Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kids animation with a very corporate theme
Robots is a beautifully computer animated movie about... Robots. Basically, the main robot in the story, Rodney (voiced by Ewan McGregor), decides to go to the big city to meet up with his childhood hero, Bigweld (voiced by Mel Brooks), and to get his invention out to the other robots. His invention is basically another robot but this is pretty much a fairy tale anyways,...
Published on 1 July 2007 by Jay

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From the amusing creators of Ice Age!
This will never be a Pixar beater, but it is funny in it's own way.
Ewan McGregor voices Rodney Copperbottom, who tavels to the big city to get his invention created, only to find a company that is over-run by greed and wants to stop robot upgrades - meaning that all robots will have to buy their products or become ruined, rusty and abandoned. So Rodney, with his new...
Published on 2 Sept. 2005 by Mr. J. WARE


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kids animation with a very corporate theme, 1 July 2007
This review is from: Robots [DVD] (DVD)
Robots is a beautifully computer animated movie about... Robots. Basically, the main robot in the story, Rodney (voiced by Ewan McGregor), decides to go to the big city to meet up with his childhood hero, Bigweld (voiced by Mel Brooks), and to get his invention out to the other robots. His invention is basically another robot but this is pretty much a fairy tale anyways, right? Rodney runs into Fender (voiced by Robin Williams) upon his arrival in the big Robot City when Fender tries to take advantage of Rodney and soon after, tries to steal his foot! I guess that is the robot equivalent of stealing shoes by the thieves here in the real world. Little things like that made the movie a unique experience. You can tell that a lot of thought went into the little parts, like the "making the baby" scene at the beginning. I thought that was ingenious, especially for a kids movie and still keeping it clean. The best looking robots were the sharp looking corporate robots. Ratchet (voiced by Greg Kinnear) was the main villain here and Cappy (voiced by Halle Berry) was the female corporate robot on the side of good, eventually helping Rodney in his quest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From the amusing creators of Ice Age!, 2 Sept. 2005
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robots [DVD] (DVD)
This will never be a Pixar beater, but it is funny in it's own way.
Ewan McGregor voices Rodney Copperbottom, who tavels to the big city to get his invention created, only to find a company that is over-run by greed and wants to stop robot upgrades - meaning that all robots will have to buy their products or become ruined, rusty and abandoned. So Rodney, with his new found city friends, tries to stop them.
First off, the graphics are great. The city is huge and bustling, and vibrant - it could be a real fantasy place! It is here that the humour really takes place, just little things that you might miss out of the corner of the screen are usually the funniest, but there are some true stand out moments.
When Rodney becomes magnetic is hilarious, and easily my favourite part in the film. Other great moments come courtesy of a climactic chase sequence, and a quiet moment ruined by...a fart!
I saw this film with two young children, and they both loved it. They laughed all the way through - the humour is more orientated towards the younger generation,but there are a handful of adult orientated jokes courtesy of Robin William's character.
All the characters are loveable, and it was a easy time to pass 90minutes. If you have a family, I would definately reccommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a CopperBottomed HIT!, 17 Sept. 2005
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robots [DVD] (DVD)
I have just finished watching one of the best cartoons I have ever seen and that cartoon is ROBOTS! From start to finish it is a visual treat, with enough gags to interest and provide novelty even after repeated viewings. The characters are heartwarming, Robin Williams voices a full blown nutjob as usual, and the films climax will have you cheering as the "little man" triumphs over the forces of greed. Ratchet is a villain in the Macbeth mould; infirm of purpose but motivated by Mommy in the pursuit of profit; mommy in this case being a diabolical robot of darkest motive.
Oh yes in Robots we have the feelgood DVD of late 2005....
get thee hence and buy it now! you'll not regret it.
The extras aren't bad, the previews quite good but with a main feature THIS GOOD it can stand on its own anyway.
Um...did I mention it was good?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Sound & Vision - plus some jokes!, 17 April 2006
By 
MJ King "MJK" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robots [DVD] (DVD)
Great looking & sounding. For some the story might be a bit lacking but others (me too) will find it charming & entertaining.

The colours thru out are lovely - bright, giving a real 3D effect.

The sound is used really well & the James Brown jam at the end of the film is almost worth the cost of the film itself.

Give it a try - its a bit diferrent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing little number for a quiet time after big lunch!, 10 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Robots [DVD] (DVD)
Robot boy goes off to save the world and guess what? he manages it. Standard story line - some amusing scenes that older children +5 yrs and adults enjoyed. A little lost on my 3 year old.
Overall entertaining video but not one to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "We are not junk, we are not scrap...", 19 Feb. 2009
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Robots [DVD] (DVD)
Blue Sky Studios (the people behind the Ice Age film franchise) have created a family film that has something to say...

...Pixar have arguably been the most successful CGI animation studio, and it tends to be because the characters, regardless of whether they are monsters, toys, or even a lamp - feel somehow real, they relate to real life characters, and this non-Pixar film has managed to do the same.

From the moment Herb Copperbottom races home only to miss the delivery of their new baby, and his wife reassures him that "making the baby's the fun part.", the film manages to marry together the world we know, and the fictional world of robots.

'Robots' follows the journey of young Rodney and his quest to realise his dream of being an inventor for revered robot Bigweld. Given an encouraging prod on his way by his dad who is stuck in a dead end job after never chasing his own dream, Rodney finds himself alone in a big city - but soon makes friends.

With the likes of Mel Brooks and Robin Williams providing voices, you expect a few laughs - and you get them. The scene with armpit farts was childish and banal - but it was great! It had both me and my wife laughing!

There's a dark side to this film, with the Robot world entirely reliant on one company for spare parts, it starts to break down (quite literally) when the head of business is replaced by a ruthless robot who abuses his Captilist Monopoly to force robots to buy expensive upgrades rather than replace their broken parts. Rodney, however, uses his technical genius to help the poor like a clockwork Robin Hood and sets his sights on fighting the might of the corporate baddies.

In a nutshell: Impressive visuals and likable characters don't make for a fantastic film in themselves. You can't help but feel that you know the outcome of the film before it's quarter of the way through, but this is still an enjoyable family film even if it is a bit average. I can't give this three and a half stars, so I'm going to err on the side of four - although it might have an obvious moral tone to it, there's a more intelligent message too about abuses of power and it's not often that a family film introduces a political message, even if it is hidden underneath the rest of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not brilliant, 28 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Robots [DVD] (DVD)
Was really looking forward to this film but I guess we have got used to the amazing standard of the Disney / Pixar type offerings. I found this film to be somehow trying too hard if that makes sense. OK but not brilliant. That said my five year old watched it a few times and seemed to enjoy it until he got hold of a copy of Madagascar and now wont watch anything else...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent film to hold children captive for hours, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robots [DVD] (DVD)
Personally I could take or leave this film. Happy to watch it once, but it isn't the sort of film I would choose to watch again and again. The same cannot be said however for my 6 and 4 year olds sons (in particular the 4 year old). We happened to watch this on television one weekend. As we recorded it on our Sky Plus box, we were then subjected to it every day for the next few weeks until I decided to order a copy so at least myself and my husband wouldn't be subjected to it anymore!

The film is about a young robot voiced by Ewan McGregor. He goes off to the big city in an attempt to live his dream of becoming an inventor. However when he gets there, the company that he has dreamed about has been taken over by a 'corporate type' of robot and things are very different. It goes on pedictably to show him 'putting everything right' (as we would expct from the hero) and - of course - getting the girl in the process!

There are some very funny one-liners in here that will appeal to the grown-ups. If you have young children (prticulalrly boys) I would strongly recommend this film for them. My husband also enjoys the film so maybe it is a 'boy/man' thing and might make a good Father's Day gift from a little boy for the two of them to watch together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My kids loved it!, 3 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robots [DVD] (DVD)
It is hard to find a DVD to please both my five year old son and my ten year old daughter as they are at different stages and with varying interests. But they loved this movie! Although I cannot say I sat through it myself (since they are engrossed I usually run off to do other stuff in the house) but it seems very nicely made, intelligent, cute! And the price on amazon was great. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blink and you'll Miss It, 20 Nov. 2005
By 
G. Bright "chronically sedulous" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robots [DVD] (DVD)
Now I must admit this film was a big step aside from Ice Age, but I wouldn't necessarily say in a bad way. Yes, the pacing was very fast, sometimes so fast you could get lost if you decided to blow your nose or something. I'm guessing they were aiming at people with short attention spans. I particularly loved the cleverly designed (though quite impractical) transport system they had going on in Robot City. The action scenes were also brilliant, if a little farfetched at times but that helped to add to the overall cartoonish feel of the film. The humour was witty with the occasional tendency to border on childish in places (still, made my inner child have a good laugh!) and all the characters were distinctive, which was brilliant.
Overall, an eccentric fun movie with a sentimental side and a good moral to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robots [Blu-ray] [2005]
Robots [Blu-ray] [2005] by Carlos Saldanha (Blu-ray - 2013)
£6.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews