Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars
(Downloaded for free from Amazon.co.uk)

This was a very long story, but I did enjoy it.

Rayna was certainly an interesting character. She told us maybe a little too much information at times, and she didn’t always come to conclusions very quickly.

The storyline in this was good, but this book did have issues. For a start there was a...
Published 3 months ago by Sarah

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good
I liked reading this book but I did find Rayna's reactions to all the weird and violent things happening a bit relaxed and I couldn't identify with where she was coming from most of the time. I enjoyed reading it.
Published 8 months ago by Baxter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars, 30 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow (The Darkness Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
(Downloaded for free from Amazon.co.uk)

This was a very long story, but I did enjoy it.

Rayna was certainly an interesting character. She told us maybe a little too much information at times, and she didn’t always come to conclusions very quickly.

The storyline in this was good, but this book did have issues. For a start there was a real excess of information, and this really slowed down the pace. Rayna didn’t always seem to see what was right in front of her nose, she agonised over everything, and there were also bits that didn’t make much sense.
Then there was the love triangle. I’m still not 100% sure what on earth she thought she was doing with Liam and Jayce, but there was certainly plenty of lip-locking.

The ending to this was good, but it was once again drawn out. I have to say that I am pleased to learn that the second book is shorter!
7 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice addition to YA, 11 July 2013
By 
Liz Wilkins "Lizzy11268" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow (The Darkness Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
My latest YA read was The Shadow by A G Porter. The first part of the "Darkness" trilogy, and a very good read.

Rayna, still mourning the death of her father, goes to work as an Intern at "The Landing" an upper class resort, whilst waiting to decide which college to attend and basically what to do with her life. Leaving her home friends behind she soon forms new friendships and attracts the attention of three different boys. Meanwhile, girls are going missing in another part of the country...and Rayna starts dreaming of them, and the man stalking them, "The Shadow". At the same time, she realises that she can sense the thoughts and feelings of those around her. Struggling with this plus her romantic entanglements, Rayna starts to try and unravel the mysteries and make sense of her life once more.

This is a page turner - certainly by the middle you will be racing towards the end with the need to KNOW - and is very well written. The flow of the story is great, although one very slight niggle is that I found it over wordy in places - too many sentences to get over a little information - but really thats just a personal thing and it didnt detract at all from my overall enjoyment of the book. Also I think its the proof reader in me - I automatically edit in my head! The romance angle was well done without suffering from what I call "Twilightitis" and the supernatural elements were well imagined and intriguing. The end made you want to dive straight into the next one and I am looking forward to finding out what happens next.

Characterisation was great. I loved Jace particularly although I couldnt tell you why - and the background for each character was informative enough for you to get a sense of them and how they have come to where they are. I'm hoping that future instalments will bring some of the secondary characters more to the foreground as there were a couple in there that didnt get a lot to do this novel and yet you feel that they have a lot to add. All in all an involving read - and I feel that this trilogy once completed with make a great addition to the genre. It is violent in places - perhaps not for younger "young adults" but certainly anyone over the age of 13 would love this and it is also a book that adult readers would enjoy. Happy Reading Folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Shadow, Part 1 of the trilogy., 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow (The Darkness Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, it's a good story with characters that are easy to visualise/picture in your mind. My only negative is the number of errors in the text where words used were clearly incorrect as the sentences made no sense. Not sure if this is just in the kindle edition?? Or whether the editor needs new glasses!! However, I am looking forward to reading the second part of the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good debut, 22 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Shadow (The Darkness Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book of a trilogy and the author wastes no time in getting on with the story. Rayna sees things. Nasty, pull the covers over your head until its gone away, type things She has powers and these seem to be drawing the Shadow to her.

Overall, this is a well written story. The characterisation is good; the action and locations are well described, and the chiling, evil nature of The Shadow seeps through the pages. You fairly leap through the pages to race to the end.

The tale is told from 2 perspectives, though mostly from Rayna’s point of view. She seems to take everything in her stride in a manner which is difficult to accept at times, given the darkness she is being exposed to.

There is contrast to the malevolence from Rayna’s group of friends, who (again, somewhat questionably) believe Rayna and provide her with support, friendship and love.

Overall a good read, and a good debut novel from the author. For me, it seemed as though things which ought to have raised issues between the characters were smoothed out a little for expediency.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a thrilling tale, 7 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Shadow (The Darkness Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
In book 1 of A. G. Porter's The Darkness Trilogy, Rayna is looking for a summer job to help her to pay towards college but ends up getting and internship at a golf resort called ‘The Landing’. She is enjoying the job and meets a few new friends. She soon starts to have terrifying dreams about girls who have been kidnapped by somebody she calls the shadow that are so realistic they make her physically sick and start affecting her sleep. Even with all this going on Rayna manages to capture the hearts of two gorgeous rich guys and falls in love with one of them, although the relationship may prove deadly for one of them. After watching the news about the recent kidnapping and the discovery of a body Rayna realises that her terrifying dreams are actually becoming true, and the worst bit is she believes that one of her new friends is mixed up in all of this madness and may become the next target.

Will Rayna be able to save her friend before it is too late?

She starts to send the police anonymous recordings through a friend of a friend but does not have enough information to give them a good lead. After Rayna and her friend get attacked and leaves Rayna in hospital and her friend missing she now has to rely on her ‘gift’ once again to help her. Drawing in extra strength to guide her Rayna goes on a mission alone to save her friend from the hands of ‘The Shadow’.

The Shadow by A. G. Porter has many twists and turns. It was chilling in parts and left me scared to go to sleep. The Shadow is terrifying and seems to have an unhealthy obsession with Rayna. It is a very good book for young adults who like the paranormal and scary reads. It is the first book of a three part series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's good, 21 May 2014
By 
Baxter (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow (The Darkness Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I liked reading this book but I did find Rayna's reactions to all the weird and violent things happening a bit relaxed and I couldn't identify with where she was coming from most of the time. I enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow (The Darkness Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An interesting read that was a bit different from other 'supernatural' tales that are available. Looking forward to the next in the series and hope that it includes some of the other characters left behind in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed it., 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read it all within 48 hours, once i started reading i couldn't stop! I loved the story and the dark undertones and the supernatural themes. Also the switching of viewpoints in certain chapters was amazing. I've been looking for a book like this for a while and i was not disappointed. I found 3 typing errors, however it didnt really detract my attention greatly and i will eagerly await the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow (The Darkness Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Several typos but a great story nonetheless. Great for a sunny Sunday afternoon. A real page turner which doesn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow (The Darkness Trilogy Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
ok, but sometimes it's get bore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews