Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live Sparks!
Last year I was lucky enough to see Sparks live in Manchester on the tour documented by this album, recorded at various shows around Europe. One of the highlights of a year spent witnessing a lot of live music. This album is a great documentation of a great night which saw the Maels deconstructing their back catalogue and presenting it with keyboard and voice alone. I was...
Published 22 months ago by Number 6

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Merely adequate . . .
Sparks live is a weird thing. For several years they toured with a "band" consisting of Ron, Russell and a drummer and although fantastic to see them live the gigs, each one enormous fun, seemed to lack a little punch, musically. When Lil' Beethoven came out, the live band was expanded to include guitar and some of the punch returned... with Hello Young lovers,...
Published 21 months ago by William Vigar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live Sparks!, 5 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
Last year I was lucky enough to see Sparks live in Manchester on the tour documented by this album, recorded at various shows around Europe. One of the highlights of a year spent witnessing a lot of live music. This album is a great documentation of a great night which saw the Maels deconstructing their back catalogue and presenting it with keyboard and voice alone. I was unsure how this would work but work it did.
Russell's voice astonished with it's power and all in all it was a night of great songs and some interesting dance routines by both Mael brothers.
Highlights for me were the excerpts from their new opera' "The Seduction Of Ingmar Bergman" as well as a great version of lesser known 80's track "Sherlock Holmes" which easily trounces the original.
Would be nice to have some indication in the packaging where each of the tracks was recorded but it was a nice surprise as the second cd ended and Russell shouted "Thank You Manchester". A great reminder of a special night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SPARKS STRIPPED BARE, 26 May 2013
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
The title of the review alludes not only to the recording but Ron Mael flinging his shirt off at the end of the show.

I took my 12 year old daughter to see this show at the Barbican in 2012 and it was an amazing experience. We both loved it.

What is so very clever is that there are no drums to keep time, no bass guitar line to follow - it is simply Russell finding the right notes and following the cues in his head, whilst Ron accompanies on keyboards. Despite this perceived handicap, there are no timing issues and no bum notes (either vocally or instrumentally) and the result is a joy.

It is fascinating to hear songs old and new stripped down like this. It is an album that needs to be listened to and worked at - but only when you take the time to really listen to it does one realise how damned clever these guys are and what a feat this show was/is.

4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purists not Tourists!, 18 July 2013
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
Their 1st live album sees Ron & Russell giving a new twist to their own songs. "Plagiarism" I hear you cry, no, unlike the 1997 release, where they re-recorded their own tracks, THOM has the classics "This Town", "Beat the Clock" & "Good Morning" stripped bare. As the title suggests, this is the lads & no-one else - and boy, does it work! What makes it one for the purists is their choice of songs - obscure little numbers such as "Sherlock Holmes", "Under The Table With Her" & "Singing In The Shower" blend perfectly with favourites like "Dick Around" & "Never Turn Your Back.." alongside the more recent "Rhythm Thief" & "Metaphor". This collection is an absolute 'must have' for Sparks fans & a 'must listen to' for the enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hand clap, 18 May 2014
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
I saw sparks in London and Brighton on this Tour.They were both brilliant nights.I was not sure how this would sound on cd as live albums are mostly dreadful but i loved it apart from one thing and that is the very annoying audiance hand clapping during the songs.i do wish people would stop doing this at gigs.if they are not clapping then they are filming which should also stop.Rant over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparks - Raw Energy!, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
I write this as a Sparks fan for many years. Ron and Russel excel on this live double album of their recent tour.
Don't expect lavish production though as this is bare and stripped down to the bone just 2 men and a keyboard. However it is all the better for this giving the songs old and new a fresh energy and showing the sheer genius of the original compositions.

The songs are varied theatrical and at times best described as the sound you would imagine produced if Gilbert & Sullivan were composing opera whilst under the influence, absolutely mad brilliance.

Sparks fans will love it and I had the CD on repeat in the car over and over again, it's strangely addictive.

For those not familiar with Sparks keep an open mind and give it a listen you wont believe it but you may end up loving it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From Chamber to Virtuoso Pop, 18 Jun. 2014
By 
Salsa Guy (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
Sparks – what to say about Sparks? Two brothers who have for the past 45 years or so been cross pollinating various pop and rock sub-genres, and occasionally bringing in other musical influences too. They have been at the very forefront of pre-empting new musical movements, and then fluttering off to the next thing just before it becomes commercial. In Ron Mael we have probably the most underrated song writer of his generation – much better than...well no, let’s not offend anyone. In Russell, we have a brilliant vocalist, versatile and with top end power and drama very few singers could ever hope to emulate. And these boys can put on a performance too.

The atmosphere of the performance is captured in full, and this is a powerful, compelling and utterly enjoyable live album. I won’t detail the musical accomplishment – others have done so better than I could. Suffice to say, strip away all the other wonderful things about Sparks, and Ron and Russell demonstrate, as though proof were ever needed after the last few albums in particular, that they are each superb musicians in their own right too.

Few performers nowadays would have the bottle to strip their music down like this, and stand live on their own sheer musical merits – and I’m not sure any would sound as good as Sparks do on this excellent album.

So one for the fans? Most certainly – but not just for the fans - anyone with two ears one soul, can’t help but be moved by this brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe, 5 April 2014
By 
12stringbassist "....." (NorthWest, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
Sublime live recording from European tour. Just Ron and Russell, piano and vocal running through some of the best songs from their 22 album back catalogue. No overdubs. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm on the record!!, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
I went to see the boys on their tour of the same name last year. It was at the Manchester gig, which is the track that closes the album, so somewhere, my cheering and applause is on the disc.

What can I say - if you're a Sparks fan, then you'll buy the record anyway. If you're not then this isn't probably the best introduction to their genius. As it says on the tin, this is just 2 hands (Ron on his 'Ronald' keyboard) and one mouth (Russel's age-defying vocals) and nothing else.

For two guys approaching their 70's, this is a testament to how good they still are though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well well, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
off to seee them live now, as a consequesne of listening to this and then feeling I would treat my wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One for the fans, 15 Sept. 2013
By 
This review is from: Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe (Audio CD)
Live albums are always a bit tricky: the sound is rarely as good as a studio album, and you miss the effect of actually being there. This one makes me very sad to have missed the concerts.

Mind you, I have seen them live several times before, including performing all their albums during their wonderful "Sparks Spectacular" back in 2008. Because this is one for at least some of the fans - not everyone, as you can see - who can appreciate some of the Maels' extensive and highly varied catalogue being done very differently. Not all of it works, and there's nothing here that will become the definitive version of the song in the way that some of the reworkings of their Plagiarism album improve on the originals. (Having said that, I do particularly like "The No 1 Song in Heaven" and "Beat the Clock" here, where Ron stops pretending he has a piano and uses the synth as a synth.)

If you don't already have at least a couple of Sparks albums and didn't see this live, then I don't think this is going to be for you. Get one of the 'greatest hits' packages or Plagiarism album, and at least one of the later albums. But if you know at least half the songs, give it a go. It's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe
Two Hands One Mouth Live In Europe by Sparks (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews