Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great pocket-sized point and shoot
Love this camera! Takes great low-light photos (with or without flash) and has some great features. Took it out golfing the other day and using continuous shutter mode it actually caught full swings frame-by-frame. Very high quality pics too, when I uploaded them to the computer you could make out tiny details in a big picture - like the logo on my golf ball! In addition,...
Published 14 months ago by Hunter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
good camera but the charger given is for the continent not uk
Published 3 months ago by Frazer harrison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great pocket-sized point and shoot, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Hunter (22 Knightbridge Road) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony Cyber-SHOT DSC-WX80 ( 16.8 MP,8 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Camera)
Love this camera! Takes great low-light photos (with or without flash) and has some great features. Took it out golfing the other day and using continuous shutter mode it actually caught full swings frame-by-frame. Very high quality pics too, when I uploaded them to the computer you could make out tiny details in a big picture - like the logo on my golf ball! In addition, they dual purposed the gyro sensor in the camera that helps stop blur t so you that while reviewing series of shots you can tilt the camera to cycle through them making almost a miniature movie of your pics.

Panorama works well and is super easy - no pausing in between frames, just keep moving the camera. Love the full 16:9 aspect ratio of photos as well. Wifi works great too - very cool and easy to send the pics right to your smartphone (which lets face it, is where most of us keep our photos now) for storage and uploading to sites like facebook.

It is really small though which makes it great for putting in your pocket or taking it out with you, but also makes the buttons a little close together. Takes a little getting used to.

When purchasing this camera it came down to this and the Elph 130. I liked the buttons and simpler of the layout of the Elph better, but I think I made the right choice with the wx80 - full hd videos, excellent low-light capabilities, panorama and a faster frame rate. Plus it charges by micro-USB without having to take the battery out of the camera - you can just use your phone charger.

I've read some issues about battery life, but I haven't had any yet. We took over 50 photos golfing in like 30 minutes and lost about a quarter power - and that's with a lot of screen time reviewing shots. I purchased a bundle with an extra battery pack just in case though.

I highly recommend this camera. Sorry for the long review, but when I was debating between cameras there weren't a lot of good detailed reviews, so I thought I'd try and help out.

If you wanted a bit more zoom (20x), a slightly bigger screen, and a bit more megapixels (18MP) your next option is the April release Sony seen here.
B00BHXVU7Q
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very small and possibly fragile, 2 July 2013
This review is from: Sony Cyber-SHOT DSC-WX80 ( 16.8 MP,8 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Camera)
I'm not going to comment on the picture quality of this camera, beyond saying that at 16MP it is a heck of a lot better than my Nikon DSLR.

One of the main reasons for selecting this camera over others available was the WIFI feature. Despite being reasonably tech savvy it took me a couple of days (on and off) to work out how to get it to work. Following the instructions it is paired with your smartphone (iPhone for me) but on the camera display it just continues to say "Connecting...". I took this to mean it was still trying to connect, but failing; I expected "Connected" to display. However, it turns out that if at that point you exit the iPhone's `Settings' menu and instead launch the Sony app that you have previously downloaded. Now it works. Relief!

Other than that, the power cable has to be plugged in behind a little door which feels a bit flimsy, time will tell if it lasts. It feels a bit flexible, but given its diminutive size, you can't really expect the rigidity of a full size camera.

Overall looks to be a great little snapper for a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Cyber-SHOT DSC-WX80 ( 16.8 MP,8 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Camera)
Wanted a small compact camera, to take on holiday, over Christmas, It was perfect, great pictures easy to use. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very small camera with loads of functions and easy to use, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Cyber-SHOT DSC-WX80 ( 16.8 MP,8 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Camera)
Very small camera with loads of functions and easy to use. Takes very crisp photos just like my older cybershot. This is a brief review all i would say is for the price and for what you get it is a great purchase. Check it out on youtube like i did. I would highly recommend this camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Cyber-SHOT DSC-WX80 ( 16.8 MP,8 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Camera)
good camera but the charger given is for the continent not uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great little camera, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Cyber-SHOT DSC-WX80 ( 16.8 MP,8 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Camera)
sually use my nikon dslr camera but needed a small one to fit in bag...this was a fab chices. my only grumlance is rthat even tho quite pricey you get no extra with it...case memory card etc. picures a great once you can remember to pick right setting. menu esy to use and the EASY mode takes all the guess work out. some great effects and the 360 featur is terrific
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely little camera!, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Cyber-SHOT DSC-WX80 ( 16.8 MP,8 x Optical Zoom,2.7 -inch LCD ) (Camera)
Small compact camera.. Great shots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews