Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, great performance
Having used some of TP-Link's older hardware that is a bit more primitive in appearance, this model is much more sleek and sophisticated. Some might argue it's a bit on the large side, but in reality, it accommodates a full suite of 4x gigabit LAN ports and a gigabit WAN port, plus 2x USB 2.0 ports as well as the triple external antenna array and concealed triple internal...
Published on 21 Mar. 2013 by Chappers

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Medium performance considering wifi range!
According the reviews and price i expected a powerfull wifi router but unfortunately in my case it didnt satisfied me...at all.Wifi signal is not strong enough and in first floor of my house have no connection..!
Published 23 months ago by Stavros Polyzos


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Medium performance considering wifi range!, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Cable Router (Personal Computers)
According the reviews and price i expected a powerfull wifi router but unfortunately in my case it didnt satisfied me...at all.Wifi signal is not strong enough and in first floor of my house have no connection..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as reliable as my BT Infinity HH3, 11 May 2013
By 
O E J - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Cable Router (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I didn't expect to be saying that my BT Infinity Home Hub is better than this - but....well, it just is. Spec-wise the TP-Link is better, but what I want more than anything is reliability, not in terms of mechanical breakdown or faults but in terms of having a good broadband signal consistently, 24/7. The BT HH3 is far from perfect and I've cursed at it more than once, but since it was replaced (free) by a BT engineer a few months back - for an identical-looking but apparently upgraded spec model - it's been very, very reliable.

And that's the thing. I can't say the same about the TP-Link router. It freezes up and has to be reset or just switched off and switched back on again, which is a pain I can do without. A quick flick through some of the other reviews here shows me that this is not an uncommon problem so I don't think I've got a duff one - it just isn't that good. So I'm back using the BT hub and while it continues to provide reliable service I have no complaints. As for the TP-Link - I don't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, great performance, 21 Mar. 2013
By 
Chappers "chappers" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Cable Router (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having used some of TP-Link's older hardware that is a bit more primitive in appearance, this model is much more sleek and sophisticated. Some might argue it's a bit on the large side, but in reality, it accommodates a full suite of 4x gigabit LAN ports and a gigabit WAN port, plus 2x USB 2.0 ports as well as the triple external antenna array and concealed triple internal array.

Typically labelled as a "Cable Router", the same rules apply in that this is simply a Router which has no in-built modem, so you are quite at liberty to use high speed non-"cable" (ie. ADSL, Fiber, Satellite etc.) broadband with this device if you choose, provided you have a separate modem for whatever your flavour of broadband and are feeding it the broadband signal via the gigabit WAN port.

The two headline specifications for this product are the 4x gigabit LAN ports combined with the high speed (450+450) dual-band wireless network. For the uninitiated, this translates to being able to move data around your network at high speed not just on hard-wired devices, but also on compatible wireless devices that can take advantage of the 5Ghz wi-fi band. As high-speed internet is becoming wider-spread, speeds of over 100Mbps would not be appreciated if you were using networking hardware that maxed out at 100Mbps (ie. non-gigabit LAN ports and non-high-speed wireless). The wireless system here supports up to 450Mbps on the 2.4Ghz band, and a second simultaneous 450Mbps on the 5Ghz band. People who store and stream High Definition movies in their homes can benefit from being able to get simultaneous distribution of content without hitting the barriers that non-high-speed networking equipment would struggle with.

The 4900 is the top model in this particular range, which pushes for 900Mbps WAN-to-LAN throughput, beating the lesser models which only list as supporting 800Mbps WAN-to-LAN throughput.

Set-up is relatively straight-forward. As always, take a steady approach and you'll get there. There are no major issues that I could ascertain.

The only potential black mark you could throw at this product is the use of USB 2.0 not USB 3.0, which would have allowed connection of high-speed USB 3.0 peripherals.

There are a couple of other competitors in this price-band, but you have to be specifically wanting the full 450+450 wireless performance to warrant spending this kind of money on a wireless gigabit router, else you could save yourself some dough and opt for a 450+300 model which might not offer quite as strong wireless performance but would save you some money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wireless bliss, 9 Mar. 2013
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Cable Router (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a top of the range router that will provide a superb uninterrupted signal in any home.

The installation process is quiet simple and easy with a nice set of instructions.

There are 4 GB ethernet ports and the internet connection is ultra fast ( if your provider allows it).

The unit itself is a bit large but stylish and looks good on any surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, 25 Feb. 2013
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Cable Router (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is quite easy to set up, which is always a plus. Disconnect your original devices, wire this up, pop in the installation disc and you're away (if the cable modem you have from your provider is a wireless router also, it is probably wise to switch off the wireless broadcast!)

The advantage of this router is that you can broadcast over a 2.4GHz band and 5GHz at the same time. I've looked up the specs and it appears that this is handled by two separate chips, which is nice. One band can be used for things like web browsing and so forth, while the 5GHz is better for gaming and HD streaming.

There are also two USB sockets at the back, which you can use for FTP, sharing media over your network and sharing printers (though Windows does make the latter exceptionally easy anyway, so I haven't bothered altering my set up there).

It is quite expensive, but if you are in the market for a wireless router, it's worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty shameful performance out of the box. Drop outs in 2.4Ghz when using a USB 2.0 drive as NAS., 27 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. L. Riley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Cable Router (Personal Computers)
NAS storage seemed to cause frequent drop outs on the 2.4GHz band. Data throughput fluctuated like mad when I tested it. Rather disappointing.

My advice would be to wait longer for more AC products (or better yet AD 5Ghz+) and get a more substantial, reliable product. My TP-Link WR1043ND blows this thing out of the water.

Sent this back, still using my old TP-Link router which is infinitely better.

If a unit cannot work as described out of the box and fails to work appropriately on the stock firmware, then it's better off going back. I only do firmware flashes if it fixes uncommon bugs that doesn't impact general, basic use, or further improves a device with extra improvements/features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Modem - the only way to improve Virgin Media - (maybe Sky), 8 Mar. 2014
By 
B. Panissie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Cable Router (Personal Computers)
Well, like most people who bought this - reading reviews and other peoples experience with the cr*p Virgin Media Modem they supply - I decided to use their modem in Modem mode - and link it to this one!

So glad I did - not only has my wifi improved - i no longer get drop outs, or bottle necks to reboot the modem - last check i did before this review - full connection, still running strong after 3 weeks with no reboot..

A breeze to set-up if you read the manual and you know what things mean....

great buy - great price! don't go for the more expensive Netgears - as this is truly a good product for under £100!

Sky users - this may work... not sure - but VM users - buy safely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy buy buy, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Cable Router (Personal Computers)
Like everyone else I spend ages thinking this one over. The price was too good to believe compared to the other products on the market. Anyway I bought it and haven't looked back. Don't know what other reviewer were talking about but I have had it on for 4 months and have only had to restart it went virgin back up because of the "hot weather".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Cable Router (Personal Computers)
The additional features it comes it s great bonus for this item. Also the price it is advertised is amazing in comparison with like to like router. However, I feel as though the range is not as strong as I thought it would be. I have some drop spots in my house and I assumed that with this router this should solve this issue. It pretty much covers the same area as what an free ordinary router provided by your internet service provider.

All in all, for the price I reckon it is still a good item to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haven't had a single dropped connection since I installed this, 16 May 2013
By 
Delfhill (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WDR4900 N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Cable Router (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
One of the most annoying things about getting a new router is when it's a complete pain to install. Thankfully this router was a doddle - I didn't bother with the setup CD because I don't like installing unnecessary third party software, and I had it up and running in less than 5 minutes. As always make sure you change the default password as soon as you can.

Out of the box, the router looks good. It's finished in gloss black with blue symbols on the front. It's on the large side but it does have a low profile - until you pop the antennas up,that is. It's silent when running too, so no problems there.

I've opted for the longer range frequency and not tried the shorter range due to the fact our house is notoriously bad (good?) at blocking signals. I haven't had a drop in connection for several months, the router has recovered from power failures without issue, and generally has been very easy to live with. The range is also very good - I can be a good 40ft away in my garden and it still works without issue. Much better than the rotten unreliable router Virgin Media gave me.

The admin panel is also easy to use with a helpful explanatory panel on the right hand side to let you know what you're fiddling with. Settings you can control are: Network, Dual Band Selection, Wireless 2.4GHz, Wireless 5GHz, DHCP, USB Settings, NAT, Forwarding, Security, Parental Control, Access Control, Advanced Routing, Bandwidth Control, IP & MAC Binding, Dynamic DNS, IPv6, System Tools.

With advanced features such as the NAT and Print server settings, as well as USB connections this router has a rich feature list as is good value for money.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews