Customer Reviews


941 Reviews
5 star:
 (563)
4 star:
 (175)
3 star:
 (120)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


276 of 286 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whimsical delight
The story of a retirement home for aged musicians who put on a gala performance show each year to contribute to keeping the home open. Their next show must raise more money as economic times harden. When the famous embittered diva Jean Thornton (Maggie Smith) arrives, then who better as a draw card? But she must be first persuaded to break her vow of never singing again...
Published 18 months ago by R. C. Harris

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful cast, but overall a bit disappointing
Such a star line up of 'veteran' actors and Maggie Smith is amazing in any role she plays.
However in view of all the plaudits for this film, I found it a little disappointing - especially as it ended somewhat abruptly.
Glad I did not pay more for it! (thanks Amazon for good price - as ever)
Published 8 months ago by strudel trigg


‹ Previous | 166 67 6895 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars present for a friend, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
She hasn't watched it yet, but I know it is a good dvd. I am booked in to watch it after her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Film, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Edward Cornelius (Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
Similar vein to "Marigold Hotel" Film. Will not win any Oscars but fine for a couple of hours entertainment. Surprise ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The wrinklies are back, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
It was good to see a film made in England with alot of classic English actors and actresses. Very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss it, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Anne "Mystery Mom" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
What a wonderful film, what a marvellous collection of actors! Just goes to show that we don't become mindless morons once we pass our 70th birthday - life goes on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The film Quartet, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
I and my friends really enjoyed this film, it was life affirming, so different from the usual stories about the older
generation. Wish I could afford to live in a retirement home similar to the one depicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable film, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
A gentle comedy film, pefect for all the family especially on a Sunday afternoon. The cast are superb and are on great form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill film, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Grumpy. (Dunning, Perth United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
this film is brill, what a hoot, billy conoly,is so god as are all the rest in the film well recommend it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Just loved this film, brilliant performances by all four leading actors. Casting retired musicians as supporting actors was a stroke of genius. A friend who watched it said that she had a smile on her face throughout and was still smiling when she went to bed. That says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not much content, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
I found it disappointing considering the talent of the actors involved. I found myself waiting for some sort "big moment" in the film which never happened. I am sure that a lot of people will find it a brilliant film...........I just wasn't one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer delight, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
With such an excellent cast and director, how could this film fail to please. It was a sheer delight, encompassing issues that come as one grows older, which were dealt with extreme sensitivity.
If you enjoyed "The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel" you will enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 166 67 6895 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quartet [Blu-ray]
Quartet [Blu-ray] by Dustin Hoffman (Blu-ray - 2013)
12.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews