Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peaches: Porn to be wild
The only real tragedy of this fabulous record is that the listener cannot appreciate the Earth-shattering experience of being confronted by a man-eating, voracious Canadian with a partiality for mullet topiary and sex-toy fashion. The album is not for the faint of heart. Searing, uninhibited vocals pierce through an intricate trellis of acidic rock, techno and demented...
Published on 20 Jan 2001

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Deepest Reaches of Peaches.
Having heard F**k the Pain Away on recent flick My Little Eye, I immediately sourced and bought this album. Fitting so perfectly into the scratchy, voyeuristic, home-made nature of the movie I was anticipating an album of beats, dark synth bass and dirty lyrics. And The Teaches of Peaches does fit those criteria. At least to a point.
On giving the album a proper spin...
Published on 25 Mar 2004 by Mr. SCM Bell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peaches: Porn to be wild, 20 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Teaches of Peaches (Audio CD)
The only real tragedy of this fabulous record is that the listener cannot appreciate the Earth-shattering experience of being confronted by a man-eating, voracious Canadian with a partiality for mullet topiary and sex-toy fashion. The album is not for the faint of heart. Searing, uninhibited vocals pierce through an intricate trellis of acidic rock, techno and demented disco beats on the tracks "Rock Show","AAXXX" and "Hot Rod", while "Lovertits", the clear master-offering of the track list, is a ball-busting monument erected in the name of female prowess and the very core of male indimidation. Supposedly "minimalist" in terms of musical construction, this is far from minimalist in impact. Peaches and her "jackass" collaborators think nothing of metaphorically waving their vinyl-moulded, replicated sex organs of sound directly at your eardrums and then penetrating them with the precision of a Tokyo cyber-porn star. In a world where food is a known aphrodisiac, "Teaches" is no 24 hour convenience-store plastic pot cheesecake and Peaches is no baggy-eyed shop assistant. This creation is her gargantuous melba and she is Heidi Fleiss masquerading as Sara Lee, wielding the icing bag on the top. And only an opener like "Fuck the pain away" can be construed as a calling for music consumers to drink the juices from the Bacchiaun statue that is ground-breaking, trashy rhythms, wayward vocals and x-rated atmospherics. Diddle her Skittle if you dare!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars F the pain away, 30 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Teaches Of Peaches (Audio CD)
Hot! First heard F*** The Pain Away on Soulwax's Too Many DJs as part of a 45 song mash-up. You have to hear the original to truly appreciate the tongue-in-cheek, dirty vocals and the stunning preoduction value. Pink eat your heart out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F the pain away, 19 May 2003
By 
This review is from: The Teaches of Peaches (Audio CD)
Incredibly sexy. First heard F*** The Pain Away on Soulwax's Too Many DJs as part of a 45 song mash-up. You have to hear the original to truly appreciate the tongue-in-cheek, incredibly sexy vocals and the stunning preoduction value. Pink eat your heart out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Teaches of Peaches" is only juicy tracks with no pits!, 13 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Teaches of Peaches (Audio CD)
At first listen to The Teaches of Peaches I am instantly intrigued. From the opening track you instantly feel like you have opened the diary of an extraordinarily honest XX chromosome. The fact that Peaches is not only the voice but the beat alone makes this album a truly "guilty" pleasure. Very few women out there have the ability to be honest with their lyrics and music, especially about sexual freedoms and desires. Tracks like "AAXXX" are perfect soundtracks for a snotty trip through a strip mall or a twirl on a strip pole. Check out honesty, check out Peaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Deepest Reaches of Peaches., 25 Mar 2004
By 
Mr. SCM Bell "Black Cat Theory" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Teaches Of Peaches (Audio CD)
Having heard F**k the Pain Away on recent flick My Little Eye, I immediately sourced and bought this album. Fitting so perfectly into the scratchy, voyeuristic, home-made nature of the movie I was anticipating an album of beats, dark synth bass and dirty lyrics. And The Teaches of Peaches does fit those criteria. At least to a point.
On giving the album a proper spin I can see why the makers of My Little Eye chose it. Like the film it's a real piece of lo-fi. Not that that's a bad thing. Opener F**ck the Pain Away not only is recorded in home spun fashion but is draped in a tape noise effect which makes it sound even more raw and basic. As you progress you discover that the album basically consists of Peach's voice, sparse sequenced drums and synth, and some (very) crudely sampled and looped guitars, all performed and arranged by the lady herself.
Despite the obvious drawbacks of home-made production jobs and what basically amounts to a one woman band there are some gems on TTOP. The likes of AA XXX and Set it Off are irresistibly catchy and showcase Peaches talent for taking very simple sets of lyrics and weaving them into quite a compelling mantra. Although the sampling, programming and production are at best limited in scope it often works extremely well. Diddle My Skittle is a remarkably dark homage to the genitalia of the artist which contains some inspired use of sampled white noise. Lovely.
Overall the album works but there is no doubt that Peaches is at full throttle whispering dark rhymes into the mic over hip hop tinged beats as opposed to her would be punk stylings on Rock Show and Suck and Let Go. While the former is catchy and absorbing the latter is atonal and basically an affront to the dark art of guitar sampling. That aside there are a good half dozen excellent tunes adorning this album, and more than that I feel that we are just scratching the surface of Peaches abilities. I can't wait to hear what she'd be like with a better production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The dirtiest album I know!, 4 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Teaches Of Peaches (Audio CD)
Having heard the singles off the album, i was drawn to the dirty beats and decided the album would be a worthwhile investment.I wasn't dissapointed.'**** the pain away' and 'set it off' are good indicators to the album, with a recurring theme of sexual lyrics in a husky voice backed by a fuzzy bass and electronic beats. 'AA-XXX' is another stand out track with a lovely moral story. Its an album that needs the lights turned down low and the bass up high before you can truly sit back and relax, or its an album to bring a dirty girl home to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album rocks. It's very cool and sexy., 28 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Teaches of Peaches (Audio CD)
The Teaches of Peaches is an album made for fucking to. It rocks. Almost every song contains frenetic sexual energy. I have never been so turned on by a CD. At first I was unsure about the musical merits of the album, but I think that was just because I was a little embarrassed by the fact that it turned me on. After several listens I am now convinced that as well as being a very eccentric and sexy album, The Teaches of Peaches contains some real musical gems. Let's face it, rock music, or in this case electronica, is often about sex, though usually not as explicitly; The Teaches of Peaches is a wonderful marriage between form and content, it's about sex, and it sounds god damn sexy. See for yourself...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nu-skool punk meets Shampoo - addictive., 13 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Teaches of Peaches (Audio CD)
Sounds like Shampoo with attitude. The kind of music that you find ringing in your head days after listening. Just a single female vocalist and her drum machine, thirty minutes in I was getting a little bored, but once a few tracks have you hooked you'll find yourself playing it again and again. The sound should be spartan - it's just the vocalist Peaches and her beat box, which would be boring as hell if it wasn't for the fact that this girl has got rhythm and sings straight from the hip dirty. Kind of like Betty Boo would have been if she'd grown up in Queens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars REAL girl power!, 27 July 2002
This review is from: The Teaches of Peaches (Audio CD)
I bought this album after hearing "F**k the pain away" on the '2 many DJs' mix album and "Lovertits" on the 'Futurism' compilation. Peaches is the antidote to the bland, doe-eyed, brainless 'sex symbols' of mainstream pop...- Peaches sings about her desires and sexual appetite in a direct, expletive-littered fashion that puts a real twist on the norms of pop ballads and male rap. In Peaches' songs men are just there to fufill her needs!
Unfortunately the two aforementioned cuts are by far the most outstanding on the album, and the lo-fi techno-hip hop backing lacks the variety of the German trio Chicks on Speed, whose music shares certain similarities with Peaches. you should definitely get this album if you want to hear something really refreshing and unrestrained!
It's a shame that the extreme language and graphic details in her songs (whether you'd call it pornographic is a matter of taste, and will say more about your hang-ups than hers!) means she's unlikely to be heard on Radio 1 or appear on Top Of The Pops, still, in an ideal world eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little funky, 21 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Teaches of Peaches (Audio CD)
This CD isn't one that I listen to on a regualr basis. It has some good, catchy tunes, but some are a little too repetative. I think its better listened to in a playlist with similar types of music to break up the repetativeness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews