Customer Reviews


955 Reviews
5 star:
 (570)
4 star:
 (181)
3 star:
 (120)
2 star:
 (48)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


276 of 286 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whimsical delight
The story of a retirement home for aged musicians who put on a gala performance show each year to contribute to keeping the home open. Their next show must raise more money as economic times harden. When the famous embittered diva Jean Thornton (Maggie Smith) arrives, then who better as a draw card? But she must be first persuaded to break her vow of never singing again...
Published 19 months ago by R. C. Harris

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful cast, but overall a bit disappointing
Such a star line up of 'veteran' actors and Maggie Smith is amazing in any role she plays.
However in view of all the plaudits for this film, I found it a little disappointing - especially as it ended somewhat abruptly.
Glad I did not pay more for it! (thanks Amazon for good price - as ever)
Published 8 months ago by strudel trigg


‹ Previous | 1 296 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

276 of 286 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whimsical delight, 3 Jan 2013
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
The story of a retirement home for aged musicians who put on a gala performance show each year to contribute to keeping the home open. Their next show must raise more money as economic times harden. When the famous embittered diva Jean Thornton (Maggie Smith) arrives, then who better as a draw card? But she must be first persuaded to break her vow of never singing again to perform, in a Quartet - Rigoletto - "Bella figlia dell'amore".

The cast reads like a who's who of well known ageing British actors. Nevertheless, a good story line, differentiated characters and Dustin Hoffman has done a fine job of the direction.

The story itself is a delightful cheeky whimsical look at saying farewell to past glory and living with the reality of being over the hill. Some rather touching insights into failings of health with the onset of age, but not in the least depressing. The genre put me in mind of the movie, `The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel'. If you enjoyed that, then you'll enjoy this.

As should be expected from such an exulted cast the standard of acting is excellent, though dare I say, typecast... The story line doesn't take itself too seriously and the humour is nicely calculated to add to, rather than detract from, the drama.

The plot is somewhat predictable but, who cares when the characters are so endearing and/or irascible!

When we saw the movie, the average age of the audience matched those of the cast! But it was a sign of the success of the film that no one wished to depart the auditorium until the final strains of lovely music, and credits, had died away.

Maybe a little corny for some, but we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


143 of 152 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensitive and Uplifting, 4 Jan 2013
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
Age related yes, depressing a most definite NO. I thoroughly enjoyed this lovely film which was so sensitively handled by Dustin Hoffman with a wonderful cast to work with. The acting was superb and the inclusion of bygone musicians as "extras" was a brilliant idea and lovely to have them in the credits too. There was definitely a feelgood factor and I want to see it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fab film with great British Talent!!, 11 Jan 2013
By 
E. V. Grove "Dickens Fan" (West Mids, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
This film is full of aged but non the less fantastic British Actors and performers lead by Tom Courtney, Billy Connelly, Pauline Collins who are retired opera singers living in a retirement home for retired musicians. They are asked to re group to perform together at the homes gala concert, along comes Jean Horton, played by the superb Maggie Smith the newest resident to the home (and 4th member of the quartet) ex wife of Reggie (Tom Courtney).

With plenty of great acting and a gentle story with a few giggles along the way this film is a must!
I am only in my 30s and adored it but it may not be every younger persons cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightness of touch, 18 July 2013
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
The original Ronald Harwood play of Quartet was performed to great acclaim by the Hoddesdon Players, an amateur group to which I once belonged. Indeed, it won a prize at Hertford Theatre Week, among other gongs. I was fascinated to see how Quartet turned out on the big screen for several reasons, chief among them how this fairly theatrical work translated (of which more later), but for other reasons too: how would Dustin Hoffman's directorial debut turn out, and why did he pick a very English piece by a very English playwright (who is actually South African and formerly an actor too, but let that pass) with a very fine British cast, set in an exceedingly English location and exploring the very finest Italian opera?

After all, the plot is essentially no different to the Blues Brothers: "we gotta raise money to save the orphanage from closing, so let's get the band back on the road." OK, no car chases or blues music, but instead Beecham House (played magnificently by the glorious Hedsor House in Buckinghamshire), ageing operatic stars (who, like The Sunshine Boys haven't worked together in donkey's years and are not necessarily remembering past relationships fondly) and a Gala Performance in aid of the Friends of Beecham House to raise money for the old place. But that is merely the stage upon which the players strut their stuff.

As it turns out, Hoffman did not approach this gentle slice of drama like a Sam Peckinpah or a Quentin Tarantino, so it's a pleasure to report that he stays true to the subtle nature of a comedy of manners and relationships without the need to bring the worst excesses of brash Americana to the show. No gun-toting, but a refreshingly light touch to allow the movie to breathe - the location, the characters and Harwood's cunning script are given time and space to show what they can do, and are much the better for it. The result is very much a three-dimensional film without the need for any 3D gimmickry.

Having said that, you couldn't go far wrong with a movie including such fine talents as Maggie Smith, Michael Gambon, Billy Connolly, Pauline Collins, Tom Courtenay, Andrew Sachs, Sheridan Smith, David Ryall, Trevor Peacock, and then Dame Gwyneth Jones and a host of ageing singers and musicians, exactly the sort of people you might hope to find spending their senior days in a splendid country home for retired musicians. All Hoffman had to do was rehearse them, point a camera and a mike at them; wind up the ensemble, let them get on with it! There is a beautiful other-worldliness to the way they move and play and sing that I truly cannot fault.

And boy, they surely don't disappoint. Of the principles, Billy Connolly might be argued as the weakest in terms of acting credentials, by virtue of having within his repertoire one character, one he plays exceedingly well mind you. His role as the cheeky Scottish chappy has been revived in a fair number of pictures in several variations (eg. Mrs Brown), having originated in his rough and ready Glasgow stand-up days, but is none the worse for that. I don't say this as criticism of Connolly, who is perfect for the role of flirtatious Wilf Bond (a sort of latter-day Scottish operatic Leslie Phillips) and plays it with the requisite charm such that socks must have been popping off everywhere on set. If he is overawed by being among such distinguished actors, he certainly doesn't show it - but then the Big Yin was always totally fearless, and that is his main strength.

Pauline Collins does exactly the right thing here. She underplays Cissy, the unmarried one who is beginning to lose her marbles, leaving the audience with glimpses of brittle pride and memory waning every so slowly, oblivious to the dawning pity in the eyes of her friends and colleagues. In a flashier movie it would be easy to lose such exquisite acting, but in this context Collins shows precisely why she is always in demand for roles requiring consummate skill.

She and the estimable Dame Maggie Smith both, in fact, and what a pleasure to see them playing together here in contrasting moods. Where Collins' Cissy is wan and fragile beneath an effusive exterior, Smith's Jean Horton enters aloof but sad, as if planning her declining years as a great star to be moulded from tragic ingredients. She is almost willing everyone to forget her, to deny her glorious past, while secretly hankering over the great recordings. As the film progresses, so Horton becomes more ebullient, regaining her caustic wit to live for another day of glory, and, who knows, maybe more beyond the rolling of the credits?

But for my money the acting honours must go to Sir Tom Courtenay, whom I had the pleasure of seeing play several roles at the Royal Exchange in Manchester, especially Malvolio in Twelfth Night. Always a fine robust actor whose characters were built by layer upon layer of truth and darkness, Quartet is surely the performance of Courtenay's long and distinguished career.

He has long since mastered the art of communicating his every nuanced thought with an inflection of the brow, a flick of the eye, a pursing of the chin. Every micro-movement conveys meaning and feeling. Even being still and silent (as actors are taught in their first year at RADA) is studied and smouldering. That is what acting for the big screen is all about, and many A-listers would do well to take note of how real character actors like Courtenay, Smith and Collins bring such emotional intensity to their roles.

Here it combines in Courtenay to become a thing of hawklike grace and beauty - you know how he feels when the wife he adored but who abandoned him retires to the same house; you feel his desire to escape, but also how and why Reg Paget allows Jean Horton the tiniest of chances to make amends. But see also how Reggie interacts with and wins over a group of youngsters: they try to explain rap and hip-hop to him, he tries to explain opera to them - a joy to behold!

The cavalry charge of light relief is provided by Ryall and Peacock's Flanagan and Allen double act, much to the obvious irritation to Gambon's purist Cedric ("that's See-drick") Livingstone. I do wish Gambon wouldn't ham it up when given the opportunity, but he's obviously having fun so who am I to deny him?

Criticisms? Hoffman's light and delicate soufflé goes a little flat in patches, and also loses a touch of credibility by the fact that Beecham House is way too opulent for most royalty, let alone retired musicians.

Dustin, himself 75 years young, also fails to grab the opportunity to explore the vagaries of old age rather than portraying the residents as musicians and singers who just happened to grow old and experience the various inconveniences of age. An opportunity gone begging to apply passion and insight to the plight of the elderly, to show age for the complex and difficult beast it truly is - and none of us are exempt.

Ah, I hear you ask, but do we get to hear the quartet perform the Verdi Quartet? Alas, since the performers are actors rather than singers, there is a limitation to their range, and this is it. Where on stage miming worked brilliantly, the faking here would have undone much of the painstaking veracity constructed over the previous 98 minutes. So the camera discreetly draws a veil and withdraws. You wish the protagonists a long and happy retirement.

Make no mistake, this is quality stuff - the buzz between the players is palpable, and I'd urge you to go see it for that alone - the charm of the piece will win you over anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Film I have seen For Ages, 5 Jan 2013
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
You only have to look at the Cast to see what acting genius's we have in this film. They do not let us down. It is a really feel good film that has us in laughter, tears, and the stars give totally realistic performances.

To see Billy Connelly without his trademark locks and beard makes you wonder what is coming, but one soon learns that Dustin Hoffman has used his strength (hhis humour) to full advantage, albeit slightly more refined but with the notable twinkle in his eye.

Tom Courtney reigns supreme as does Maggie Smith, their story is a story within a story. Pauline Collins gives a stirling performance as someone who is suffering from dementia. Trevor Peacock, Michael Gambon...the list goes on.

As an opera fan I loved the music however friends who were privalged with me to see a preview of this film also loved the music. We all came out smiling.

This is Dustin Hoffman's first film as a director and what a fine one it is.

Anyone who loved The Marigold Hotel will want this in their library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 11 May 2013
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
The cast list is impressive and they deliver what you would expect, given their reputations. It is almost entirely set in a retirement home for musicians and has a very British feel to it. I love CGI and all the super hero stuff, but in reality, it is characters like these that sustain my interest in cinema. Treat yourself and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and sensitively portayed, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (North Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Quartet [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I went to see this last night at the cinema. Yes it is set in a home for retired musicians and most if them are old luvvies but it is a beautiful exploration of lost opportunities.

One reviewer said there was no plot other than "will they sing the Quartet?" Not sure how that conclusion was reached as there was a substantial plot exploring the consequences of jumping to conclusions about the behaviour of those we love and living the rest of your life with regrets. There was a second exploration too of living by the criticsm of others and the decision not to do things because of such critics.

"Aging isn't for sissies" is another theme as we see the frustrations and difficulties confronted by people who still have talents and a real zest for life. Pauline Collins deserves particular praise for her brave portrayal of someone confronting intermittent dementia.

The musicians throughout the film were on fire and gave genuinely heartfelt perfomances as both musicians and acting ... I even recognised some of them from their "glory days".

Well worth an hour and a half of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legends Of The English Stage, 19 Jun 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
What do you do when you are old and gray and your art is no longer able to be performed? In this case you retire to a beautiful old English Manor full of classical musicians and singers. All performers, once at the top of their game. Which is best to acquiesce or resist the inevitable?

At Beecham House, the inhabitants are planning a fund-raising gala to commemorate Verdi’s birthday. it is directed by Cedric, played by Michael Gambon, and the usual who is best game is played. The appearance of Jean Horton, played by Maggie Smith, who is a brilliant British soprano, brings issues. If she joined three old friends for the quartet from “Rigoletto,” it would bring in a lot of mney.

Wild, played by Billy Connolly, is the lovable lech; Cissy, played by Pauline Collins , lovable but who is losing her memory. Reggie, played by Tom Courtenay, was married to Jean for nine hours years ago and has never gotten over her. Will the four come together and make music? The film is directed by Dustin Hoffman, his first time as a director.

This is at once a lovable film, but also a look at the lives of those who are growing older. We can see ourselves in this elders. The terrific actors play their roles with grace and wit. Real musicians are interspersed into the film as residents of the Manor. Great music comes from the film, and it is an enjoyable film. You may become weepy eyed, but go into it.

Recommended. prisrob 06-18-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful cast, but overall a bit disappointing, 18 Nov 2013
By 
strudel trigg (HERTFORDSHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
Such a star line up of 'veteran' actors and Maggie Smith is amazing in any role she plays.
However in view of all the plaudits for this film, I found it a little disappointing - especially as it ended somewhat abruptly.
Glad I did not pay more for it! (thanks Amazon for good price - as ever)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plagued by sub-titles, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [DVD] (DVD)
Amusing and well acted but we were unable to removed the large, intrusive and in some cases inappropriate sub-titles despite lengthy efforts via the DVD and TV menus. In the end we had to physically block out the bottom strip of the scene to make the DVD viewable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 296 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quartet [DVD]
Quartet [DVD] by Dustin Hoffman (DVD - 2013)
4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews