Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Airborne Spirit
I had had this on my Kindle for some time before rediscovering it whilst on a D-Day Landings tour. As an ex-paratrooper I found his reminiscences extremely interesting, his story being brought to life when visiting the battlegrounds and cemeteries of Normandy where he and his companions fought - and died.

This isn't high prose, it is a good down to earth...
Published 1 month ago by On The Levels

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sid Capon - Para Regt.
A fascinating book about the beginning of the Parachute Regiment and one of it's first Battle Honours by a man who was there and in the thick of it. An excellent book albeit a tad short however I know that these were just notes left by Sid before his death and you have to accept the shortness, but some other author could and should, in my opinion, have filled in the...
Published 6 months ago by Lindsey Doyle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good but short., 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
Well told and absorbing. Read It in one sitting. Left me wanting more. Got the overall impression of a typical brave and understated para.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A TRUE STORY, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
nice to have a record of true stories from someone who was there to tell exactly what happened at that time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, brief read., 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
Interesting but rather brief account of a soldier's war. It did lack a good bit of detail in the narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A story close to my heart, 14 Dec 2013
By 
jerryatric (heathrow cargo village) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
As an ex paratrooper this story was a true reflection of what my brother airborne warriors endured in the battles fought for our freedom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this short book a fascinating insight into the role of the Parachute regiment in the D day landings, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this short book a fascinating insight into the role of the Parachute regiment in the D day landings - full of admiration for apparently decent men like Sid and his colleges
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aids war, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
Great book thank you Sid for all you did. You and men like you will never be forgotten by mankind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must read for those who honour bravery., 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
A very compelling story of one mans effort to stay alive, against all the odds. Very moving! A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got to recommend Sid' s War !, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
Not a drawn out read but a fascinating account that adds to the whole picture, I will probably read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 July 2014
By 
John K. Hodgson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
A very informative read showing Sid's rise to the Paras and his part in the Normandy landings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid's War (Kindle Edition)
very good but very short i thought we were going right through the war with him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sid's War
Sid's War by Michael Strong
£0.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews