is also really well paced. The plot is extremely interesting, with us getting to know R and his way of life to begin with. It doesn't take much time for him to run into Julie though and from there, the film only gets better. As the two characters get to know each other, their characters really come to life... literally in R's case. It was lovely to see the character development here through two people getting to know each other and what they enjoy. However, among R and the normal zombies are the scary bones zombies. These are very skeletal are no longer resemble humans. Due to R taking Julie back to the airport, the bones get a whiff of her and want to eat her. The bones provide the excitement in Warm Bodies, with them chasing R and Julie in order to get what they want.

Overall, Warm Bodies is a fantastic movie adaptation of one of my favourite young adult books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Warm Bodies (Amazon Instant Video)
WOW What a film!!! A mixture between romance and zombie. Brilliant film, I would definitely recommend everyone watching this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARM & FUZZY & WHATS NOT TO LIKE?, 27 Feb 2014
By 
J. R. Taylor "Flossytreadwell" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warm Bodies (Amazon Instant Video)
Feel good movie with some action thrown in for those who like to see battle.
Twilight fans should love it & I mean that in a positive way, I happen to think the type of people who like Twilight are usually good people. It carries the same warm fuzzy feeling with a great looking leading couple.
The acting is spot on with the right amount of sugar in the romantic moments.
If you don't like this movie & see it for what it is 'feel good entertainment' then it must be cold around you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "About a boy" actor shines in this zombie love story, 24 Nov 2013
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warm Bodies [DVD] (DVD)
"R" is a zombie played by Nicholas Hoult, who has thoughts that zombies just shouldn't have. "What am I doing here?". "My life is boring".
He and his fellow dead launch an attack on some twenty something americans scavenging for supplies to take back to their fortress city. The outcome?
R takes Julie (Played by the pretty actress Teresa Palmer) back to his abode.....a disused airliner at the zombie infested airport.
What develops is a return to humanity for not just R but all the other zombies.... with the exception of the bonies. They are too far gone and spend their time skulking around looking for easy meat.
Comparisons with Romeo and Juliette are readily made.
It is very touching in places, funny, and has a good finale.
Some great extras on the DVD make this well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You told her you ate her EX?..., 14 Nov 2013
This review is from: Warm Bodies [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Survivors of a Zombie outbreak live in a city surrounded by walls that separate them from the living dead.

Grigio sends a group of teenagers, including his daughter Julie, to the outside to collect food and supplies. They are surprised by a group of zombies. Among them, R, who is a young zombie without recollections but very introspective.

R eats Julies boyfriends brain and revives his memories and sensations with Julie, and falls in love with her. He saves Julie from the other zombies and hides her.

They develop a strange relationship and become friends. Soon R changes his emotions and is capable to dream, and gradually to feel again.....

I wasn't looking forward to this, to me it just looked like another movie to fill Twilights shoes, but doing it with Zombies, and the fact the Julie is almost a dead spit for Kristen Stewart, it just put me off.

Its not often I'm wrong, but on this occasion, I was very wrong. Its a fun movie, riffing on Romeo and Juliet (we even get the balcony scene), but the concept works so well, even if R doesn't get shot by Julie (in any other Zombie movie, he'd be cannon fodder).

The two leads are great, and they have wonderful chemistry, but the support, especially from Corddry and Malkovich is wonderful, as well as the soundtrack.

But its pretty dark stuff, and I'm surprised that it was a 12a here in the UK, because the first act is scary, and violent.

But hey, I'm a father, so that's my little gripe over.

So all in all, its a great movie, criminally under-seen in cinemas, but what could have made it more remarkable, is if the makers went against the book narrative and have R killed at the end, that would have been just as tragic as Shakespeare's source.

Still good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out in the cold, 11 Nov 2013
This review is from: Warm Bodies [DVD] (DVD)
What a great idea! A zombie movie told from the perspective of the zombies - Nicholas Hoult is great as `R', an unfortunate victim of an unspecified plague that has left the majority of the population as the shuffling undead, and the remainder (led by an austere John Malkovich) hiding behind a huge wall, occasionally venturing out in order to reduce the surplus (zombie) population. R is different from other zombies - he thinks, listens to (admittedly bad) music on a turntable, and `lives' in an abandoned aeroplane, contemplating his meaningless existence and occasionally imbibing the memories of the non-zombie few by eating their brains. When he meets Julie (Malkovich's spirited daughter), R finds a new purpose, and to the amazement of all, the unthinkable begins to become reality.
A fine, original and engaging movie - if a little slight. Warm and appealing performances (although JM is as ever an acquired taste), I would certainly recommend it as an antidote to those Twilight yawn-fests and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillaint, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warm Bodies [DVD] (DVD)
This is a proper chick flick with zombies! It is a little cheesy, but that is what makes it better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3d233fc)

This product

Warm Bodies [Blu-ray]
Warm Bodies [Blu-ray] by Jonathan Levine (Blu-ray - 2013)
6.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews