Customer Reviews


503 Reviews
5 star:
 (255)
4 star:
 (108)
3 star:
 (83)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JACK IS BACK, BUT WHERE IS EVERYONE ELSE?
The film starts out with ominous music. An old sailor is discovered who was once on a ship that was looking for the Fountain of Youth...200 years ago! This sets off a frenzy to look for the Fountain. You would think without Orlando and Keira, the movie would be a bust. What I missed more than those two stars were the minor actors who played the crew. They were colorful...
Published 14 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film too far
Not nearly as good as the original trilogy - just Hollywood trying to make more money out of a tried and tested formula.
Published on 23 Nov 2012 by cupoftea


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JACK IS BACK, BUT WHERE IS EVERYONE ELSE?, 15 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The film starts out with ominous music. An old sailor is discovered who was once on a ship that was looking for the Fountain of Youth...200 years ago! This sets off a frenzy to look for the Fountain. You would think without Orlando and Keira, the movie would be a bust. What I missed more than those two stars were the minor actors who played the crew. They were colorful characters who we have come to know. Alas, except for a few, they're gone. The action is the same: sword fights, impossible escapes, humorous dialouge, and unexpected turns. We get to meet Jack's father and Angelica Malon (Penélope Cruz) the later of which Jack supposedly deflowered right before she was getting ready to take her vowels in a Spanish convent. No surprise there.

Now in order to use the Fountain of Youth, there must be a ritual. We discover early on the ritual requires two silver chalices and a mermaid's tear. We also discover that the Black Pearl has been sunk and Hector is working for the crown. Through a series of events, Jack becomes Shanghaied on Black Beard's (Ian McShane) ship. We have 3 groups after the Fountain, the Spanish, the English who have Gibbs who has memorized the map, and Blackbeard. While Jack is in the hold, Angelica is Black Beard's first mate having convinced him she is his long lost daughter. As always in these movies everyone has their own ideas, desires, and shifting alliances.

The group must go on these quests to gather the items before going to the Fountain. (I see an RPG in the making.)

The silver chalices are not just any 2 silver chalices but the ones that belonged to Ponce De Leon.

The mermaids have the beauty and allure of a Siren, but when they attack they have super-human strength and vampire teeth, making their capture a bit tricky and deadly. I fell in love with the doll face of the first mermaid (Gemma Ward who actually plays a character called Dollface in "The Strangers".) I know this is a Disney movie and this should go without saying...The mermaids are indeed topless, but the camera angles, hair and arm placements prevent any kind of "R" view. There might be a parent or two concerned due to some of the photos that are out there.

One piece of dialouge:

Jack: "You lied to me by telling me the truth?"

Angelica: "Yes."

Jack: "That's very good. I'll have to use that."

Good View on the big screen. Lacks the ornate special effects of the other 3 movies as well as many of the characters. It appears they did this on less of a budget in order to get a larger net return. 4 1/2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars on stranger tides is I think one of the better pirates films for me there isn't one of those ..., 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Apart from curse of the black pearl ! on stranger tides is I think one of the better pirates films for me there isn't one of those epic sword fights that go on for ever without any one getting a scratch, apart from the small skirmish Johnny Depp has with Penelope Cruz early on in the film The cast is as usual immense? too many to name but they all play there part in making this an enjoyable movie The plot in this episode is the fountain of youth ? some want to find it for what ever and some want to destroy it?? The mermaids are a nice addition to the film with them doing there usual as females having to faces HaHa one nice, one unpleasant to say the least. Depp plays his role brilliant as Captain Jack and Penelope Cruz as Ian mc,shanes daughter is a beautiful female pirate also having two faces to her a, lovely addition to the film . The climax to the film isn't quite what you think will happen but some of the cast stars get what they want and a few do not !! Full of action film though with voodoo playing a big part, black beards ship ie Ian mc,shane has some familiar faces on it from different series past you should know?So for me a great couple of hours well spent in front of the tv .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'JOHNNY DEPP' CARRIES THE DAY', 4 Oct 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The first of the 'Pirates' films was always gonna be a hard act to follow. and in truth has never been matched by the three that have followed, however 'Johnny Depp's' role as 'Captain Jack Sparrow' remains the focus of the humour that has carried on throughout.
in this film --the race is on to find the legendary 'Fountain Of Youth'
With the ''Evil'' Mermaids in waiting the film delivers much tongue in cheek action and humour.........it's great family entertainment as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stranger Tides, 30 Jan 2012
If you ever needed proof why you shouldn't listen to critics, the Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, part 4 in the series, is it. Part 2 and part 3 received quite a thrashing from critics despite still cashing in pretty big at the box office. So, there's no reason why they would treat part 4 any different. But that's just it. It is different. Without Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley, whom you won't even miss having in this film, you should expect a new storyline and new characters and that's exactly what you get. Barbossa and Gibbs are back, but other than Captain Jack, Jack the Monkey, and even a cameo from Jack's father (Keith Richards), you have a whole new cast of characters.

The film picks up with the same plot where the last one left off, with the Fountain of Youth being the focus. Captain Jack escapes the gallows with Gibbs only to discover someone is impersonating him and getting a crew together to go find the fountain. The imposter turns out to be Angelica Teach (Penelope Cruz), the daughter of Blackbeard (Ian McShane) who wants to find the fountain to save her father from a doomed prophecy.

Angelica and Jack apparently have a past love interest together and she tricks him into joining the crew because she knows he has the map and that he's been to the fountain. But to get the spell of the fountain to work, they'll have to collect certain items that are needed, including the tear of a mermaid. So, the movie becomes a race for Blackbeard's crew, the Spanish, and the English, to collect the items needed and get to the fountain first!

Blackbeard is a colorful and well played evil pirate. You can expect the same entertainment that you got from Davy Jones and Barbossa in the previous films. Cruz definitely holds her own in the cast of men. Depp is Jack through and through, prancing about and always cleverly escaping trouble. And Geoffrey Rush as Barbossa again is up to his old conniving tricks, undercover on the English side, despite having a peg leg now.

The movie provides lots of fast paced action mainly in the form of sword fights and doesn't rely heavily on special effects like the last film. And then there are the mermaids! The intense and evil beauties which provide a large part of entertainment in the middle of the film, and even a small romantic subplot that grabs your attention.

There's an equal amount of time spent on land and at sea, and although the movie had a slow start as it set up the plot, I would almost say this one was better than the last one. If you are a fan of the other films, you will definitely be entertained and think that this film is a great addition to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missionaries, Mermaids and more Madcap Mayhem, 10 Jun 2011
By 
KAT "tatethegr8" (Kettering Northants) - See all my reviews
I've seen Pirates of The Carribbean 4: On Stranger Tides, twice now at the cinema (once in 3D and once in 2D) and I have to say I love it. I know not everyone will agree, but for me, Pirates 4 is my favourite out of all of its predecessors. I didn't rate 2 much, and 3 was a bit too complex, but this installment more than makes up for the dissapointment of the last two. In this installment, you have not 1, not 2, but 3 notorious Pirates, all bidding for the same thing; to the find the passage to the Fabled Fountain of Youth. For Jack Sparrow, who is as hilariously mad, 'evil' and funny as ever, its the thrill of the search, for Blackbeard, its all about saving his soul from the one-legged man who is phophesised to kill him, and for Barbosa, now a Privateer in the Kings Navy, its all about extracting revenge on Blackbeard for taking his beloved Pearl - and his leg. With two crews, three pirates, plus the Spanish, all racing to get to the fountain first, there are many hilarious high-jinx and mad-cap mutanies along the way, and Sparrow as usual, finds himself forced to swap sides during the course of film, resulting in much mayhem and mirth.

But before they reach the fountain the crew have to precure one vital ingrediant - the tear of a Mermaid. Easier said than done as it turns out that the Mermaids,(One of whom is model and actress Gemma Ward), far from being mythical and magical, are vicious and deadly, and who will slay the skin from any Sailor who crosses their path. With he help of unwitting Missionary Philip Swift (The gorgeous Sam Claflin) they finally manage trap a Mermaid, and proceed to the Fountain. With Penelope Cruz as Blackbeards daughter and Sparrows old flame, Angelica, also aboard, their mission can only spell trouble, especially as they don't bank on Phillip falling in love with the beautiful Mermaid, Syrena (The stunning Astrid Burges-Frisbey). Eventually reaching the fabled fountain, Blackbeard comes face to face with his old advasary Barbosa, and a fight to the death ensues, with Sparrow as usual manipulating and twisting the eventual outcome to his own hilarious advantage.

The film ends yet again, on a bit of a cliff-hanger and you just know there has to be a number 5 to tie up all the loose ends. Although Keira Knightly and Orlando Bloom are not in this film, I didn't really miss them much to be honest, and Sam Claflin and Astrid Berges-Frisbey as the stalwart missionary and the beautiful Mermaid do a great job of replacing Will and Elizabeths previous romantic element in the film. In fact, I was dissapointed that their touching little love story didn't get more air-time as it was one of my favourite elements of the film. I can only hope that if a 5/6 does materialise (as rumours suggest they will) that we get to see a full exploration of their characters in the next installments.

This film is deliciously dark and scary in places, but retains its wonderful wit and humour along the way. It looks spectacular in 3D (Johnny Depp in 3D = Yum) but is just as good in 2D. I can't wait for this to come out so I can buy it. There is also an added scene at the end again, if you wait for the credits to end, which more than paves the way for a number 5 to materialise. Please Disney - Give us more Pirates - I for one haven't had my fill yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film too far, 23 Nov 2012
By 
Not nearly as good as the original trilogy - just Hollywood trying to make more money out of a tried and tested formula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too long, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To be fair this is no different to other series of films, it doesn't seem that directors etc know when to stop. First 2 films were excellent and it should have stopped there. Found this predictable and boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whoever likes pirates is in for a treat!, 27 Jun 2011
I love the POTC films. When I saw the first one, I became addicted to pirates. I got all the films, read books about pirates, got tons of POTC toys,played the games, and so on. Despite that, I've seen loads of movies since then and, while the series is still enjoyable to watch, I don't have that crazy pirate fever (I don't mean scurvy!) I used to have. OK, thats a big enough intro. Time to review POTC 4: On Stranger Tides.

First The plot I won't tell the WHOLE story, I'll just say that Jack Sparrow is working with Blackbeard In search of The Fountain Of Youth. Some of the cast is back. There's Jack (Well, obviously!) Gibbs, Barbossa, Captain Teague (Jack's Dad) and Jack The Monkey (Just for a cameo, but he is there) There are new cast members, like Ian McShane as Edward Teach A.K.A Blackbeard And Penelope Cruz as Jack's new love interest. There are good performances from all the cast but as in all the films the spotlight falls on Jack Sparrow because Johnny Depp portrays him brilliantly as he staggers around and talks in riddles in an almost comical voice. Also, the set-pieces are awesome, with lots of heart-racing fights, some scenes that will chill you to the bone, and the romantic stuff with Jack is interesting AND hilarious, so little kids are more likely to laugh than go "EEEEEEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!" There is another love story with a missionary and a mermaid (A bit of an odd couple, hahaha) but that won't interest you much.

There was one thing I disliked...

Lots of the cast were missing. Ragetti, Pintel, Marty, Elizabeth and Will are not in this one. The locations are all gone too. Remember Port Royal, Shipwreck Cove, Tortuga!? Just [poof!] and gone. It isn't all gone though. This still is the Pirates of the Carribean you know and love and while missing cast members and locations do make this feel a bit distant from the others, this is still a great film that has to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the jack sparrow show, 20 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. Pj Williams (cardiff uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
well its the 4th in the series and that usually means bad things to start. I hated the 3rd one as it was oh so over the top stunt wise it took away from the film and I found myself concentrating on the stunts rather than the plot. I believed I would be living this experience again and I did for about the first twenty minutes, but then it settled down and got on with it. if not very slowly. the good thing bout this film is depp. he is basically staring in the jack sparrow show and is great as jack as usual. the jokes are great and the character is still allowed to grow. sadly no one else really does. the rest of the cast are like extras to jack. the plot is slow moving, the stunts over the top and take too long. its better than the 3rd in that it is more coherent however you find your mind wandering in large sections until it tightens up again and the ending is probably the best half hour of the film.

in short its ok and worth a watch as a throw away film that you will chuckle at jacks antics and the story is ok if not slow moving. could have been worse but could have been better had it been paced like the first with more interesting ancillary characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 18 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This fourth installment in the swashbuckling pirate franchise is a vast improvement on the third and just as good as the first and second.
This time round Jack Sparrow is travelling without his beloved Pearl and his old crew and has instead joined forces with teh dreaded Blackbeard and his old flame Angelica, together they set course for the fountain of youth, along the way they encounter sexy mermaids and exotic lands.
The set pieces in this film are awesome, as is the action which comes thick and fast and unrelenting, the special effects are perfect as always and the script, whilst not overly unique is at least understandable, unlike the third which was a bit of a head scratcher. The acting is fantastic and Johnny Depp and Geoffery Rush excel in their roles once again, the new additions to the casts Penelope Cruz and Ian Mcshane are also excellent as is the jaw droppingly beautiful Astrid-berges Frisby who plays a mermaid and had my eyes glued to the screen whenever she was on.
This is a thoroughly enthralling fourth outing and is my favourite of all. Awesome!
The only downside to this dvd is the very poor selection of bonus features, there is something about Blu ray and some lego cartoons - the extras are an absolute waste of time and its a shame they didn;t do a two disc edition like with the previous three films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews