Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live Sparks!
Last year I was lucky enough to see Sparks live in Manchester on the tour documented by this album, recorded at various shows around Europe. One of the highlights of a year spent witnessing a lot of live music. This album is a great documentation of a great night which saw the Maels deconstructing their back catalogue and presenting it with keyboard and voice alone. I was...
Published 12 months ago by Number 6

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Merely adequate . . .
Sparks live is a weird thing. For several years they toured with a "band" consisting of Ron, Russell and a drummer and although fantastic to see them live the gigs, each one enormous fun, seemed to lack a little punch, musically. When Lil' Beethoven came out, the live band was expanded to include guitar and some of the punch returned... with Hello Young lovers,...
Published 11 months ago by William Vigar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40 years is a long time...., 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
Tremendous double CD souvenir of a great concert tour. All the faves, This Town, Mother Earth, Dick Around. I was also at the Ritz Manchester gig...tremendous night! Long live Sparks and long may they prosper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Merely adequate . . ., 27 April 2013
By 
William Vigar "Will Vigar" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
Sparks live is a weird thing. For several years they toured with a "band" consisting of Ron, Russell and a drummer and although fantastic to see them live the gigs, each one enormous fun, seemed to lack a little punch, musically. When Lil' Beethoven came out, the live band was expanded to include guitar and some of the punch returned... with Hello Young lovers, they included a bassist and essentially, the classic Spark lineup returned. The gigs were amazing.

Now they do a live album, their first, and they've gone back to just keyboard a voice.

To me,this seems like a retrograde step.

There's nothing wrong with reinterpreting your oeuvre, that pretty much Sparks raison d'Ítre, but for me, this album simply doesn't work and I'm secretly pleased I couldn't get to the gigs. One or two of the songs, most notably Sherlock Holmes and the sublime Singing In the shower, really benefit from this treatment, but the rest of the albums sound like one of the "intimate" encores they used to do. Which is fine as an encore, but as a whole album?

Thing is, its Sparks, and a bad Sparks album is still streets ahead of most other bands career defining albums. But Two Hands One Mouth, to this fans ears, seems a little lacklustre.

What I'd really like is an album of new material.

And to bring back the punch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Hands One Mouth Live in Europe, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
Simply brilliant. The intro medley is worth the entire album; great beats, exhilarating. If they’d been German, the album could have been called: “Two Hans One Mouth…”. However, coming from Russian stock, keep it simple: “Dve Ruki Odnogo Rot”. Yeshche prosto blestyashchiy, I say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparks live, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
Excellent idea it seemed, but does not require a second listen any time soon, Some great songs but can be a bit to easy listening at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last a live album, 26 April 2013
By 
Mr. S. M. Johns "Steve Johns" (Kent. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
Well once again the brothers Mael have come up with the goods. From the opening montage of classic tunes played by Ron as an overture to the raw voice of Russell. Well worth waiting 40 years for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great performances - mix ok, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
The Meal brothers bring their A game as always on this first ever "live" CD! Excellent choice of tunes that span the many aspects of SPARKS! Very enjoyable! Would have given it 5 stars, but audience mix in & out is choppy and at times awful. Don't let that stop you from enjoying Ron and Russ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sad, 27 May 2013
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
I have been an admirer of the mael brothers for years. I have seen them live and they are very good. But please go back to a full rock band sound. I shall not buy this album because i find the stripped down sound of sparks quite boring. So' o.k. Little Beethoven was good but it's time to move on. Please Please give us a ROCK album. I would rather have Fun than Clever any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Disappointments In A Row, One Disappointed Fan!, 12 April 2013
By 
K. J. Greenland "kevinthegerbil" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
Following on from the vastly overpriced 'The Seduction Of Ingmar Bergman' which I still refuse to purchase, Sparks toured last year; Sparks' first ever tour with just the Maels; Ron and keyboard; Russell and mic.

Sorry but Sparks first live album is rather dull. It does have it's good moments; Hospitality on Parade, Metaphor, Under The Table With Her, Singing In The Shower, The Wedding of Jacqueline Kennedy To Russell Mael and great new synth takes on The Number One Song In Heaven and Beat Clock but the rest is rather tedious Russell and piano and maybe the odd synth here and there and I couldn't wait until it ended.

The show was obviously an artistic achievement for them but it was a mistake to release it on CD when a DVD would have been better.

A big yawn, sorry :O

A good 10 track rock album next please boys!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb280303c)

This product

Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe
Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe by Sparks (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews