Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Psychopaths Give You A. Headache, Ya Know?
Hans played by Christopher Walken is one of the surprises of this film, wry, iconic, and full of irony. He realizes before we do that 'psychopaths get tiring, ya know'? By the end of the film we know and agree.

Marty played so well by Colin Farrell is a writer in Hollywood, with, what else, writer's block,and a little bit of alcoholism. His character is a...
Published 15 months ago by prisrob

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One eyed guy....
A struggling screenwriter inadvertently becomes entangled in the Los Angeles criminal underworld after his oddball friends kidnap a gangster's beloved Shih Tzu....

After the wonderful In Bruges, Martin McDonagh had something to contend with in his follow up. and while the movie is funny and very clever in some aspects, sometimes it's almost too clever for it's...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Psychopaths Give You A. Headache, Ya Know?, 12 April 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Hans played by Christopher Walken is one of the surprises of this film, wry, iconic, and full of irony. He realizes before we do that 'psychopaths get tiring, ya know'? By the end of the film we know and agree.

Marty played so well by Colin Farrell is a writer in Hollywood, with, what else, writer's block,and a little bit of alcoholism. His character is a derived version of his 'In Bruges' character, well developed and filled with such self revelation and dry humor. His friend, Billy Bickell ( you figure out where you heard this name before), is trying to help Marty with his block, and places an ad in the paper requesting psychopaths who want to tell their story. Marty has titled his script '7 Psychopaths', so this ad is helpful, right? To our surprise Tom Waits shows up with a white rabbit in his arms to tell hs story. And, then, on we go. Animals play a big part in this film, as does violence, blood, gore, guns and all around craziness. The actors in this film are amazing, Woody Harrelson, Harry Dean Stanton, Tom Waits, Sam Rockwell, Colin Farrell and many more. Martin Mcdonaugh, is the director, (In Bruges).
You won't be disappointed, but I do wish the level of violence was less, it would suit the mood.

Recommended 04-12-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films I've ever seen!, 28 Mar 2013
This review is from: Seven Psychopaths [DVD] (DVD)
From In Bruges writer/director Martin McDonagh, comes another brilliant movie. A story, this time about a screenwriter (also called Martin) stuck on a film script for which he just has a title and one character. In his desperation for inspiration he starts to use some of the ideas from his low-life actor/dog-napper friend Billy. This relationship develops, as Martin continues to fail to get his own ideas, and Billy becomes more desperate to help, we join them on a trip where life imitates art, art imitates life, and so on, until the boundaries between the 2 are satisfyingly lost.

This is not the first film about writers block, nor the first about meta-fiction, but it's just as good as anything I've seen, if not better. The cast is fantastic, the dialogue is great, and, I laughed till it hurt. The parts seem to be bespoke for the actors, with a lot of parody aimed at the players, McDonagh himself, and not least, Hollywood. The standard gangster film is dissected, prodded and probed, then reconstructed into an hilarious, loveable caricature.

I'm a huge fan of Tarrantino, the Coens, and Charlie Kauffman, this guy McDonagh rocks up and nonchalantly walks through their turf. I'm pretty territorial when people offer pale imitations of these demi-god directors but, this guy belongs here. I'm happy to say there seems to be another director on whom I can rely not to follow the standard model but instead serve up something a lot more intriguing and original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Psychopaths [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What a fantastic film. Engrossing to watch, surprises you at every turn and with a fantastic cast who all give 100%.
Definitely in my top 10 of all time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best movie ever, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Psychopaths [DVD] (DVD)
buy it, watch it, then watch it again. and again, and again, and again. absolutely awesome. all the actors at their best. clever, funny, subtle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Psychopaths [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Loved the concept, unusual and very well acted I would definately recommend to anyone with a taste fro the unusual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big cast, small results., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Psychopaths [DVD] (DVD)
With this line up I expected A LOT. That was a mistake. This movie regularly sets itself up for great jokes/action but never actually gets the result its after. The storyline is weak as hell and I am shocked so many big names got involved with this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One eyed guy...., 21 Jan 2014
This review is from: Seven Psychopaths [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A struggling screenwriter inadvertently becomes entangled in the Los Angeles criminal underworld after his oddball friends kidnap a gangster's beloved Shih Tzu....

After the wonderful In Bruges, Martin McDonagh had something to contend with in his follow up. and while the movie is funny and very clever in some aspects, sometimes it's almost too clever for it's own good and becomes a little pretentious.

Farrel again is amazing as the lead, and it proves that after a little absence from the big screen, he is still brilliant, despite the quality of the film he's in.

And it's strange, because he's the most normal character in the film, and this is the other films weak point. The bizarreness of characters has become tiresome of late, and the novelty has worn off something rotten.

Fifteen years ago, if this was released, the poster would have adorned every students wall, and the film would have become a cult icon, and lines would be quoted forever and a day.

But it's 2013, and irony and referencing is an everyday thing, so Sam Rockwell screeching and Woody Harrelson crying about a dog, just doesn't cut it anymore.

The script is good, and some of the sub characters really grip, Cornish and Waits are two prime examples, but are hardly in it.

If you are expecting a Tarantino type movie, with blistering dialogue and conversation, this way over stretched the mark.

But if you want to see something a little kooky that reminded you of being a student during the nineties, seek this out and enjoy the nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous cast, original story, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Psychopaths [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this on the strength of the cast, having seen Farell in 'In Bruges' and wasn't disappointed. Can't really go wrong with Christopher Walken. A thoroughly enjoyable romp, and a bit different from your usual hitman fodder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a zany quartet, 7 Nov 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seven Psychopaths [DVD] (DVD)
Seven Psychopaths is a mindbending yarn centring on Colin Farrell's alcoholic writer (Marty) and a script he is trying to piece together using a mixture of people he knows and one or two others to make up the seven psychopaths of the title. As the film goes on the whole thing seems to disappear up itself in a kind of blur, being simultaneously Marty's real life and the film he is writing, increasingly, but it offers a lot of fun and sharp dialogue along the way. The characters projected by Sam Rockwell and Christopher Walken are so vivid you are, in large part, happy to take them at face value. About half of the film has these three figures going out into the desert to discuss and muse on solutions that would subvert the psycho-killer genre. This would be tantamount to making a "French film" in the eyes of all-out psycho Billy (Rockwell), who wants to be in on the writing of the film too. Christopher Walken brings soul to the proceedings, while the dogs keep absurdity in the frame at all times, as does villain Woody Harrelson. Farrell's vulnerability also brings its moments of grace. You get to see plenty of footage of these actors doing what has made them famous, and for sheer entertainment the film works very well indeed. You might object to the violence, but Marty does try to keep it out, at least in the second half, while he admits in the film that the female roles are underwritten, thus turning a trait of certain Hollywood films to witty account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd give this seven stars if I could!, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Psychopaths [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Favourite film of the year for me. Very unexpected.

Colin Farrell's struggling screen writer is hilarious. The more his world unravels the better the film becomes. I don't want to delve too deeply into the story, but just want to say that all of the performances are impeccable.

If you like stories where the characters get into situations they just can't get out of and wind up just having to see it through to the end, no matter what, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven Psychopaths [Blu-ray]
Seven Psychopaths [Blu-ray] by Martin McDonagh (Blu-ray - 2013)
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews