Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2012
After having read Blood Land, the first book in the series of mysteries starred by Sheriff James Pruett, I was quite looking forward to reading the second book in the series. My patient waiting was rewarded and I wasn't disappointed. R. S. Guthrie is a master of characterisation, creating great and remarkable characters that feel quite alive on the pages. Sheriff James Pruett is still fighting against his inner demons in this new novel, and even though he thinks that he can manage to do so, things will get difficult very soon, and the apparent calm of his little town in Wyoming will be threatened by something bigger than them: drug cartels.

When a plane crashes nearby Sheriff Pruett's little town, lots of things start happening: murder, kidnapping, lots of threats, and many other dangerous situations. Sheriff Pruett will face difficult choices, choices involving moral issues. His decisions won't only affect himself, but also the rest of the community in that little spot in Wyoming.

It is an action-packed thriller, character-driven, and with a very suitable pace, according to the length of the book. The story is simply so interesting that you cannot stop reading. I read this book in a total of 6 hours. You get so immersed in the story, thanks to the vivid and detailed descriptions, that you feel as if you were transported to the rough landscapes of Wyoming. You can feel things, you can smell things, you can even touch things. The descriptions are just perfect for me.

The only odd thing I found has to do with a couple of characters, but I won't say it here because it would spoil things. I will just say that writers must be very careful with the different ways in which they name their characters along the book. Otherwise, sometimes the reader can get confused.

To sum up, this book is so good that you won't regret reading it, and you will await impatiently for the next installment. However, I think all of you would enjoy it better if you read Blood Land first. This book could be a stand-alone novel, but I really think it works best if you know what happened in the first book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Amazon Product Description:

Money Land is the sequel to the bestselling and riveting Blood Land that introduced the Sheriff James Pruett Mystery/Thriller series. Big crime has come literally crashing down on the small town of Wind River, Wyoming.

When a small plane bound for the Canadian border carrying money for the Sustantivo Cartel smashes into the glacial Wind River Mountains, the event brings a heartless evil presence to one of the more remote places on earth.

The tail of the plane is discovered, empty. No drugs. No money. Shortly afterward, people start dying. When the cartel comes to town, Pruett will do anything within his power to save his town, his people, the land, and his family. Anything.

Once again in the sparse, gritty, starkly poetic styling of James Lee Burke, Tony Hillerman, and John D. MacDonald, R.S. Guthrie brings you his classic hero, at odds against the drug cartel, his own friends and citizens, and federal agencies that begin to sniff out a chance to attack an international crime organization.

As I said with Blood Land, the first thing you should do is buy this book! Go there, buy it, like I did. This is top-quality literary fiction at a bargain price! If you haven't read it yet, go ahead and get Blood Land and read it first. It will give you a much better foundation and understanding of the demons which pursue Sheriff James Pruett elentlessly and form his breadth of character, though Money Land can stand on its own with ease.

As with the first novel in this series, this is an absolutely gorgeous second act. The author writes with the soul of a poet; his prose is killer! He delivers his characters completely formed, with their philosophical leanings as well as their physical characteristics all in place.

The background is placed where the author grew up, with rough, rugged characters that mirror that terrain. This and the first one in the series is an epic story, and I'm hard-put to imagine the author will confine it to a mere three books. Sheriff Pruett has the depth of character to turn into many years of writing, without a doubt! We can only hope the author doesn't leave us hanging at three.

I continue to be impressed with the soulful writing of author Guthrie...a man who has clearly known pain and its residual effects. He has a very deep mind which can twist and turn your emotions with great ease, leaving you breathless! As I said with the first book, you'll never, ever see the next thing coming. Guthrie is the master of grabbing your attention and slamming it into a wall of conundrums. You will find yourself asking, "Oh, hell, how's he gonna get out of that?", over and over. None of his writing is poorly contrived or gratuitous. It's as real as fiction can get.

Money Land is fiction at its best. I joyfully recommend it to readers who are sick of boring plots, characters and stories. Author Guthrie can and will take you on a ride that will haunt you for a long time. He will cause you to question your own soul as to what lengths you would go to protect your community and way of life. It is deep, wide, brimming with vivid life, and very, very memorable!!

-- Jo VonBargen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
In the opening pages of this fantastic novel you will find the line that sums up (at least to this reader) the entire story: "Greed. There is nothing more poisonous, more insidious, and more merciless than greed."

No truer words have ever been written, and Mr. Guthrie takes the above stance on the source of true evil and paints, in vivid, dark detail, just what deplorable depths human beings are capable of sinking to in their never-ending quest for MORE.

On the flip side of this beautifully spun second novel in the Sheriff James Pruett series, you find yourself immersed inside the painful, sad world of the seriously flawed hero, Sheriff Pruett. A damaged man from the ravages of war. A man struggling to contain the monster that resides in his soul from clawing its way out, forcing his hand to snatch up the nearest bottle and drink the poison. A man learning to cope with being alone in the world after the death of his soul-mate and best friend three years prior.

A man struggling, minute by minute, to keep from burying his wounded spirit inside a bottle of Heaven Hills bourbon.

When the temptation to give is nearly consumes him, the Sheriff is given a chance at salvation, and a test of his true inner strength, when the murderous drug cartel descends upon his small town, bringing hell and all its fury with them.

A spine-tingling read that keeps you turning the pages until the very end! Bravo, Mr. Guthrie, BRAVO!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
OMG!! Mr Guthrie has done it again with his awesome creation Sheriff Pruett! Kidnap, torture, murder and mayhem come to Wind River - throw in a vicious Mexican drug cartel whose Jefe (stupidly) takes on the Sheriff and threatens his family, friends and the town itself...
You've got a cracker of a story here and it is very hard to put down. The landscape often takes centre stage and a good smattering of folk from Blood Land are on hand to crank up the emotional intensity or simply provide a flash of sheer air-punching (read the bit where Longpole LaRue Hilton meets a cartel hired hand and I defy you not to whoop and cheer - as I'm sure readers did when reading his antics in Blood Land!!) We are never allowed to forget that the Sheriff tries to do the right thing, even if he does not like to do it and you do get the sense he is a righteous man despite being beset by daemons and torments. There are hundreds of quotable bits in this novel - one of my favourites is "Pruett spent the chopper ride to the mountains inside his own head, a place that could be comforting or terrifying, depending on who was running the reel-to-reel projector." Do yourself a favour and just get this book and read it, it rattles along at a goodish pace and you will not be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
After reading the first in the series of the James Pruett Mysteries I was certainly not disappointed with Money Land the second in the series. Money Land takes you into the depths of a drug cartel and what they are prepared to sacrifice at the expense of others to get what they want. James Pruett needs to protect his home town and he manages to convince it's entire occupants into agreeing to join him. They come together all willing and ready to protect their homes and land. The life of James Pruett's daughter is at risk if he does do what the cartel ask of him. James Pruett is torchered within and constantly battling with his inner demons to keep the whisky bottle at bay. Not one for spoilers you will have to read the book to seek the outcome!! Beautifully written, faultless in it's entirety, R.S.Guthrie once again produces a master piece and one that in my opinion rivals the best of the best. I look forward to reading more from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
I was immediately pulled into this story of a drug cartel operations gone bad. Guthrie sets up the dilemma of someone whose life has spun out of control and must now make decisions that could spin it the rest of the way toward disaster. We don't know the outcome of that decision until near the end of the story, which shifts to the main point-of-view character, James Pruett. Pruett is a crusty, no-nonsense black sheriff of a small Wyoming mountain town that must now deal with the dangerous mess he's been handed. Money Land almost had the feel of an old Zane Grey range-war saga, where the stakes were high, the bullets were flying, and you weren't sure who was left standing until the dust settled. If you enjoy fast-paced thrillers in scenic locales, you may want to give this a try. Be advised, the violence level of Guthrie's story is intense and not for the faint-hearted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
You know when you're in the hands of a multi-talented writer when you make a mental and physical connection with a book. It's as if you are not reading at all but watching a film onscreen in your mind's eye. Money Land opens with a bang. The excitement and explosions of imagination continue with firecracker rapidity. The plot twists and turns right up to the very last words when Rob (RS) Guthrie deftly pulls the outstanding story strands together. The reader momentarily wears a quizzical expression quickly followed a 'Aah - I get it' when the final penny drops. Superb. And superbly crafted characters. For me, the oustanding element of this book was the clear evidence that this writer has lived life to the max and we are all sharers in that authentic experience. I'm now going to read Blood Land as soon as my blood pressure gets back to normal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Being a big fan, I was really looking forward to his latest work. This book reunites us with some of the characters from Blood Land and once again the author paints them beautifully. That book was supposed to be his Magnum Opus, but I think Guthrie has created something equally impressive.

The latest story involves a drug-smuggling ring who lose a massive amount of money in Sheriff Pruett's territory, and its up to our hero to prevent the town being decimated as the cartel seeks its return.

I won't go any further into the story, but I will say that Guthrie has created some fantastic characters, believable in every way, and this story carries you along at a cracking pace.

Can't recommend this enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
I found the name Money Land: A Hard Boiled Murder Mystery misleading because, to me, this novel reads more like a cross between a thriller and a western. It’s the story of the escalating confrontation between a small town Wyoming sheriff and enforcers from a Mexican drug cartel. It starts when a small plane carrying twenty million dollars of drug money in need of laundering crashes into the Wyoming countryside, and someone steals the loot. The book is well written, the setting is detailed, and the characters well defined. Considering the subject matter, expect violence. There’s a lot of bloodshed, but it serves the story and carries the plot. In all—a very satisfying read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
James Pruett is a conflicted man. His wife died two years ago. He is a county sheriff in Wyoming, a father, and a Vietnam vet whose thinking is colored by his experiences in the war. When the wreckage of a private plane carrying millions of dollars in drug money is found near Wind River the cartel shows up. But the money is gone—a sure recipe for disaster.
Guthrie captures the independence and harsh beauty of life in Wyoming, the perfect setting for the story. The characters are believable, the action is non-stop. Money Land is a real good vs. evil story even when the good guys aren’t sure themselves if they are on the side of right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse