Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I loved this series. It was very enjoyable. Couldn't put it down. It's well worth a read. Recommend to anyone
Published 12 months ago by Finonijane

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars heavy going
just found this series difficult to get into. Persevered to book three then left that book half read. Life is too short to struggle with mediocrity. Feel I gave it a fair chance.
Published 12 months ago by snoble


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Aug 2013
This review is from: GEMS SWORDS & MAGIC (Gemstone Series Boxed Set - Books 1,2,3) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this series. It was very enjoyable. Couldn't put it down. It's well worth a read. Recommend to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars heavy going, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GEMS SWORDS & MAGIC (Gemstone Series Boxed Set - Books 1,2,3) (Kindle Edition)
just found this series difficult to get into. Persevered to book three then left that book half read. Life is too short to struggle with mediocrity. Feel I gave it a fair chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Writen, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GEMS SWORDS & MAGIC (Gemstone Series Boxed Set - Books 1,2,3) (Kindle Edition)
I thought these 3 books were fantasticly writen what an imagination J Gordon Smith must have. The first book was amazing the second book was nearly as good as the first and i am only half way through the third book and i think it is better than the first. I woul;d like to say thank you to the Author for an out standing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read for those who like fantasy, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GEMS SWORDS & MAGIC (Gemstone Series Boxed Set - Books 1,2,3) (Kindle Edition)
The trilogy was hard to get in to initially as it felt rather bitty and broken up to me, however once you get in to the books they are very good and entertaining. They don't quite have the can't put down factor but that isn't a bad thing as it means it takes slightly longer to read and you can go away and mull over events.

I would recommend this to fantasy lovers, slow start but all in a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Needs a lot of editing, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GEMS SWORDS & MAGIC (Gemstone Series Boxed Set - Books 1,2,3) (Kindle Edition)
I quite enjoyed reading these three books, but I have to say the characters didn't really excite me, and I'm not bothered about reading any further tales in the series.

But the books do need the attention of a proof-reader/editor (preferably somebody who knows the difference between "passed" and "past", or "its" and "it's", for example). There were also too many odd short sentences that didn't seem to be in the right place. That may be the author's style, but I found it interrupted my reading, trying to work out what was meant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gem Swords and Magic, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GEMS SWORDS & MAGIC (Gemstone Series Boxed Set - Books 1,2,3) (Kindle Edition)
The three books were free book and as such do not want to be too negative but want to be honest. The storyline is really good, unusual and with an interesting spin ( not one I think I have came across before). By the second book I could see clearly how each book connects together as each "child" of King Aleron who reigned a 1000 years before comes into their powers and learns to use the special gem each possess with old magic. I could also see how the children of King Aleron are coming together to fight the evil shadow wizard and his follower wizards.
I also really liked the types of creatures that each child fought such as the gastric stomach and skeleton army etc but became bored throughout the books at how many times the hero fought one evil creature or army or wizard, it was constant. I skipped over pages at a time and didn't loss any threads in the storyline. How can too much action be boring I hear you ask! Well when it is constant and the description of each mountain dog killed ( they travel in packs) is so graphic and can last paragraphs into pages it becomes very overdone.
The characters within the books were also interesting and the writer was clever in his choice of the heroes and their side kicks, each with strong personalities of their own. I liked all the heroes although again the constant descriptive words of what they did, ate and said took away from the character's strengths and reduced me to saying just get on with it!
I also liked some of the magical instruments / tools/armies and clever tricks the writer included. Again these were unusual and innovate but were lost in too many words.
I found it difficult to get through each book and found it difficult to get to the end of the three.I only wish that there were less descriptions and words, if chunks of this were edited out the books would be good, the elements were all there but unfortunately draped in unnecessary pages.
Of the three books, the first is the best, followed by the third and then the second - and now i have said too much and must end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy read, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GEMS SWORDS & MAGIC (Gemstone Series Boxed Set - Books 1,2,3) (Kindle Edition)
I have just started reading the first book. It is well written and carries you along, a bit of mystery, magic and an easy read. I am enjoying the escapism. And it was a free download on the kindle app so exceptional value, because I would possibly have brought the books 2 & 3 after reading book 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gem Sword are Magic, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GEMS SWORDS & MAGIC (Gemstone Series Boxed Set - Books 1,2,3) (Kindle Edition)
Stuck reading a number of different titles and thought this might be a light refreshment and it certainly is. Cannot put the book down and have already finished book 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews