Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars one well written and a joy to read
As an honest account of the life of a rock'n'roll'n'soul musician, one well written and a joy to read, you will need to get through a lot of books before you find one as good as All The Rage. We sadly lost Mac in December 2014 and this was written several years back, before he lost his beloved wife Kim. However, for excellent codas please read the tributes from Billy...
Published 3 months ago by Richard Cockerton

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Small Face
Every page drugs get mentioned. Got a bot bored of it after a while. Not a great read. Don't buy
Published 9 months ago by Mr. R. Pilch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars one well written and a joy to read, 31 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Rage: My high life with the Small Faces, the Faces, the Rolling Stones and many more (Kindle Edition)
As an honest account of the life of a rock'n'roll'n'soul musician, one well written and a joy to read, you will need to get through a lot of books before you find one as good as All The Rage. We sadly lost Mac in December 2014 and this was written several years back, before he lost his beloved wife Kim. However, for excellent codas please read the tributes from Billy Bragg and Annie Nightingale, currently available via The Guardian website.

Mac got his playing chops switched on by Booker T & The MGs 'Green Onions' and this is telling as you track his life through the tales in this book. There are of course stories of sex'n'drugs'n'rock'n'roll but throughout you will hear the voice of a man passionate for playing his part in producing great music, both live and on the recordings he has left us to enjoy.

Ah, the music. Like most, my own favourites vary be it the delightful simultaneously innocent and psychedelic 'Itchycoo Park', the party of 'Stay With Me' or my current repeat listen, the Rolling Stones 'Miss You' with his great sound playing just under the groove - lovely stuff. This fab book will take you back to those records and hear again Mac's wonderful contribution to them.

NB - it appears the actual book is out of print, second hand copies have become a tad expensive since I bought mine - nothing like a death to up the buck - and while I'm sure a reprint will come along in 2015, its a steal in its current Kindle version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great rock story, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Rage: My high life with the Small Faces, the Faces, the Rolling Stones and many more (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. very honestly told. funny. great stories. If you are a 60s 70s music fan. If you loved the small faces/ the faces .
Mac is a natural. great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Drugs, drugs, a bit of vandalism, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Rage: My high life with the Small Faces, the Faces, the Rolling Stones and many more (Kindle Edition)
Interesting story, in a similar vein to the majority of Rock autobiographies. From the accounts given it's a wonder any of the Small Faces made it past the age of 30 - they were consuming large quantities of drugs constantly it seems. When on tour a hotel smash-up was almost expected. It is quite well written, and the early years of musical develiopment seemed honest and interesting. There is a theme throughout of Ian underestimating his achievements as an organist. He was sought out by many of the big name groups throughout his working life, but he sees this as mostly good luck.
Towards the end of the book a lot of the book got a bit bogged down in describing Ian's love for his wife. I found that less interesting, but that's just me.
In common with most of this type of book is the description of the greed and avarice of the managers and recording companies, and the way in which our heroes were fleeced. The Small Faces, like many others were very young and too busy making music, taking drugs and having a ball to fully realise how much they were being ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rock & Roll Autobiography, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Rage: My high life with the Small Faces, the Faces, the Rolling Stones and many more (Kindle Edition)
I'd long admired Mac's outstanding Hammond Organ and Piano playing with the Small Faces and the Faces, but this excellent book also details his experiences with other rock greats such as the Stones, Dylan, Bonnie Rait and blues stars like Howling Wolf and Sonny Boy Williamson. He was also a true music fan, who, despite his youthful good looks, could party and consume booze and drugs on an industrial scale.

Well written, touching, funny and candid, it has a new poignancy following Mac's recent death. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great rock an' roll read!, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Rage: My high life with the Small Faces, the Faces, the Rolling Stones and many more (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant stuff! That just about sums up this book. I really loved it and would recommend it anyone who loves the rock and roll lifestyle ... or at least reading about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Rage: My high life with the Small Faces, the Faces, the Rolling Stones and many more (Kindle Edition)
The Small Faces were one of the greatest bands ever, and this inside story busts a few myths and provides an insight you won't find elsewhere.
Why was Ronnie Lane really nicknamed Plonk? You'll find out here.

Great tales of life with The Faces & The Rolling Stones. Like all good rock stories, you'll find plenty of partying & a fair dose of tragedy.

Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Rage: My high life with the Small Faces, the Faces, the Rolling Stones and many more (Kindle Edition)
one of the best rock books I have ever read.really honest and at times very funny.ian mclagan was a real talent, and one of my favourite musi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny and eye opening, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Rage: My high life with the Small Faces, the Faces, the Rolling Stones and many more (Kindle Edition)
A really enjoyable, funny and eye opening, sometimes sad story of his career if your are into music of that time....R.I.P Ian MacLagan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT READ, 25 July 2014
This review is from: All The Rage: My high life with the Small Faces, the Faces, the Rolling Stones and many more (Kindle Edition)
GREAT STORIES, GREAT READ, GREAT LIFE, GREAT STUFF!!!No hard luck story here just good times from the 60' s to the present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 24 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Rage: My high life with the Small Faces, the Faces, the Rolling Stones and many more (Kindle Edition)
A very frank and honest auto biography great British band all the more sad now Mac has sadly passed away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews