Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Airborne Spirit
I had had this on my Kindle for some time before rediscovering it whilst on a D-Day Landings tour. As an ex-paratrooper I found his reminiscences extremely interesting, his story being brought to life when visiting the battlegrounds and cemeteries of Normandy where he and his companions fought - and died.

This isn't high prose, it is a good down to earth...
Published 10 months ago by On The Levels

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sid Capon - Para Regt.
A fascinating book about the beginning of the Parachute Regiment and one of it's first Battle Honours by a man who was there and in the thick of it. An excellent book albeit a tad short however I know that these were just notes left by Sid before his death and you have to accept the shortness, but some other author could and should, in my opinion, have filled in the...
Published 15 months ago by Timepencil


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aids war, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
Great book thank you Sid for all you did. You and men like you will never be forgotten by mankind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must read for those who honour bravery., 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
A very compelling story of one mans effort to stay alive, against all the odds. Very moving! A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got to recommend Sid' s War !, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
Not a drawn out read but a fascinating account that adds to the whole picture, I will probably read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars By the same auother as Steiner's war but this was ..., 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
By the same auother as Steiner's war but this was much more an account of his action at the Merville batery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 July 2014
By 
John K. Hodgson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
A very informative read showing Sid's rise to the Paras and his part in the Normandy landings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
very good but very short i thought we were going right through the war with him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb read. This book made me feel as though ..., 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
Superb read.This book made me feel as though I was there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
a good commuters book short and to the point
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
A top man with a interesting story RIP Stan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 25 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
Great read, a must..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sid's War
Sid's War by Michael Strong
£2.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews