Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney Infinity is brilliant,
Disney does Skylanders.
The concept of have a figure that comes to life on a portal was first introduced by Skylanders, Disney have cleverly introduced a version of their own using Disney Characters. If you played Skylanders then Infinity is pretty much the same, place a figure on the portal and that figure comes to life in the game.

My boy of 9 loved...
Published 14 months ago by Rob S

versus
33 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor investment for the fun returned
After a fair amount of pestering I bought this for my daughter's tenth birthday. The starter pack comes with three figures, the first game module and one power disc as well as the game DVD. The figures/characters the set comes with are represent a fair slice of Disney's current children's film estate, Mr Incredible (the Incredibles), Jack Sparrow (Pirates of the...
Published 12 months ago by Ed.F


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney Infinity is brilliant,, 24 Aug 2013
By 
Rob S "Rob S" (Conwy, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Infinity Starter Pack (PS3) (Video Game)
Disney does Skylanders.
The concept of have a figure that comes to life on a portal was first introduced by Skylanders, Disney have cleverly introduced a version of their own using Disney Characters. If you played Skylanders then Infinity is pretty much the same, place a figure on the portal and that figure comes to life in the game.

My boy of 9 loved Skylanders, wasn't as keen on the second version called Giants as it was to easy, he was bursting with excitement to get his hands on Disney's Infinity.

The Starter pack has three figures Mr. Incredible, Jack Sparrow, and Sulley which are very detailed figures.
You have the Infinity base, Play Sets for Monsters University, Pirates of the Caribbean, and The Incredibles, which I tell you about in a bit. and one Disney Infinity Power Disc (Xbox 360/PS3/Nintendo 3DS/Wii/Wii U) which is a blind pack that unlocks different features in the game such as a new vehicle on toy etc.
The play sets open worlds, the pack comes with one which opens the Monsters University, Pirates of the Caribbean, and The Incredibles worlds, to open another you need to get your wallet out and buy another set of figures, we purchased the lone ranger pack, the figures are very detailed.
Game play is brilliant, you get to Battle the enemies, plenty of doable puzzles, overcome obstacles and complete a variety of other unique quests, the more you play the more features get unlocked.

They are a few packs to buy,Disney Infinity Sidekicks 3 Pack (Xbox 360/PS3/Nintendo Wii/Wii U/3DS), Disney Infinity Villains Figure Set - Davy Jones, Randy and Syndrome - Pre-Order, these do not come with a play set to open a new world, I guess more packs will follow. We purchased the Disney Infinity Lone Ranger Playset Pack (Xbox 360/PS3/Nintendo 3DS/Wii/Wii U) at the same time

Out favorite worlds are Disney Infinity Lone Ranger Playset Pack (Xbox 360/PS3/Nintendo 3DS/Wii/Wii U) and the Pirates, although the Monsters and Incredibles are really good.

This is going to probably knock Skylanders off the top spot, the thing that is great is you know the characters, with Skylanders they were always a mystery until you unlocked them.

Disney Infinity is brilliant, its going to cost to buy the play sets the power discs, but what doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a 'Kids' Game, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. J. S. Knights "Spideyroxas" (Lowestoft, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney Infinity Starter Pack (PS3) (Video Game)
Disney Infinity is a great title to play, This is coming from an adult player with no children, i didn't buy it to be played with children in mind. I bought it for it's interesting concept. First of sure the figure aspect is the same as Skylanders, but that is where the comparisons end. Disney Infinity is entirely different once inside and exploring it's content.
Obviously the starter pack is the best way (and only at the moment) way to play. You get the three starter figures which are very charismatic and filled with charm, and match the in-game models perfectly, it truly feels like you see the figure itself represented on screen. Inside you also get a random Power Disk which grant special things while in the games Toy Box mode, which is it's own level maker/editor! Which is crammed with content and possibility. There are three types of Power Disk, The red circle disks grant power-ups such as attack boost/more health etc which can be used inside the playsets (I'll mention later) and Toy Box, then there is orange hexagonal which are classed as 'Toys' for use within the Toy Box, and are based on various things from Disney movies such as Cinderella's Carriage (Which plays the song "A Dream is a wish your heart makes" while riding) or Stitch's Blaster which is the same gun used by the character in the movie. Finally you have purple hexagonal disks that add themes to the level you're making. For example place the "Marlon's Reef" disk on the base and your toy box background changes to a seascape and plays music from Finding Nemo. The extra packets themselves are blind packaged, so be aware if you buy them this way, you will eventually get doubles, but there's always other sites you can buy individual disks from. The best thing about Toy Box, is that it can be played online with up to 4 players.

Finally there's the playsets which are based on the worlds from the Movies, the starter set comes with The Incredibles, Pirates & Monsters University included, so you get three individual games to play, Incredibles is more about battling robots and going about the town with various objectives, Pirates is more action adventure, with sword fighting, exploring and Pirate ship battles (Similar to naval battles from Assassin's Creed 3) and Monsters University is very objective based, and resolves around taking down the rival university (there's a great Paintball mini game in this one) There are also 3 other playsets that you have to buy seperate, Based on Cars, The Lone Ranger & Toy Story in Space, Which the latter is out in October. The only gripe with the Playsets as there is no online mode, so if you want to play two player the only option is split screen local play, and characters CAN NOT cross over, so Sully will not work in Pirates, so if you plan on playing two player, pick up the Sidekicks/Villains Pack to be able to play multiplayer on all three starter playsets.

While it's a very pricey concept, it's worth buying into for at least the starter pack, The Toy Box mode offers a depth of content and can become the pinnacle feature of this game. The playsets themselves are very fun, but don't come with a lot of depth to them, they can be completed in 4-7 hours but can take longer if you go for every single collectible and complete all challenges. It's a worthwhile game to look into even if you are an adult, don't let the 'Child friendly' Disney brand put you off.. there's a lot on offer for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And it's still being played..., 9 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney Infinity Starter Pack (PS3) (Video Game)
every day since Christmas. Warning to parents, you have to buy extra sets to enable you child to use the different characters for example we bought 'woody' from toy story but he can't be activated until you spend £25.00 on the playset with buzz light year and jess. Hidden costs for the player to get to other levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor investment for the fun returned, 6 Oct 2013
By 
Ed.F "edz314" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney Infinity Starter Pack (PS3) (Video Game)
After a fair amount of pestering I bought this for my daughter's tenth birthday. The starter pack comes with three figures, the first game module and one power disc as well as the game DVD. The figures/characters the set comes with are represent a fair slice of Disney's current children's film estate, Mr Incredible (the Incredibles), Jack Sparrow (Pirates of the Caribbean) and Solly (Monsters Inc). The idea is basically identical to the Skylanders franchise of games in that instead of the characters being purely game elements, they are encapsulated into a small statue which is placed on a game board and appears inside the game. The characters can be improved by completing tasks within the game and this adds a simple role playing game element to it

There is a strong creative element to the game, in that extra items are unlocked as you progress and are added to your "toy box" where you can reuse them to build your own game worlds. Additional elements can be unlocked by the power discs which are available separately from the game characters.

The starter pack also comes with a game "crystal" which allows access to the primary games for each character, an sci-fi retro-Incredibles themed set for Mr Incredible, an 18th century nautical theme for Jack Sparrow etc. Each of the game worlds is the usual mission>unlock>expand>complete cycle, where successful completion unlocks new game areas, villains, capabilities, vehicles and progresses the story. They are pretty simple game elements, though the ones against the clock can be quite fun. The worlds are very well rendered and have a lot to complete, though some, for example the Incredibles themed one, require all the "genre" characters (Mrs Incredible, Violet, Dash and Syndrome) to fully complete, though the main story can be completed without any additional characters.

It is this element which gives me the biggest pause. As I now have the game, I'll be resisting pressures to buy more tat for it, the complete set so far released represents a total sum in excess of four hundred pounds, far more than a casual pocket money investment. As each character is purchased and used it is "claimed", I presume to prevent someone else using it. Each of the game areas is pretty easy to complete (My daughter took a lot less than 6hrs to finish the Incredibles) and characters from outside the relevant game world cannot be used in it, precluding two player from any of the main missions with the starter pack. Additional characters cost over ten pounds, and packs of power discs are around four pounds. This is a significant investment and is not offset by what the game delivers. The game is buggy and quite often hangs (the last mission of the incredibles has an infuriating bug in two player mode). There are significant functional issues in the creator/toy box mode which make building a nice looking set frustrating and difficult (no "snap to" makes each item drop difficult and hard to execute properly, no prebuild guides etc). The control system on vehicles is embarrassingly poor, so is aiming and routing etc and makes some missions much more difficult than they need to be.

The whole effect is of a poorly executed, rushed game, with a rapacious commercial model which fails to deliver upon the promises made by its visual design and the history/quality of the intellectual property used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Fun, 2 Jan 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Infinity Starter Pack (PS3) (Video Game)
Bought this for my 8 year old daughter for Christmas as she has crazed me for it since it was first released. It's pretty good value considering you get 3 different play sets with it Pirates probably the favourite. There is the part called the Toy Box where you can build and create pretty much what you like.
However just a word of advice shop around for extra characters as they vary in price dramatically .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun., 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney Infinity Starter Pack (PS3) (Video Game)
My boy's play this all the time and sometimes me with them. They now have the marvel superheroes one which is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun game which doesn' really encourage using the TOYS, 1 Nov 2013
By 
SNS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Infinity Starter Pack (PS3) (Video Game)
Before anyone says I shouldn't compare this to 'Skylanders' there is unfortunately nothing else to compare it to and as a long running Skylanders player, I feel it has to be done because Skylanders has the advantage.

Firstly, this IS a fun game which has been designed with a completely different play-style in mind.

Disney Infinity is very much about creating a 'Mine-craft/Little big planet' experience where a child can build an entire world in a sandbox environment, while playing through play-sets unique to each franchise to unlock items to use.

While Skylanders is about playing through a set storyline and leveling up your TOY to unlock powers.

The reason I believe Skylanders is better is listed below...

Pros

- The figures are amazing quality and worth buying a lone.
- Easy enough to pick up and play.
- Visually very nice and looks like a toy world.
- The sound and feel of the world does feel very Disney.
- The controls work great (for the most part).
- The scanning technology works great.
- The individual play-sets are quite lengthy (but quality depends on the franchise).
- The mine-craft/little big planet sandbox area has a lot of potential.

Cons

- Once you get through the training session, you are left completely un-guided as to what you do.
- As above, the quality of the play-sets can vary from great to boring.
- The 'discs' seem completely redundant; the stuff they unlock should be collected in game.
- Using the 'play-set' objectz to unlock mission areas seems redundant also.
- Extremely BAD controls on the CARS which makes the game simply frustrating.
- I have found at least one glitch which stopped a side quest being completed and had to restart the whole game.
- Only being able to use characters from a set franchise in set play-sets limits the game.
- No real reason to level up the TOYS as nothing is unlocked.
- No powers to unlock or advance as they only have one attack ability or weapon.
- Your character (when fighting) will be knocked down and sit there for 3 seconds.
- Weapons taking 3 seconds to reload and fire.
- Enemies being over-powered and killing you too easily.
- No real point to dieing as you just re-build yourself where you are.

The reasons I think Skylanders is better...

- The lack of a main storyline or a combined villain to defeat, removes any real context or direction when playing the game and this is a massive disappointment because Disney has a rich world to pull from. They could have put a great main-story into the game to drive you on, while leaving the play-sets as side missions.

- The second reason is linked the first; you can only use characters from the same franchise in that one play-set which in turn removes any real incentive to interact with the TOY you spend £10 on.

For example, I can put Captain Jack on the scanning device and never touch him again for an hour or two while I play through the entire play-set. There is VERY little reason to swap into another "Pirate" except to unlock a chest of gold or do a quick timed challenge.

Compare this to Skylanders where you are actively encouraged to change your skylander character or swap the parts around at least 4 to 5 times in each story mission (granted it does mean you need to buy more toys, but its a toy based game).

This makes the idea of it being an interactive 'TOY' game redundant which alson follows into the "sandbox" environment because that world has no encouragement to change 'TOYS' either. Your 'TOY' then spends most of its time simply being a KEY gathering dust on the scanner, never actually being played with.

I have played Skylander's for years now and interacted with the TOYS in that game constantly while doing the story, but in DI I have barely touched Captain Jack when doing his play-set.

This game does have a lot of potential and the TOYS are really well made and very cool to collect, but I see no reason why you would buy more of them as it has no real impact on the gameplay. It seems a missed opportunity which is still fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney Infinity Starter Pack (PS3) (Video Game)
I wasn't sure what to expect with this. It is amazing! My daughter (and myself) are utterly addicted. The only drawback that I have found is that when I played the 'Pirates' game through myself, it only took about six hours. There are also parts that I know my little girl will struggle with, but she seems more than content with the 'toy box' for now. The figures are great, there's something about having a 'real' character which you can 'place on de base and use in de game'.
Speaking of the Toy Box, you have to spend some real time, both in the toy box and the adventures, to aquire special building items, and it's worth it!
I say concentrate on the incredibles as a set, but then it is perhaps my all-time favourite animated film.
Why, oh why, do I see people paying more for used items like this on Ebay instead of simply buying new from Amazon?!
At Amazons prices, these are worth it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Kids Love it, My Wallet Doesn't, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney Infinity Starter Pack (PS3) (Video Game)
Disney Infinity is a great game for the kids, they can either complete one of the 3 adventures included in the starter pack, or simply play in the virtual toy box. My only issue is that the game is designed so that there is enormous pressure to buy more figures to unlock items or levels. Once additional figures have been bought, they can only be used in the toy box, or in their specific adventure if there is one.

You cant play as Mr Incredible in the Pirates adventure, and if you want to play 2 player in Pirates, you need to buy another figure :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disney Infinity Starter Pack (PS3) (Video Game)
within two month of being used disc was frozen all the time :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disney Infinity Starter Pack (PS3)
Disney Infinity Starter Pack (PS3) by Disney Interactive (PlayStation 3)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews