Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A great modern fantasy novel
I gave this book five out of five because I can't think of any way in which it could be better. The main character is someone that you can relate to and the story was interesting, combining elves and gangs in a way that weirdly works. A great read!
Published 17 months ago by jordan warner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cliched
Lots of stereotypical cliches here but an enjoyable read, nonetheless. A young runaway caught up in gangs, magic and elves. Passes away a few hours comfortably.
Published 17 months ago by Bookwyrm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good boy, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedlam Boyz (Urban Elves Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Good take on the witches and elves genre. But a bit predictable with the Hunt. All these type seem to have the Hunt in them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly dated urban fantasy, 15 Jun 2013
This review is from: Bedlam Boyz (Urban Elves Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
But still a good read. I'd almost forgotten how good these books were. I'm really looking forward to reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great modern fantasy novel, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedlam Boyz (Urban Elves Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I gave this book five out of five because I can't think of any way in which it could be better. The main character is someone that you can relate to and the story was interesting, combining elves and gangs in a way that weirdly works. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Unexpected Gem, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedlam Boyz (Urban Elves Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I got this book on a whim, and was really pleasantly surprised. The characters have depth, the dialogue sounds natural, the situations are strange and wonderful, and the pacing in particular is fast and exciting. If you like magical realism or urban fantasy, give yourself a treat and snag this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cliched, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedlam Boyz (Urban Elves Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Lots of stereotypical cliches here but an enjoyable read, nonetheless. A young runaway caught up in gangs, magic and elves. Passes away a few hours comfortably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Urban fantasy that doesn't quite work, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedlam Boyz (Urban Elves Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The story is of a runaway girl Kayla who finds she has magical healing powers when she is witness to a shooting at a grocery store and heals both her friend and the attacker. From there she gets hunted by a drugs gang who are in a territory dispute with another drugs gang and need her to heal their gang as they keep getting shot. Then there are the elves who want her for their own purposes, control the rival gang and want to disrupt the Unseelie court and finally there is the psychiatrist/human witch who befriends Kayla and tries to teach her magic and rescue her when she is kidnapped.

For me there are several failings with this book. Kayla is just too weak a personality, especially after she is kidnapped. The fantasy element doesn't really fit with the urban element and at times really jars. Also the book seems to be trying to give out messages rather than tell the story. There is so much good urban fantasy out there (think Jim Butcher, Ben Aaronovitch etc etc) that I wouldn't bother with this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool, 22 July 1998
By A Customer
i must admit that i read this book before i read the other two but i enjoyed all three quite well. i enjoyed the depth these books go into on training and all the things that would happen if there really were magic workers out there now, that makes the entire set really fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews