Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have...
A must have for anybody new (like me) to Nik plug ins - well laid out (in plug in running order) loads of tips & tactics, easy to read & straightforward.

After struggling to fully understand the booklets that come with Nik products,my photographs have improved 100%
Published 18 months ago by prunesquallor

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just for REAL beginners
Well, I decided to buy this book in order to improve my useage of the Nik suite. And since the reviews of this book were positive, I went for it.

But it was a bad decision.

Although the author has a very light writing (very enjoyable, BTW), it's aimed to the very beginnner. Anyone that has already used the Nik suite will hardly find anything to learn...
Published 14 months ago by G. CAMPOS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have..., 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must have for anybody new (like me) to Nik plug ins - well laid out (in plug in running order) loads of tips & tactics, easy to read & straightforward.

After struggling to fully understand the booklets that come with Nik products,my photographs have improved 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just for REAL beginners, 12 Jun 2013
By 
G. CAMPOS (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, I decided to buy this book in order to improve my useage of the Nik suite. And since the reviews of this book were positive, I went for it.

But it was a bad decision.

Although the author has a very light writing (very enjoyable, BTW), it's aimed to the very beginnner. Anyone that has already used the Nik suite will hardly find anything to learn from the book, even though it says "book level: beginning/intermediate". Don't fall for that!

That alone would ensure a bad review, but there're other two big issues:

1) the photos: they are VERY small throughout the book and hence very hard to see the effects suggested by the author. In order to see the effectts of using the filters we'd need much bigger photos.

2) although the book was published in 2013 the links provided by the author DO NOT lead to the stuff mentioned. Nik was sold to Google and all links redirect to a site where no add-ons are present and so on. Besides that, the author suggests that we go to his blog (or register with the publisher) to get extra templates, but there are just a bunch and most of the links to other stuff simply are not there.

All that said, why not give it just 1 star? Well, the author really has passion for his work and is able to transfer that through the pages! Besides, he writes lightly and that's ok.

This book is for people who DON'T HAVE Nik suite and are thinking on buying it or for ABSOLUTE BEGINNERS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential guide for new users of NIK full suite, 23 May 2013
By 
Burnt-user (Wiltshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As per title. A very useful guide for those new to the full suite, now available from Google. The main criticism is the woefully poor reproduction of screen grabs which makes learning a lot more difficult than the author intended. This is a book production issue and not the author's fault. Despite this impediment, I refer to the guide constantly. It speeded me up the learning curve. However, a book is not enough. There are many fine on-line videos by various authors which enrich one's learning experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for amazing software, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nik software is incredibly powerful and easy to use and there is excellent video material available from the Google website. I like having a book to work through (old fashioned?) and really recommend this beautiful production which provided a very complete coverage of the software and many fresh ideas for an enthusiastic amateur. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Bags of details., 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have NIK plugins then this is the book for you. Very well written. Great book. Bags of details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book but..., 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I give it 5 stars because the book is simple and very well explained. The only thing I disliked has been the size of the examples and the typography. I would have paid a higher price in exchange of bigger ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The missing instruction book., 21 May 2013
By 
Philip Galloway "Phil G" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have all the Nik plug-ins for Photoshop but needed more detailed information on their use. This is an excellent guide book and well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plug In with Nik: A Photographer's Guide to Creating Dynamic Images with Nik Software (Kindle Edition)
I have been hoping to save for this software for a long time but the cost was to much for me, and when the price came down to a justifiable level
i just had to have it.
Great price
Great product
WOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plug in with Nik, 27 April 2013
Excellent. Each plug in is dealt with separately in plain simple English. Extra photos are available to download so you can practise the various techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middling, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plug In with Nik: A Photographer's Guide to Creating Dynamic Images with Nik Software (Kindle Edition)
Have found better options as a paid ebook and I find the Nik website free downloads equally useful.
Not to say that the Batdorff book is poor, hence 4 stars - but , to me, there are better alternatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews