Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful
This is a truly beautiful collection of pieces. The power and fragility of the music in the new Oratorio is superb, the voices
of the choirs balance the sublime voice of soprano Laura Wright (whose voice seems particularly suited to these pieces) and accomplished tenor Noah Stewart and with the soaring harmonies, this has to be one of the best pieces of new writing...
Published on 22 Jan. 2013 by roger stonely

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inspired
I wasn't really enamored by this music I'm afraid. I've listened to the C.D once and thought that although extremely pretty the songs were not at all what I had expected from the clips I had heard on Classic FM. The clips had highlighted beautiful crescendo's in the music but actually upon listening it was an anti-climax.
I was really quite disappointing and found it...
Published on 25 Feb. 2013 by Rowena Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 22 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Inspired (Audio CD)
This is a truly beautiful collection of pieces. The power and fragility of the music in the new Oratorio is superb, the voices
of the choirs balance the sublime voice of soprano Laura Wright (whose voice seems particularly suited to these pieces) and accomplished tenor Noah Stewart and with the soaring harmonies, this has to be one of the best pieces of new writing. And how great too that a 21st Century composer writes this moving music that truly describes the impact of the King James bible and yet also produces pieces such as the TV theme tunes that are popular and fitting for any audience today. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Inspired, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired (Audio CD)
Don't be fooled into thinking this CD simply features some of Howard Goodall's `greatest hits' in new arrangements! Tracks 10 - 19 are the world première recording of a beautiful, uplifting oratorio, `Every Purpose Under the Heaven' which was commissioned to commemorate the 400th anniversary of the King James Bible in 2011. The work is superbly sung by the gorgeously youthful voices of the Chamber Choir of Lincoln Minster School, together with soloists Laura Wright and Noah Stewart. And almost tucked away amongst other Goodall goodies like the familiar Mr Bean theme (`Ecce homo'), a piano fantasy on Red Dwarf's `Tongue-Tied' and a stunning new arrangement of `The Lord is My Shepherd' (featuring Craig Ogden) is another gem - `Shackleton's Cross'. This piece is movingly played on the piano by the composer and was apparently inspired by Edward Seago's painting of the same name which is in the Royal Collection. Inspired......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good all the way, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired (MP3 Download)
It is a pleasure to listen over and over again and will inspire church choirs and any musically en;igghtened person
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truely INSPIRED album, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired (Audio CD)
I love classical music and this album is such a glorious mixture of some well known pieces and some new ones. As I repeatedly listen to it I hear bits I seemed to miss the first time. it seems to be music that literally grows on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bliss!, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired (Audio CD)
Dreary outside, cosy indoors, candle lit, hot mug of tea, comfy sofa, CD on - bliss! A beautiful CD that calms and uplifts - buy it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inspired, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired (Audio CD)
I wasn't really enamored by this music I'm afraid. I've listened to the C.D once and thought that although extremely pretty the songs were not at all what I had expected from the clips I had heard on Classic FM. The clips had highlighted beautiful crescendo's in the music but actually upon listening it was an anti-climax.
I was really quite disappointing and found it difficult to listen to the soprano as I felt she was straining her voice a touch and sounded a little throaty.

Very pleasant in places but I'm not really inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired (Audio CD)
I admire Mr. Goodall`s work and this disc did not disappoint. Its beautiful. Some parts gave me "Goose Bumps"....! Its now in my ipod and I recommend it to all Mr Goodall`s fans both old and new. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting disc with the lovely voice of Laura Wright featured., 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired (Audio CD)
Again, a very likeable disc featuring Laura Wright"s beautiful voice with it"s full range from the low register to high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Howard Goodall's music is beautiful, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
Linda Smith "50s fan" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired (Audio CD)
All Howard Goodall's music is beautiful - I keep playing this CD over and over again. The theme from Blackadder is particularly moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired by Howard Goodall, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired (Audio CD)
Beautiful production. Some tracks bear constant reply. I am now a fan and will try to find more albums. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inspired
Inspired by Howard Goodall
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews