Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starliner
I found this kindle book very entertaining and sooo different to most Science fiction around nowadays.
There is too much written on space wars with little content to the people and planets of their universe.
Therefore this book reminded me of the books of 30 years ago or further back where people planets and events had a real meaning to the story and became an...
Published 13 months ago by paintbrush

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whats next
Are there further books to come?
The end seems to give the impression of more to come, but no details on the site.
Good read for an evening when you need to simply escape from some really c**p day and need some escapism to close it out.
Published 13 months ago by mike h


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starliner, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starliner (Kindle Edition)
I found this kindle book very entertaining and sooo different to most Science fiction around nowadays.
There is too much written on space wars with little content to the people and planets of their universe.
Therefore this book reminded me of the books of 30 years ago or further back where people planets and events had a real meaning to the story and became an extension of our future?!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old-fashioned 'proper' storytelling, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starliner (Kindle Edition)
I'm not sure this is a 4* book, but I couldn't give it 3.5*, and 3* seemed a bit mean!

Not a bad story line, though a bit basic.

What was interesting though was how much was left to the reader to fill in - details of the main characters past were tantalisingly slight, and other characters were even less fully-sketched. This made it an interesting read, as it made you use your imagination to fill in the gaps - surely a basic requirement of a good read?

There were a few typos, but pleasantly few and easily read past by Amazon/Kindle standards.

Although the ending did feel like a bit of a hook for the next book, the story is a standalone, and surprisingly good for a giveaway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hearty story of skulduggery, 7 Dec 2013
By 
A. Smith "Ado" (Beer town staffs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starliner (Kindle Edition)
A hearty story of skulduggery, politics, treachery, desperation and violence amongst the stars. our hero is a man fleeing from a past, that has left him emotionally hollow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read!, 27 Mar 2014
This review is from: Starliner (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book and the main character, Ran. Recommend this to everyone looking for a good interstellarr yarn. Would love to go cruising on The Empress!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starliner (Kindle Edition)
Very engrossing and credible fully enjoyed a real page Turner
Would recommend to everybody I know can't wait to read another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. M. J. Woolley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starliner (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this swashbuckling yarn, I would recommend it if you enjoy a good, implausible adventure. Looking forward to more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love boat with a tiny smear of Babylon 5, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starliner (Kindle Edition)
I hadn't read any David Drake books before so I thought it might be a good introduction. I found the concept rather familiar - it's a cruise liner which just happens to be in space - and the background storyline of 'TV soap' type characters going about their business pandering to the rich cruising elite seemed to be a device to lure you into a false sense of security. Having said that the conflicts and likely action set pieces were telegraphed well in advance. You could certainly see them coming. For me the action sequences were the weak points as they were described very vaguely and over much too quickly. My favourite characters were definitely Wade and Belgeddes and their 'surprising' help was pretty obvious from a few pages in (either that or they would be seen to be comically the opposite to how they finally behaved). I couldn't get out of my mind the comedic duo in the old Alfred Hitchcock film, the Lady Vanishes (played by Basil Radford and Naunton Wayne), Passport to Pimlico, Crooks Tour, etc. I could picture Wade and Belgeddes in tweed, pompously telling their tales while cadging drinks. I digress.....the amount of tech was pretty low with the most common scifi-babble revolving around the cruisers engines, sponge space and the holograms around the ship. The transfer of indentured service workers, or other types of exploited labourers was a dark theme throughout but not greatly pressed upon. Similarly, the aliens on board were only occasionally visited upon and were of course basically bipedal, air breathing mammals (even if some did possess as many arms as a Hindu god) as is the norm for "made for TV" scifi programmes.
This was an enjoyable read, but pretty lightweight. This is no 'Midshipmans Hope' (Seafort Saga - David Feintuch), but neither does it make you struggle for your reading pleasure.
There is a the normal problems of poor spelling and annoying typos so common with Kindle books. You strive to overcome them....and then you get Brazil. Or should I say Brasil? I can live with either. What I do find distracting is the way the author flipped between the English and then the Portuguese spellings and most annoyingly...........both spellings on the same page!
In the future, I predict, spell checkers will be employed by all! And maybe Amazon will insist on some minimum level of editorial review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whats next, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starliner (Kindle Edition)
Are there further books to come?
The end seems to give the impression of more to come, but no details on the site.
Good read for an evening when you need to simply escape from some really c**p day and need some escapism to close it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best . . ., 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starliner (Kindle Edition)
I've sort of started to like David Drake's books, but this one left me a bit "well I can take it or leave it".

It is an interesting concept of writing, more like a series of short stories all interlinked following the voyage of the "Starliner" Some were better crafted than others, and some left you wanting more!

I found the book just sort of fizzled out at the end and yet there was the hint of possibly more to come??? When coupled with some of his other books, it does help to flesh out his universe, but is it better than OK? Not sure it really is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A light read, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starliner (Kindle Edition)
Sorry - but I basically didn't 'get' this book. The story didn't really engage me at all - it's just a passenger ship dropping off/picking up passengers off at various ports of call along it's route, with a little bit of action occasionally to spice it up. Apart from travelling in sponge space technology seems not to have moved on much and the action could all have taken place today on a cruise liner, so not very science, although definitely fiction. For me, having got to the destination I found it hadn't been worth the journey, it was a light read and occupied some time but I probably won't be getting anything else by this author. The story was simply told, but occasional (and needless) use of really obscure American words (thank you, Kindle dictionary) and on one occasion the use of 'psychic' when I'm pretty sure 'psyche' was intended, was a little annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb19735e8)

This product

Starliner
Starliner by David Drake
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews