Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok, so there's no plot.....WHO CARES!!
If you're looking for an intense evening of drama, with a wicked twist at the end, this isn't the film for you. However, if you want to enertained for a couple of hours with some fantastically over-the-top action, you can't go far wrong with MI2. If you've seen John Woo films before (Con Air, Broken Arrow, etc) then you'll know what to expect. Trademark slo-mo...
Published on 5 Nov 2000 by matty@bryant67.freeserve.co.uk

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing film but hopefully a good DVD
After the first Brian DePalma MI film which combined a complex story, solid performances and tense action set pieces to brilliant effect, it seemed things could only get better when it was announced that action master John Woo would make the sequel.
Woo directed some of the finest action films of all time (Hard Boiled, The Killer) and fresh from his success with the...
Published on 5 Nov 2000 by SKDream


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the bikes!, 4 July 2001
By A Customer
Hmmm, So I enjoyed MI:1 and figured MI:2 would be just another dodgy cash-in sequel. Yep, the plot was NOT traditional MI (I'm a fan of the old TV series) and the mask-tearoff plot twists were a bit predictable. The action sequences were fun, as you'd expect from Woo, however I was hoping for slightly more believability (?) in the motorbike scenes. Firstly, there is not one car in the film that could keep up with, let alone catch the Triumph that Cruise was riding. Secondly, try riding a bike thru a forest without eye protection and see how far you get before a bug takes out a retina. And the rolling burnout to produce a smokescreen....? An inspired idea but it just wouldn't work - sorry. What about riding sportsbikes around on soft sand? Now that IS Mission Impossible! So, It's just another Hollywood action film. Don't expect true MI and you may enjoy it. I won't be renting it again anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MI2 - Mission Accomplished, 5 Nov 2000
By A Customer
The sequel to Mission Impossible has alot to live up to - fine direction, fast action and impressive action sequences. From the outset the second Mission Impossible film does not fail to deliver. The action is non stop and Tom Cruise provides a good performance. Whilst the first Mission Impossible film could be criticised for having a plot that was at times hard to follow this is not the case with this film. The action sequences are truly spectacular and will make this DVD a popular choice along with the Matrix for must have discs. Without spoiling the plot the storyline keeps you engaged from beginning to end and the accompanying soundtrack does the film justice. In fact the CD would be a well chosen compilation in its own right. Overall a must see film and in my opinion a worthy follow up to the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing, 3 May 2001
By 
Mr. T. Ffoulkes (Omagh, Tyrone) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't know if it was Tom Cruise or John Woo's direction of him, but i found this film distinctly lacking in tension or plausability. MI:1 was a good film, very watchable. This seems to have gone the way of most sequels...downwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Mission Impossible you can understand well., 30 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This Mission Impossible is more fighting and guns than Stealth like the first Mission Impossible but still has that aspect. The fighting and shooting and also high speed scenes are directed well by John Woo and he has grabbed top stars in this film with different characters but they gel well. And for our own Scottish actor Dougray Scott, well his scottish accent in Australia was great. And he acted well in a part which was going to be hard not just starring along side a mega star Tom Cruise but he acted the mean part well. The film is shot in Australia where Dougray Scott is looking for a deadly virus named Chymera. Tom Cruise helped by his female counter part save the world again. Mission Impossible, no its easy for Tom Cruise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best action movie for year 2000, 7 Dec 2000
By A Customer
mission impossible 2 is the best action movie that was released in year 2000.everything for 5 stars movie was avaliable. the stunts were just superb and John Woo made a perfect job with Tom Cruis.the sound effects are excellent and and the stunts looks so real.it almost looks as if the movie is a real performance that is taking place infront of your eyes.although the plot is simple (that is good)but the actions are so many and so stuning. i will buy the movie as soon as it will be realesed in DVD. my advise, buy the movie and don't hesitat. i am sure that the people saying that M-I:2 is a bad movie, they are just trying to be different. it is much better then the first Mission Impossible and all the Bond movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who needs plot when you've got action like this?, 9 Dec 2000
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Fair enough, M:I2 is more than lacking in the plot department, but after approximately five minutes, you just don't care.
While M:I focused on character and tension, its sequel is much more 'dumb', but is so beautifully made, it works really well, and is refreshing for being so different to the first film. They are both excellent, just in different ways.
I'm not usually a big fan of Woo's, but I must admit that he's on top of his game here. Fantastic stunts, effects and action set-pieces and THAT musical score...it just can't go wrong. OK, so the camera just loves Cruise, and reality is not even in the same universe, but when it's this much fun, it's forgiveable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A film for the brainless, 6 Dec 2000
By A Customer
What happened to all the other MI2 characters? They where hardly touched upon. When the action sequences start, reality disappears. The motorcycle scenes are just plain stupid. A film for the brainless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You'll be blown away, 7 Nov 2000
What a scorcher of a film!! If you're thinking that this is anything like the first Mission Impossible film then you're wrong. This is pure action and escapism at it's best. There's no complex plot that the first film suffered from, just action from start to finish. Cruise is his usual best and good performances from Ving Rhames and Thandie Newton and a rather sadistic Dougray Scott as the main villan. Some outstanding scenes include the motorbike chase, Cruises plunge from a helicopter and the opening scene. The film has all the hallmarks of a John Woo classic, and if you don't know who he is...where have you been?? Buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mission Impossible? I think not!, 24 Dec 2000
By A Customer
The mission: to take one of the best spy tv series ever made and turn it into a cheap bond clone movie franchise. Mission Impossibe? Certainly not, cruise and co accomplish it with great ease. While film 1 had many of the traits of the series (it emphasised cool and clever deceptions) this is now all gone and all we have is a poor bond clone. Yes poor, because the simple fact of the matter is that when bond is on form (as in the world is not enough) it is simply not possible to out-bond him.
This time around the plot seems to have been made simple to the point where it becomes sleep inducing, the fact that the entire film has been shot in slow motion (presumably the team will turn their attention on baywatch the movie next!)does not help. The plot of the first film at least had a little meat (although it was fairly simply). This time round there isn't even the slightest attempt at a plot twist, presumably an over reaction to the fact that a huge portion of the movie going public simply cannot cope with a decent plot.
As for the cast, they fail to inspire, even Anthony Hopkins is pretty forgettable.
In short this is certainly one of the worst films of the year, indeed possibly the worst since titanic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars YOUR MISSION SHOULD YOU CHOOSE TO ACCEPT IT..., 17 Nov 2000
By A Customer
After the farce that was Mission Impossible, where you needed a degree in Brain Surgery to understand it, I was happy to go to the cinema and witness a fine action flick. Easier to understand than the original but with plenty of potholes this film is a must for any die-hard John Woo fans and fans of the original television series. Music wise, if you have a proper Dolby Digital set-up at home I wouldn't turn it up to loud as you will probably end up like I did and have your ears bleeding. All in all a worthy film to be committed to celluloid. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews