Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting and memorable, top quality science fiction
A worthy winner of the 2012 Arthur C Clarke award.

Clear, uncluttered writing and a 16 year old protagonist do not (necessarily) make this a young adult's book. Whilst not gratuitous or frequent, there's sex, violence and strong language here. And it's unflinchingly presented: no rose-tinted, watered down view of the real world here.

There are many...
Published on 8 May 2012 by Fridaydalek

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult questions asked but let down by two dimensional groups
The subject matter of "The Testament of Jessie Lamb" ensures that this is not a comfortable read. Set in the near future, Rogers has imagined a truly terrifying virus that affects pregnant women, known as Maternal Death Syndrome or MDS. Everyone carries this illness but the effects, a cross between AIDS and CJD, ensure that all pregnant mothers will die - without...
Published on 29 Aug 2011 by Ripple


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I was on the parents' side, 14 July 2013
By 
Susan Glazier (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I actually can't get enough of good dystopian novels. For most of the time while reading it, I thought this novel was great. I loved the set up, the ideas and the disintegration of society (and relationships) that was a consequence of the catastrophe hitting Britain and the world. The book captures people's attempts to give meaning to their lives in the face of MDS - a worldwide, deadly and gruesome virus. Everyone is infected but the disease is only triggered when women become pregnant - killing them and the future generation. As other reviewers have noted, the premise that this novel is built on is similar to PD James's, "The Children of Men", where women just stop conceiving. With either version of this premise, the human race dies out. But ultimately, although really interesting, well written and had me hooked for a long time, for me, this book isn't as subtle or exciting as The Children of Men. Some others have called it "overwritten" (which it is in places) and I really hated the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good story but rather depressing - I guess that's the nature of dystopian fiction? I was hoping for a happy ending but that wouldn't have been true to the nature of the work. The protagonist is a very likeable girl and her relationship with her father is very well written. A thoroughly good read and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your every day dystopia, 25 April 2013
By 
Cat R - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In a world where getting pregnant is a death sentence, would you do it if it might save others?

That's basically the premise, and it's an unusual perspective in the teen-dystopia market, which is usually more self-interested. It's a little slow at times, but it's still a great, thought-provoking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thougth provoking, 4 Sep 2011
By 
S. L. Stewart "book bliss" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book managed to pleasantly surprise me. I thought it would be quite a heavy subject matter but it is handled in a very approachable and thought provoking way. I really liked the interaction between Jessie and her parents in particular her father. The story is told from Jessie's point of view and the actions of those surrounding her are interpreted by her. This allows the reader at times to want to scream at her for not understanding why certain people have acted in particular ways. But she is after all a teenager trying to make sense of a very confusing world where the certainties of life have just been turned upside down. The main weakness for me was that at times her language was too mature and did not fit with a girl who was in most ways a typical 16 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for YA fiction, 6 Sep 2011
By 
Jessica Coleman "aka Dyrfinna" (Santa Rosa, CA United States) - See all my reviews
I wasn't blown away by "The Testament of Jessie Lamb" but it would be fine for a high school student. The political message was a bit heavy-handed for my tastes. It was a quick read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jessie Lamb, 24 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Science fiction set in the near future. Jessie decides to become part of an experiment following a disease that renders all pregnant women to certain death. Her father is a sceintist and knows too much about the dangers of her actions, so tries to hold her captive to avoid her becoming a "sleeping beauty". But Jessie is determined to do her bit and eventually escapes. This book is written as two concurrent stories, Jessie's diary of being held captive and the wider picture of Jessie's family and friends and how the world has got to this bizarre situation and how they are trying to deal with it. I am still not convinced that science fiction is not just an excuse to write about anything bizarre but the setting of this piece did just strike a chord of what if?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Testament of Jessie Lamb
The Testament of Jessie Lamb by Jane Rogers (Hardcover - 2011)
Used & New from: £30.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews