Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Marathon Running Legends of the 1980's, 27 Nov 2012
This book is a must for all running aficionados and aspiring distance runners. As well as providing a historical perspective of some of the all-time-greats of British distance running it also provides an insight into their training methods and race preparation which will undoubtedly benefit the reader. A truly inspirational book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marathons - in for the long haul, 27 Nov 2012
For competitive distance runners of a certain age, this book is a trip down memory lane and a really enjoyable read. For those contemplating running a marathon, some types of training crop up a lot but you will not find a single recipe for success here, and certainly none of the "from armchair to your first marathon in 12 weeks" stuff. What you will find in all of the in depth interviews is a clear idea of the time, effort, commitment and sheer bloody-mindedness needed to do the event and yourself justice, whether you aim to compete at international level or somewhat further back. Recommended reading for any aspiring distance runner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 13 Mar 2013
A fascinating insight in to the training methods of yesteryear's top British marathon runners. A lot of the runner's interviewed were my inspiration to start running marathons, unfortunately I've never got close to the times recorded by the interviewees but then again I've never trained as hard as any of them. A great read, I heartily recommend it if you have any aspirations to run a marathon or even if you don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for marathon runners, 29 Nov 2012
By 
S. Freeman "Red Squirrel" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is quite simply a brilliant book. Gabrielle Collison has really done her research and what comes out of the interviews is the fiercely competitive and at the same time overwhelmingly modest characters of the people running amazing times in marathons in the 1980s. As a dedicated runner myself, I realise how much more I can afford to put in to my running and the additional dedication it will take to get to the next level. I would recommend this book wholeheartedly to anyone thinking that 'just getting round' is not enough for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating for anyone who has run or wants to run a marathon, 29 Nov 2012
Fascinating accounts of how serious marathon runners trained. The dedication and determination of all the individuals is captured in their interviews, and shows what is needed to become a top class marathon runner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 28 Nov 2012
I bought this book partly because I spent much of the 1980s hanging about at UK marathons and road races while my parents ran. Not quite at the pace of the interviewees here, but pretty flipping quickly. I loved reading the insights from all those familiar names of the time: their training, their racing, their attitudes to the sport, how they lived their lives, their successes and proudest moments. And, in particular, the real grit and determination showed to succeed in an era when road running was fiercely competitive. My favourite is the story of three 10-mile runs a day on a Tuesday and Thursday, with the third 10-miler being with club mates which meant it was generally done at sub-50 minute pace. Jaw-dropping stuff. It is really interesting to think about whether there is a difference between now and then in terms of approach or mindset, which means that, for the most part, the men and women of the 1980s would absolutely whip the arses of club runners today. These interviewees are legends indeed and the author has done a brilliant job in putting this book together. Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in marathon running and who isn't looking for yet another formulaic training plan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read & learn, 27 Nov 2012
Learn nothing about the benefits of electrolyte drinks (sorry Lucoz***!) but do learn how people ran fast 30 years ago without them, what mistakes they made and what they felt worked for them. I read it thinking, "yeah, that's what I find". Being interviews its easy to pick up, rather than being faced with pages and pages of writing. Very useful in providing ideas to keep training interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read!, 27 Nov 2012
This is a unique book that focuses on British runners from yesteryear who recorded great times without any fancy aids. They simply trained hard and got on with it. This book simply explores in great detail what they did. This book is highly recommended for anyone out there who is interested firstly in British athletes and secondly what they simply did.

Certainly an interesting and novel approach to acquiring distance running knowledge. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential read for prospective marathon runners and coaches, 27 Nov 2012
I only received this book a short time ago and being halfway through another book which I wanted to finish first I am only halfway through it. However I am finding it a fascinating read and difficult to put down. The demise of British marathon running in recent years has been quite shocking and this book should be a must read for any aspiring marathon runner and definitely for their coaches. The message keeps coming through that their are no short cuts to running a fast marathon - just a fair amount of natural ability, an appropriate training schedule and a lot of seriously hard graft. As the current coach of a good standard 10k/10000m runner who is moving towards a marathon in the next 18 months I will be putting into practice a lot of information and ideas I have gleaned from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book all budding marathon runners should read, 27 Nov 2012
This books identifies the desire and self sacrifice needed to become a elite marathon runner.
Great read for all age groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews