Customer Reviews


1,048 Reviews
5 star:
 (632)
4 star:
 (193)
3 star:
 (133)
2 star:
 (50)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


280 of 290 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whimsical delight
The story of a retirement home for aged musicians who put on a gala performance show each year to contribute to keeping the home open. Their next show must raise more money as economic times harden. When the famous embittered diva Jean Thornton (Maggie Smith) arrives, then who better as a draw card? But she must be first persuaded to break her vow of never singing again...
Published 20 months ago by R. C. Harris

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful cast, but overall a bit disappointing
Such a star line up of 'veteran' actors and Maggie Smith is amazing in any role she plays.
However in view of all the plaudits for this film, I found it a little disappointing - especially as it ended somewhat abruptly.
Glad I did not pay more for it! (thanks Amazon for good price - as ever)
Published 10 months ago by strudel trigg


‹ Previous | 181 82 83105 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Quartet DVD, 9 May 2013
By 
John Porter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the film first which I enjoyed very much. The DVD will no doubt be played several times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old age, 9 May 2013
By 
Owl "Ollie" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this at first at the cinema and loved it and decided to buy a copy. The characters are all quite independent but with a good sense of humour and a good mixture of events. They are people you could take to and would not mind spending your old age with them. This is a feel good film with lots of nice music and a good mixture of sadness and laughter. I would recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film because of good reccomendations in the press. I thoroughly enjoyed this film, and would definately reccomend it. The story line is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
WHAT A GREAT FILM, COULD EVEN BE A TEAR JERKER DEPENDING ON ONES MOOD, THE CAST IS VERY WELL CHOOSEN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This should be a classic, 7 May 2013
By 
Mr. WA Bowman "a-bowman" (Spain formerly UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film from start to finish with a fine cast and a fine director with his first feature film. The Amazon blurb says what it is all about but can't hope to convey the bitter sweet humour that runs through the film. We will watch this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good feel good fun, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
Having missed this when it hit the cinemas I was delighted to have it for home viewing. Just a really good feel-good movie with such a splendid line up of actors. It arrived bang on time as ever and is a great addition to my movie library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It has a marvellous cast and I could watch it over and over again with delight., 7 Sep 2014
By 
Alice (Guildford, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
A film of charm, sensitivity and humour dealing with the problems of an aging group of musicians and their attempts to keep their nursing home solvent. It has a marvellous cast and I could watch it over and over again with delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good light entertainment, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
Very good light entertainment. The beautiful classical music enhanced the pleasure. This film showed that, even with advancing years, talent and experience need not be wasted. It also shows that true love never dies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant movie, 9 Jan 2013
By 
R. N. Wilson "robinwilson" (Audlem, Cheshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant film! You smiled all the time, glorious music, a love interest, and great dialogue, with great one liners!Perhaps for silver-surfers only (?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why bother with valium?, 6 Jun 2013
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
Let's not be entirely negative. There is a high point: the recording of the quartet Bella figlia dell'amore from Rigoletto, which is played uncut over the closing credits. Otherwise, we are treated to a series of low-points and lower-points. Maggie Smith cannot make up her mind whether to be a cheery cockney or a grande dame, so her accent wanders about the English class system looking for a resting place. Tom Courtenay is required to perpetuate the silly myths that: a) opera was once a rowdy night out for the plebs before it was captured and sanitised by the upper classes; and b) that opera is just an antiquated form of rap. Billy Connolly wees in the bushes - ho, ho, ho. Pauline Collins is wistful and forgetful. Michael Gambon shouts and waves his arms in a desperate attempt to appear outrageous. At the absolute nadir, Sheridan Smith actually delivers in full one of those boring thank-you speeches that precede all fund-raising events, without a hint of irony (because there is none in the script) - though she has the grace to put tears in her eyes while doing so. There is not a joke in the whole film (at least, not a new one), and all the while there is a studied avoidance of opera and serious music, in favour of pop, rap, music hall etc. - all of which are clearly more delightful than the exacting art to which the principal characters are supposed to have devoted their lives. Every time a snatch of opera begins, the scene cuts to something else. Dustin Hoffman has said he hardly needed to do any directing with these actors. Well, give him a mark for a kind of honesty - but please don't let him loose as a director again! So, no drama; no comedy; very little opera; and a set of unconvincing characters in vague, gooey relationships. What a waste of talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 181 82 83105 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quartet [DVD]
Quartet [DVD] by Dustin Hoffman (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock on September 26, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews